House of Wax (Remake)

433-poster
release date May 6 2005
studio Warner Bros.
director Jaume Serra
writer Chad Hayes, Carey Hayes
starring Elisha Cuthbert, Chad Michael Murray, Paris Hilton, Jared Padalecki, John Abrahams, Brian Van Holt, Emma Lung, Damon Herriman
rating
R
tagline Prey. Slay. Display.
site houseofwaxmovie.warnerbros.com
trailer 1 Trailer #1

79 comments

  1. Avatar of leatherfacekillserinfan1
    Posted By leatherfacekillserinfan1 on February 7, 2008 @ 9:50 pm

    Well this was the 2nd dark castle movie i’ve seen. The 1st was The Reaping which i didn’t enjoy except the ending. I wasn’t looking forward to watching this because I enjoy horror movie remakes.

    Well the film started off kind of slow but got really intresting. I liked Elisha Cuthbert in this movie. I thought she was was a really good actress in this movie which made me want to buy captivity. What suprised me about House Of Wax waz that it was a slasher! House Of Wax was one of the best horror movies i’ve seen. I enjoyed this as much as the texas chainnsaw remake. To me House Of Wax was a good movie that we all need to see.

    i give it a 9/10

  2. Avatar of horror-freak-chick
    Posted By horror-freak-chick on February 14, 2008 @ 2:08 am

    I ONLY GIVE THIS MOVIE A TEN BECAUSE IT HAS CHAD MICHAEL MURRAY !!!!!!!! AND 2 BEACUAE THERES BLOOD!!!!!!!!! LOL !!! BUT REALLY CHAD MICHAEL MURRAY IS THE HOTEST MAN THERE IS AND HE ROCKZ MY SOCKZ AND HE ROCKED DIS MOVIE !!!! BUT YEA I LOVE CHAD MICHAEL MURRAY =) I LOVE CHAD MICHALE MURRAY =)

  3. Avatar of Nyrican0729@yahoo.com
    Posted By Nyrican0729@yahoo.com on March 9, 2008 @ 2:33 pm

    Good movie. Fun to watch, and has a little bit of everything everyone can enjoy.I think the best horror film Elisha Cuthbert has been in so far.

  4. Avatar of HorrorHeroine
    Posted By HorrorHeroine on May 2, 2008 @ 11:11 pm

    I usually hate remakes and I was skeptical because of the fact that Paris Hilton dies. I really thought I would hate it but it turned out to be one of my favorite horror movies! Enjoy it, its a good one!

  5. Avatar of PromNight2008
    Posted By PromNight2008 on May 22, 2008 @ 12:09 am

    I really enjoyed this, and completely agree with everyone else. It’s actually in my top 10 movies of all time. Also, surprisingly, most of the acting is good — yes, even from Paris. She’s no Oscar-winner, but she’s good enough.

  6. Avatar of mark--
    Posted By mark-- on May 25, 2008 @ 3:57 pm

    I disagree with all the other reviews. This movie is your typical slasher film, which i normally like, but this one was so predictable and Paris Hiltons acting is so bad. Nothing new or scary here, i was 9 when i watched this and it didnt scary me in the slightest. A few gory scenes and i like the idea of the wax town but thats about it.

  7. Avatar of Domino19
    Posted By Domino19 on June 9, 2008 @ 2:54 am

    I just new it was gonna suck but i was wrong i actually enjoyed even with Paris Hiltons no acting self in it.

  8. Avatar of j34ngr4y
    Posted By j34ngr4y on July 20, 2008 @ 8:06 pm

    really typical horror movie I didn’t love it and I didn’t hate it. Killing Paris Hilton makes it good enough in my book!!!

  9. Avatar of billbeast
    Posted By billbeast on August 5, 2008 @ 10:30 pm

    This is my second favourite movie of all time. i like the plot, and how (you guessed it) Paris dies. I can watch this over and over again.

  10. Avatar of Protecious
    Posted By Protecious on September 30, 2008 @ 8:21 pm

    Lacks in characters and a well thought plot, focuses more on gore, and that was the films downside, the best part of the film was watching paris hilton die, show me that for 90 minutes and ill give this film a better review.

  11. Avatar of Boggman
    Posted By Boggman on October 6, 2008 @ 11:34 pm

    House of Wax” is a fairly amusing, completely far-fetched film that delivers to us one thing for sure: GORE. As a true horror movie fan, the film gets 3 stars on that basis alone.

    The movie really lacks any sort of story, and requires the audience to really suspend their belief in order to believe the films premise. A whole town, in the middle of nowhere (not even on the map) complete with mechanical wax figures designed to look like living townspeople, an actual house built of wax, 3 resident psychopaths; and nobody’s aware of its existence at all?? Well, it’s a tough pill to swallow.

    The leads (Elisha Cuthbert, Chad Michael Murray) seem to do well with the dialogue & story they are given, which isn’t much. However, reality aside, “House Of Wax” delivers with its killings, special effects, and graphic violence.

    For this reviewer, the price of admission was worth it just to see Paris Hilton receive a steel pipe through the head, in one of the films best death sequences. Fantastic! House of Wax has many borrowed clichés throughout its entirety. Nothing about this film could in any way, shape, or form could be construed as “original”. Nor, would I really call it a remake of the classic Vincent Price film. It’s more of a re-imagining to say the least. The wax figures displayed throughout the movie were also quite creepy, which was a plus +.

    Still, I enjoyed the “House of Wax” for what it is. A “recycled” teenage slasher movie with some good gory death sequences involving stupid young adults who ignore EVERY sign possible; and as a result, get wiped out one by one.

    Don’t expect too much from this one…..but still, not a total disappointment either.

  12. Avatar of jigkiller
    Posted By jigkiller on October 7, 2008 @ 2:03 am

    house of wax was a great film i like saw alot but house of wax got 4 more points to me i loved the cast and plot it was a great ending but i thought it would get a sequel not it has been 3 years nothing nut thats why i love it. it stands alone and can’t be broken in my mind it was a great film and i love it

  13. Avatar of dherna7704
    Posted By dherna7704 on October 9, 2008 @ 4:42 pm

    it was a lil dumb but the killls were great like the look and feel

  14. Avatar of thedescent08
    Posted By thedescent08 on October 10, 2008 @ 9:52 pm

    I am shocked by all the rave reviews. What a bland movie. WATCH THE ORIGINAL.

  15. Avatar of AshWilliams95
    Posted By AshWilliams95 on December 23, 2008 @ 12:45 pm

    I thought that the house of wax was an alright movie.

    Storyline: A group of people are travelling when shit happens and they are in this town. Soon psycho serial killers begin to murder them and turn them into wax figures. The group has to escape the town before they too, are turned into wax displays. 10/10

    Acting: Average acting from most of the characters and in paris hiltons case, fucking shit. Paris hilton does not belong in movies and it was so satisfying to watch her die on my tv screen. 4.5/10

    Special Effects: The effects were very good and all the deaths looked like they happened in real life. 10/10

    Best Scene: Paris hilton death scene. :D 10/10

    Ending: Main bad guy dies and there is a tiny twist at the end which was alright, nothing really special. 5/10

    Overall the movie was alright it had some pretty good moments and some pretty lame ass moments and I give it a 6.5/10

  16. Avatar of whitewire
    Posted By whitewire on December 28, 2008 @ 9:19 pm

    I think this movie does not get the credit it deserves. You have a fantastic setting. A pair of pretty cool villians. You get to see Paris Hilton killed. Elisha Cuthbert is incredibly hot. There are plenty of creepy and suspenseful moments. I really enjoyed the movie. I’ve never seen the original, but I suspect its not as good as this.

  17. Avatar of blairwitchasylum
    Posted By blairwitchasylum on January 22, 2009 @ 8:21 pm

    it was better than i expected cos when i went to see it i thought it was goin 2 be shit but it was actually really good

  18. Avatar of .DyingBreed.
    Posted By .DyingBreed. on January 25, 2009 @ 12:16 am

    not bad all the way through it has its ups and downs. better than i thought

  19. Avatar of horrorfan25
    Posted By horrorfan25 on January 27, 2009 @ 9:57 pm

    House of wax was a fun film for me. There was plenty of great death scenes and everything was great. Paris Hilton wasn’t good. She’s just a dumb bimbo that no one cares for, but her death scene was my favorite. The whole film was creepy and had some decent gore. It was a great, fun flick that should be viewed at least once.

  20. Avatar of gorypass
    Posted By gorypass on February 27, 2009 @ 12:08 am

    awful movie the best part was paris getting killed but the movie was so stupid.

  21. Avatar of horrormoviefan230
    Posted By horrormoviefan230 on March 3, 2009 @ 3:35 am

    that movie was freakin disturing especially when that guy cuts her finger off.the reason i say guy and girl in my reviews cause, its been a long time since ive seen these movies so until i see these movies and the characters again, im gonna keep saying guy and girl

  22. Avatar of randomrick
    Posted By randomrick on March 11, 2009 @ 1:05 am

    this movie was ok hey at least paris hilton gets it(and not in the usual way she does).

  23. Avatar of slw49620
    Posted By slw49620 on March 11, 2009 @ 2:55 am

    it was ok for a remake, some good scenes, some bad, the best part of it was scene where Paris Hilton gets killed.

  24. Avatar of Guitarded
    Posted By Guitarded on April 5, 2009 @ 5:26 pm

    Seen this movie several times. FANTASTIC horror. YOU SEE PARIS HILTON DIE!!! WHAT ELSE COULD YOU WANT?!?! besides that though, face-peeling, digit-dicing, Achilles tendon-slicing fun.

  25. Avatar of AvoidTheCheese
    Posted By AvoidTheCheese on April 26, 2009 @ 6:18 pm

    The movie’s set design was real authentic looking and nice. The theater scene with footage from ‘Whatever Happened to Baby Jane’ was the coolest, although I don’t know, Paris’s death gives it competition. The town was real unsettling, if I were being chased around in that moldy-looking/smelling place with all these waxy preserved townfolk lying around I’d be scared. The intro is also pretty mean-cousine. A millimeter better than average, but a long-shot away from being real good.

  26. Avatar of Skratchy
    Posted By Skratchy on May 9, 2009 @ 7:18 pm

    Better than I thought, which still isn’t saying a lot. You get to see Paris Hilton die, which is always awesome, and the the climax of the film is pretty cool but it’s still maintains mediocre status.

  27. Avatar of kryptonite_soul
    Posted By kryptonite_soul on May 30, 2009 @ 3:34 pm

    thought it was good…paris hilton did a perfectly okay job and i dont think deserved the criticism she did, okay lets get this straight this is not the greatest horror movie of all time, but is by no means the worst, far better then House on Haunted Hill thats for sure, just i donnt one or two things missing. ….good be better though

  28. Avatar of epiklow
    Posted By epiklow on June 15, 2009 @ 12:25 am

    I saw the original version a long time ago when I was little and it freaked me out, so when I heard they were making a remake of it, all I could think was, “Wow. I wonder how much this is gonna’ suck,” Surprisingly I love this movie. Some parts were a bit stupid, I admit, but it was watchable and re-watchable. Plus Chad is cute, so that helps haha, and Sam from Supernatural is in it… where’s Dean?! I like him better :P

  29. Avatar of Rampage14
    Posted By Rampage14 on June 15, 2009 @ 2:40 am

    This movie was okay to watch, not much big scares though. The highlight of the film was seeing Paris take a hot rod to the head; LOL!!! I totally fell in love w/ Jared Padalecki in this movie, and of course he got the worst prolonged death possible w/ the hot wax. Poor Baby!!! Because of him I gave this film a moderate satisfactory score.

  30. Avatar of GRUDGE4life
    Posted By GRUDGE4life on June 18, 2009 @ 10:59 pm

    PARIS HILTON DIES!!! oh wait this is just a movie…still good though…

  31. Avatar of TIN-MAN1208
    Posted By TIN-MAN1208 on July 6, 2009 @ 1:07 am

    Hate, Hate, Hate this damn movie. really this film was absolut crap. i couldnt give a damn if paris hilton dies in it. it was just a fast buck for dark castle. a complete rip-off. of T.C.M remake.

  32. Avatar of Slasher_Guy
    Posted By Slasher_Guy on July 6, 2009 @ 3:45 pm

    Awesome slasher flick, which was great to see in theaters. Great chase scenes, great sets/visuals, solid cast, script and direction – and a great killer and kills. Loved it.

  33. Avatar of horrorking95
    Posted By horrorking95 on July 20, 2009 @ 2:23 pm

    Well, I loved it! It had some nice gore in there and the wax place was just so eerie! It had a decent storyline, unlike some horror films, and it’s a chance to see Paris Hilton die in one of the most horrific ways your ever see!

  34. Avatar of skatekid95
    Posted By skatekid95 on July 21, 2009 @ 8:20 pm

    it was alright, but i like how paris hilton died (sharp pipe through the skull) that was sick

  35. Avatar of horrorbuff28
    Posted By horrorbuff28 on August 1, 2009 @ 4:09 pm

    this movie really wasnt that good.
    i didnt find it to be so well put together.
    paris hiltons death was the best part of the whole film. (very funny)
    a few stylistic slaughterings and the killer was pretty cool but the movie itself was just not doing it for me.

  36. Avatar of groundgamer
    Posted By groundgamer on August 24, 2009 @ 10:56 am

    House Of Wax is a remake. But for a remake, this is a pretty good movie. It isn’t excellent, but it does have it’s moments. House Of Wax is a basic slasher. That’s how I see it, with a bunch of teens running about the place. The movie is one of the most suspensul movies in the modern age. Constant plot twists, shocking discoveries, this movie keeps you waiting up until the very end. The acting was horrible, especially Paris Hilton, who I’m glad died in the movie because she was plain annoying, but plain sexy as ever! The cast aren’t important here, you can just overlook all of them, because there are boring, and nothing much going for them. House Of Wax is a great horror movie. The gore is brilliant, and the scares come and go with a good background plot to keep the movie going.

    Overall, House Of Wax isn’t a great horror, but I have seen far worse (Hatchet, anyone?). I reccomend this as a rent, but isn’t a purchase. But, budding horror fans will love this!

    6/10

  37. Avatar of YoungHorror
    Posted By YoungHorror on September 7, 2009 @ 7:35 am

    I thought it was a great movie. I could watch it again and again; possibly the only film not from the 80′s that I can do that with. I don’t know, I just like it. Nice to see Paris Hilton die.

  38. Avatar of evil_ash86
    Posted By evil_ash86 on September 13, 2009 @ 9:50 am

    This movie sucked! Many of the cast can’t act and all of the death scenes are way too disturbing for me.

    The only part I found good was when Paris Hilton got killed.

  39. Avatar of caseynight88
    Posted By caseynight88 on September 27, 2009 @ 4:27 pm

    Fun and mindless, the formula for a standard slasher film. Worth the watch.

  40. Avatar of maynardmorrissey
    Posted By maynardmorrissey on October 14, 2009 @ 3:21 pm

    a great fun movie with some great killings and a brillant ending

  41. Avatar of Jason4eva
    Posted By Jason4eva on October 14, 2009 @ 6:16 pm

    I think House Of Wax is a very original slasher! Weird to say that since its a remake but for todays generation who has never seen or heard of the original, it really stands out! I think the cast was great for their roles.Elisha Cuthbert to me was one of the best heroins of the slasher genre.(behind Jamie Lee,Danielle H.,Heather L.,and Neve C.)I think even Paris did good for her role which wasn’t a stretch for her, but she played it well.Her chase and death scene was prolly the best and most intense scene(s) through the movie.Well worth a check out if your into the slasher genre.My only complaint is it takes a while for the carnage to begin! But from that point on it never lets up!

  42. Avatar of joshsnewnightmare
    Posted By joshsnewnightmare on November 2, 2009 @ 2:45 am

    I really like this movie, a damn good slasher and overall creepy and of course what movie that has Paris Hilton dying isnt awsome.

  43. Avatar of CountOrlok
    Posted By CountOrlok on November 13, 2009 @ 11:53 am

    This sucked, only good thing was the house of wax melting at the end. Just standard dumb teens/slasher movie. The original is way better and even has Vincent Price!

  44. Avatar of DaLager
    Posted By DaLager on November 27, 2009 @ 4:13 am

    When u have to fast forward through a movie…it means it wasnt worth a sh**. So a remake couldnt be any worse

  45. Avatar of bloodnguts313
    Posted By bloodnguts313 on November 27, 2009 @ 3:16 pm

    This is one of my favorite movies of all time!!! This is one of the best remakes of all time!!! What a great film!!!

  46. Avatar of shecoda
    Posted By shecoda on January 18, 2010 @ 2:40 am

    the good outweighs the bad in this movie. BAD paris hilton. GOOD she is on for all of nine minutes before she is stabbed through the eye with a pipe or something. 10 corpses

  47. Avatar of myscalpel_gleams
    Posted By myscalpel_gleams on January 18, 2010 @ 8:11 am

    This was alright, not as bad as I expected it to be. If you can get past Paris, its entertaining.

  48. Avatar of graciebelle
    Posted By graciebelle on February 25, 2010 @ 11:42 am

    I actually love this film and find it a lot more interesting than the original! I liked the acting (I mean, except Paris Hilton, but what are you gonna do). It has a great soundtrack too! And a plus is that it’s always on sale, though personally I don’t know why.

  49. Avatar of jason24
    Posted By jason24 on April 2, 2010 @ 3:40 pm

    good………..yea………….

  50. Avatar of hellangel
    Posted By hellangel on April 10, 2010 @ 5:08 pm

    I liked this movie. It was pretty badass actually, if you haven’t seen it. Deff check this one out.

  51. Avatar of MattHorror
    Posted By MattHorror on April 21, 2010 @ 3:14 am

    Crap only watched this to see Paris Hilton get killed.

  52. Avatar of ParanoidAndy
    Posted By ParanoidAndy on June 13, 2010 @ 11:02 pm

    I’ve resisted watching this movie for a long time for one reason: Paris Hilton. As it turns out this movie wasn’t that bad. It’s an overall decent film with a number of creepy moments. And as for Paris Hilton, her acting wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be. I think it is worth seeing.

  53. Avatar of dinny
    Posted By dinny on June 14, 2010 @ 3:42 am

    I really enjoyed this movie. If you took out Paris Hilton it would have been better but she isn’t the only problem. The acting isn’t that great but this movie is still highly entertaining. You could watch this movie for the special effects alone. They are fantastic and the film has a creepy atmosphere. Give it a chance, it’s not great but it’s not terrible. It has it’s moments.

  54. Avatar of halloweenfan
    Posted By halloweenfan on June 18, 2010 @ 5:14 pm

    Not perfect but decent enough for a hour and a half’s worth of entertainment.

  55. Avatar of Zombie-Apoc
    Posted By Zombie-Apoc on July 17, 2010 @ 9:45 pm

    i liked it a lot, and Paris died, whats not to like

  56. Avatar of Captain-Pissgums
    Posted By Captain-Pissgums on September 19, 2010 @ 3:37 am

    Eh, this is an okay time-waster.
    Y’know Paris Hilton is an okay actor; granted she really doesn’t have to stretch much to play a dumb kid. Seriously, she’s a better actor than Sofia Coppola.
    I think it would be really cool if Paris said, “Fuck all”, and became a B-movie scream queen. I would watch her.

  57. Avatar of Tico-P
    Posted By Tico-P on December 14, 2010 @ 3:09 am

    An unnecessary remake of the 1952 classic starring Vincent Price. A good idea but poorly exercised.

    A bunch of stupid teenagers are trapped in the small town Ambrose , realizing the inhabitants are made of wax. Why are they stuck there? Of course a deranged killer has tampered with their car and the kids get hunted down one by one.

    This is a very idiotic and formulaic horror no brain-er aimed at the adolescent MTV generation. 10% for some decent effects, and another 10% since Paris Hilton gets impaled through the face.

    Terrible acting and inept dialogue make this laughable mess a film that should be viewed drunk so you can forget the whole thing. I am never going to buy this or watch it again ever.

  58. Avatar of LoneWolfx
    Posted By LoneWolfx on February 5, 2011 @ 10:20 pm

    Other then Paris Hilton being killed this is a shitty remake.

  59. Avatar of cannibalgirl
    Posted By cannibalgirl on February 7, 2011 @ 10:07 pm

    seeing paris get killed was so worth it to watch this movie ha

  60. Avatar of Josh Grahame
    Posted By Josh Grahame on April 16, 2011 @ 11:06 pm

    ‘House of Wax’ (Remake) in one basic word it’s really shitty, as it doesn’t know whether it should be heavily gory or very sexually or rough?, it’s not got a great storyline & the directing from Jaume Collet-Serra are just plain and simply filming and is below crappy horror remake.

    The Movie is basically a Teen Slasher, but a really terrible one at best, it has average acting from its cast, but who would of gust that Pairs Hilton cannot acted what soo ever & she proves it in this film, but I must say even know she would run away in her bar & knickers (with her boyfriend’s jacket half on) but here death scene is the best part of the movie and only if she had actually died, would have been even better (and by the way the wax figures are really creepy scary soo that is a bounce for the movie to and the killer isn’t that bad-ass either).

    Whilst the movie ending gets interesting and good, it does leave the last moment of the film hanging as it’s intending for a sequel??? (Which I hope there is no sequel in plan).

  61. Avatar of JigsawKiller222
    Posted By JigsawKiller222 on April 17, 2011 @ 3:16 am

    I know there will never be a sequel to this but it was good mindless entertainment anyways.

  62. Avatar of CapsulesnCoffee
    Posted By CapsulesnCoffee on May 11, 2011 @ 5:05 pm

    A scary, thrill-packed flick that stands has one of the better horror remakes in recent years.

  63. Avatar of Hobo-With-A-Shotgun
    Posted By Hobo-With-A-Shotgun on July 6, 2011 @ 5:28 pm

    I liked this one overall and it gets an entire extra skull for killing Paris Hilton.

    Hobo Approved(TM)

  64. Avatar of bowers
    Posted By bowers on September 5, 2011 @ 10:30 pm

    To be honest, I wasn’t sure if I would like this movie going in; mainly I chose to watch it because I’m a big Padelecki fan (awesome acting). I was pleasantly surprised that not only was this movie good, it was good all the way through. Getting down to it, it was fun, creepy, and full of blood. What more can you ask for?

  65. Posted By Jami84 on November 28, 2011 @ 5:27 am

    I liked it, and no it isn’t simply because of Paris Hilton.

  66. Avatar of DefinitelyDazed
    Posted By DefinitelyDazed on June 21, 2012 @ 5:37 pm

    I love this movie! I love the acting, the actors, the storyline, and everything about it.

  67. Avatar of Scream1210
    Posted By Scream1210 on October 17, 2012 @ 1:34 am

    One of my favorite horror remakes! The beginning is a little slow but it really picks up into a SCARY, DISTURBING, FUN, BLOODY horror film that outdoes the original in every way! Elisha Cuthbert does a great job. But the best thing about this movie other than getting to see Paris Hilton die is the last 30 min of the house melting. It is one of the best horror finales in horror movie history! AN AMAZING REMAKE AND ONE OF MY FAVORITE HORROR FILMS!