The Abandoned (V)

775-poster
release date June 19 2007
studio Lionsgate, After Dark
director Nacho Cerdá
writer Nacho Cerdá
starring Anastasia Hille, Karel Roden, Carlos Reig, Valentin Ganev, Paraskeva Djukelova, Kalin Arsov, Svetlana Smoleva, Anna Panayotova
rating
R
site theabandonedonline.com
trailer 1 Trailer #1

42 comments

  1. Avatar of Pirateofthecrappybean666
    Posted By Pirateofthecrappybean666 on February 4, 2008 @ 6:00 pm

    I heard a lot of mixed reviews before I watched this one. After watching this flick I don’t understand what was not to like. It’s about a woman who was born in Russia and adopted in America at an age so young that she doesn’t recall anything from before. She is willed an old house and she goes to see it and shit gets interesting. There is a mysterious other man there and she begins to notice strange things about the house. I don’t want to give much away but I will say this is a really interesting movie that I thought was top notch. I would recommend this to anyone. There are some truly interesting sequences and I thought the end was excellent. Must see.

  2. Avatar of dregen77
    Posted By dregen77 on February 22, 2008 @ 8:56 am

    I really liked this movie. Nacho Cerdá is a master behind the camera, and the pace and visuals of the movie are his manifesto. The story was interesting and the characters were well-developed (acting was good, too). The engind of the movie just adds up to the sixk atmosphere of the film and makes you want to see it all again. However, the one thing that made me wonder was why the man thta Marie finds in the abandoned house seems to know much more about what’s going on than her. He apparently arrived to the house as she did, with zero information, but all of a sudden he seems to know what is going on.

    But that doesn’t flaw the film that much. Gotta see this one!

  3. Avatar of kimberrflakes
    Posted By kimberrflakes on February 22, 2008 @ 7:59 pm

    This is by far one of the best movies I have seen in a long time, and certainly the best of the 8 films to die for series. It was thrilling as well as sustaining an interesting plot line.

  4. Avatar of QueenOfHalloween
    Posted By QueenOfHalloween on March 19, 2008 @ 5:01 pm

    This movie was no different than any of the other After Dark Horror Films. The doppelgangers are kinda scary but other than that, it really sucked in my opinion. I was pretty bored with it.

  5. Avatar of slashersadie
    Posted By slashersadie on March 22, 2008 @ 3:40 am

    Ok, it started out slow but picked up quickly. The scene in the hall with the floor closing up ripped from Jumanji but it flowed. Very freaky as adoptees never really know…
    good movie.

  6. Avatar of bob3701
    Posted By bob3701 on March 31, 2008 @ 12:28 am

    The After Dark films get knocked pretty hard by reviewers and to so extent it is earned but I am a big supporter of the films and want them to succeed. This was a smart film but a little slow for a lot of movie goers out there. I do not know it this would have been the one I would have mass distributed out of the 8. It was an original story which is rare these days. Worth a look.

  7. Avatar of madkins42
    Posted By madkins42 on July 4, 2008 @ 12:18 am

    This Movie was gorgeous… everything about it was so fine tuned and spectacular. While I didn’t find my self calling out to my mommy, it was a very frightening film.

  8. Avatar of Lyssa284225
    Posted By Lyssa284225 on July 10, 2008 @ 5:00 pm

    im giving this movie a 7 because it was scary, had its good moments but mostly had bad moments

  9. Avatar of dorkinb
    Posted By dorkinb on August 15, 2008 @ 4:29 pm

    truly scary movie, witch is rare these days. I loved it!

  10. Avatar of bigmo_402
    Posted By bigmo_402 on September 6, 2008 @ 7:10 pm

    This movie was ok nothing special about it. It kinda got old after a while after seeing her doppleg for the 10th time. Worth watching once.

  11. Avatar of TormentedFilms.com
    Posted By TormentedFilms.com on January 7, 2009 @ 11:52 pm

    At the beginning of the movie I really thought it was going to have a pretty good story line but as the movie continued it got really confusing. The movie jumped around a lot as to help you understand what was going on and put everything together but at the end of the movie I was really confused not enough killing and seemed just like a lot of running around.

  12. Avatar of dabulk2
    Posted By dabulk2 on January 16, 2009 @ 10:51 pm

    Easily one of the best horror films in the last ten years. Very excellent story. Very excellent acting. Overall, a superb horror story!

  13. Avatar of virgovibe
    Posted By virgovibe on January 21, 2009 @ 3:29 am

    This movie was better than I though it would be, the end kinda messed with my head a bit but finally came to disturbing conclusion. Nacho Cerda is by far getting better and better at what he does and I can’t wait to see what he does next.

  14. Avatar of goooore
    Posted By goooore on February 26, 2009 @ 5:40 pm

    overall good movie. rarely do horror movies ever really completely make sense, but this thing took nonsense to a whole new level. it made zero sense, but was still pretty scary. worth the watch. oh, and was i the only one that saw the picture at the beginning and noticed her in it? so i knew almost the entire time who the father was going to be. anyway, i was really bothered by the jumping around from past to present with no explanation at all. seemingly randomly things would just change completely and you’d just be like “ok…” The house is a time machine. That’s what I got from it. Anyway, despite it making absolutely no sense at all, it was still pretty scary, so meh 7/10.

  15. Avatar of Skratchy
    Posted By Skratchy on March 28, 2009 @ 8:34 pm

    The movie looks kinda cool, but then you gradually realize that this is one of those stories that tries so hard to be deep that it feels awkward and a bit cliche. Not the worst of film of Horrorfest 1, but it comes close to it.

  16. Avatar of bellazombirella
    Posted By bellazombirella on June 8, 2009 @ 5:05 am

    I just finished this film, 1am, all alone, and I’m not even the tiniest bit freaked out. I won’t have trouble sleeping tonight!

    The mood was good, and it was pretty, and the fucked-up noises were nice… but I was pretty bored with this. What the fuck was Maria’s doppelganger doing to her? Stealing her breath? I dunno. A few good moments, worth a rental or download.

  17. Avatar of xXFacelessXx
    Posted By xXFacelessXx on July 4, 2009 @ 7:37 am

    This movie is very clever. It’s very eerie and the story is chilling (it left a very creepy feel throughout). I like movies like this because it’s one of those rare films that actually scare me. Characters are believeable but all in all move slow. It was sort of confusing at first but once I found out what was going on it tripped me out. I don’t really know much to say about this movie because it’s been a while since I’ve seen it. But all I know is, is that I really liked it because it was new and gripping. Not my best review, but it gets my overall idea across.

  18. Avatar of StubS
    Posted By StubS on July 4, 2009 @ 6:11 pm

    This is one of those horror movies you have to have intelligence to comprehend. Very good movie, but not for the average horror fan.

  19. Avatar of truchainsaw28
    Posted By truchainsaw28 on July 8, 2009 @ 4:09 pm

    It’s a little drawn out but the film looks great and has a decent story line. it has some creepy moments but it amounts to just being overly mediocre.

  20. Avatar of Prof.-Lumpcicle
    Posted By Prof.-Lumpcicle on September 8, 2009 @ 7:47 pm

    This is one of the more creepier movies I’ve seen in a while.

    Great eerie atmosphere, suspense and likely the best “Horrorfest” movie to be released.

  21. Avatar of xfearbefore
    Posted By xfearbefore on September 20, 2009 @ 3:17 am

    Good lord, I’m truly starting to think Bloody-Disgusting is getting paid to give certain films good reviews, because how this film got 4.5 stars is ridiculous. I was hugely disappointed by this film, I expected something great from Nacho Cerda, and what I got instead was something mediocre at best. First off, the acting, well, it’s terrible. Not sure how BD could possibly praise it, the female lead in particular is rather terrible. The scares are incredibly minimal, and for every moment of creepiness, there’s about ten minutes of drivel. The ending, which BD described as being amazing, was terrible. The father ghost was horribly portrayed, and the finale wasn’t suspenseful or frightening in the least bit.

    I was severely disappointed by this film, and especially by BD’s review of this film. If you go into this movie expecting something great, you’re going to be sorely, sorely disappointed. Very, very mediocre.

  22. Avatar of jdbohdan
    Posted By jdbohdan on September 20, 2009 @ 5:41 am

    Good atmosphere and the acting was pretty good but I got bored halfway through it. Its one of those well made (technically) films that really doesn’t deliver.

  23. Avatar of caseynight88
    Posted By caseynight88 on September 21, 2009 @ 10:23 pm

    One of those where u kinda have to flip a coin to decide whether it’s good or bad, this film makes you feel confused, scared, but also a little “wtf?”.

  24. Avatar of maynardmorrissey
    Posted By maynardmorrissey on October 1, 2009 @ 8:59 pm

    wow, big surprise. Very interesting and intelligent spokhouse-movie with great actors and some absolutely amazing scares

  25. Avatar of IMMORTALSOUL25
    Posted By IMMORTALSOUL25 on October 4, 2009 @ 5:31 am

    All in all, I really didn’t like this film. There were definitely some creepy moments, but they weren’t able to save this film from being a waste of time.

  26. Avatar of Razor_Sharp
    Posted By Razor_Sharp on November 17, 2009 @ 10:33 pm

    Come on people! RUSSIA MY ASS!!! The city they show at the beginning is SOFIA – the capital of the country I am born and live in – BULGARIA ! Even most of the suckin actors were bulgarians, see the names of the actors that are listed – exept for the first 2 all other names are pure Bulgarian names xD It’s totaly arrogant … there was a freakin BG flag on one bilding :D and besides that the movie sucked! everything was sooooo predictable and boring … not to mention stupid. so a well deserved 2 from me.

  27. Avatar of Horror-Babe
    Posted By Horror-Babe on January 5, 2010 @ 9:40 pm

    not bad but confusing its hard to follow, but entertaining and i jumped a few times which is always good. my favorite part is the ending which has become one of my favorite quotes “it’s better to be left then abandoned” its worth the rent, but considering im obcessed with the horrorfest movies im always encouraging people to rent these movies.

  28. Avatar of deopsy
    Posted By deopsy on May 15, 2010 @ 10:57 am

    An elegant film for the intelligent horror movie connoisseur. At times a little slow it still manages to deliver some good performances, genuine scares and some beautiful cinematography. Overall a classy flick.

  29. Avatar of Captain-Pissgums
    Posted By Captain-Pissgums on September 5, 2010 @ 3:44 am

    You gotta be kidding me…four and a half skulls? This is the pits. If your idea of a horror movie is being bored to death, then this might be up your alley. I can’t find anything redeeming about this one. Any dumbass can film Bulgaria and it will look picturesque and moody. Give me a break.

  30. Avatar of BloodVortex
    Posted By BloodVortex on September 19, 2010 @ 9:36 am

    The movie had a terrific and chilling atmosphere, it was pretty effectively frightening and kind of disturbing! i had to watch it a couple of more times.. and each time the viewing just got better.. a well written horror flick with great performances from the cast.. but not without it’s flaws! It’s a classic ghost story.. Set in the dreary Russian farmhouse-countryside, we have a woman searching for her past. she is trying to find out Who were her parents? What was her history? What happened to her family? you see.. she was abandoned as an infant, and wants to learn why and what happened to her family! i highly recommend this movie.. although i thought it lacked something in the end.. but nevertheless, a must see for every horror fan!

  31. Avatar of Morthalius
    Posted By Morthalius on October 6, 2010 @ 3:14 am

    One of my favorite ghost stories, it’s a little slow but the tension is maintained throughout and the atmosphere is very stark. The sense of being isolated is very real and the roles are well played.

  32. Avatar of Midnitekrawlr
    Posted By Midnitekrawlr on November 29, 2010 @ 6:06 am

    A haunting visual whirlwind that will suck you into it’s terror only to spit you out speechless!

  33. Avatar of Hammer-Smashed-Face
    Posted By Hammer-Smashed-Face on January 5, 2011 @ 7:28 pm

    Eerie and chilling, and done effectively with suprisingly sparse horror or gore. The story is based on dark fears and realizations, and the movie delivers that theme in spades. Definitely not for those seeking thrill-a-minute gorefest style, “Abandoned” is paced and mostly hinged on mood and dark/ominous atmosphere. Great cinematography and settings, and the soundmix/score is excellent in emphasizing the feel of the scenes. Cool and different horror film.

  34. Avatar of TheGonzoJoint
    Posted By TheGonzoJoint on September 17, 2011 @ 6:08 pm

    I really hate movies that make you feel as if you’re only watching half-and-half of one. “The Abandoned”, a 2006 horror offering from Spain, is one such movie that feels half good and half bad, and all-together, half-finished.

    It’s not a bad horror movie, and it’s not impossible to live through as an experience, but given the praise it has gotten from some horror fans, I expected something better. Love and dedication went into the production, but so what? That’s the director’s personal pleasure and not ours. There needs to be something for the audience to chew on while they’re waiting for the scares, but alas there’s nothing worth chewing on, and there are few successful scares.

    The story is told with simplicity at first, and then dives head first into a pool of pretension and confusion. We open on a Russian farm-house where a family is quietly eating dinner. A truck comes crashing into their land. Father goes out with shotgun loaded, ready for whatever is inside the truck. There turns out to be nothing in their aside from a dead mother and her two crying children. The kids are twins.

    Forty years later, one of the twins has grown up, and we don’t know too much about the other. The one who we do see is a woman (Anastasia Hille), all grown up and seeking answers to her whereabouts. She returns to Russia to find where her mother lived, the house which she was born in, and other super-fun secrets along the way. Soon after arriving, she meets her long-lost twin brother, the ghosts of a future lost, and a doppelganger; one for each twin!

    Let’s just say that while this all seems like a simplistic set-up, things get rather complicated real soon. I won’t spoil the aspects of the story that make is so darn complicated, but I’ll just hint that (1.) they’re not that special and (2.) they’re not that original.

    “The Abandoned” seems like it’s trying to say something through its narrative, but everything is so often boring and tedious that we could all care less. Sure, it will have its defenders who attempt to see it as a lost gem, although I see why others didn’t like it. It’s simply not a good movie; one that needs and deserves some good polishing. If only the story were as good as the ambitions, then maybe “The Abandoned” would qualify as good entertainment, but it’s never engaging let-alone memorable.

    What I liked about the film was that it looks great. Horror movies often invite more stylistic exploration, and sure enough, “The Abandoned” intends on doing a LOT of exploring. It’s adventurous and inventive in its visual style; sometimes even fascinating. I admired the work done in this department rather than the work done anywhere else, and while I was entertained by the visual sequences, they don’t quite amount to art. This is really nothing more than your typical run-of-the-mill ghost story, complete with bloody imagery and paranormal pop-ups; completely lacking in truly riveting chills or scares. The jumps and attempted frights keep repeating, repeating, and repeating themselves until our heads finally pop.

    “The Abandoned” has energy. It is a well-acted, well-directed effort; worthy of some admiration and a good amount of respect, but never high praise. It may deserve some praise and it may not deserve some praise, but never-the-less, it’s as I said; it still feels like only half a movie. And given this genre, the horror film, that might just amount for even less. The film is appropriately named, as most people will leave with the same goddamn impression. I shall forget and abandon “The Abandoned” for lacking the ability to be consistent. But I shall never say that I detest it.

  35. Avatar of Drittsekk
    Posted By Drittsekk on September 22, 2011 @ 2:11 am

    Really good, for a film under the After Dark banner. Exceptional offering from Cerdà.

  36. Avatar of furie27
    Posted By furie27 on May 19, 2012 @ 10:15 am

    Watching this movie is like watching a child play with an electric guitar who has just found the distortion settings on the amplifier. Instead of building any tension, it relies on cheap visual scares and ghost story pastiches. By the end, it seemed like the film maker had simply forgotten what story he was trying to tell.

  37. Avatar of DefinitelyDazed
    Posted By DefinitelyDazed on June 18, 2012 @ 5:21 pm

    I thought that this movie was pretty good. At times I was confused, but the movie was quite interesting.