Resident Evil: Extinction

828-poster
release date September 21 2007
studio Sony Screen Gems
director Russell Mulcahy
writer Paul W.S. Anderson
starring Milla Jovovich, Mike Epps, Sienna Guillory, Oded Fehr, Iain Glen, Debra Marshall, Ashanti Douglas, Ali Larter, Chris Egan
rating
R
trailer 1 Trailer #1

80 comments

  1. Avatar of Nyrican0729@yahoo.com
    Posted By Nyrican0729@yahoo.com on February 4, 2008 @ 12:40 am

    I loved it. Even though the movies are a little different from the games, I still like the plot. Awesome. Hope for a part 4.

  2. Avatar of biledemon3
    Posted By biledemon3 on February 4, 2008 @ 11:02 am

    This movie was crap. It did have maybe 2 cool parts in the film but other than that it was a joke compared to the other films.

  3. Avatar of HighlyTENSE
    Posted By HighlyTENSE on February 5, 2008 @ 7:38 pm

    Not exactly the final film the marketing was making it out to be. It didn’t end anything or resolve the whole problem.

    Overall, though it’s purely mindless entertainment. Just an easy way to kick back, and enjoy action and mayhem. Milla Jovovich as always knows how to handle acting and action. The rest of the cast is simply meat for the grinder.

    Not at all faithful to the games, but I actually appreciate their approach to making the films different.

    Only flaw that is worth mentioning is the marketing strategy. They played up this Las Vegas wasteland look, yet the actual film barely touches upon it. Wasted opportunity, and I felt cheated. I’m sure others felt the same.

    Not a great film, but ya know it’s a fun little film to watch while chewing on some popcorn.

  4. Avatar of CompZombie
    Posted By CompZombie on February 6, 2008 @ 8:52 am

    While its not the best in the series so far, Apocolyps captures the game best of all.

    It still had its good points, Milla Jovovich has turned into a great action star and is the best thing in the movie. The zombies (got to love em) were good, needed more in the film though.

    I enjoyed the fact that they are using charactures from the game Claire Renfield was one one of my favorites from the game. I hope they go ahead and generate a spin off with her.

    Over all, the whole mental powers bit was to much and not needed. It detracted from the story line and there wasn’t a lot of that either.

    Still over all, a dumb fun film. No thinking required but entertaining none the less.

  5. Avatar of Lucksaw
    Posted By Lucksaw on February 19, 2008 @ 2:53 am

    The best Resident Evil so far.

  6. Avatar of ScreamFan
    Posted By ScreamFan on April 19, 2008 @ 6:01 am

    Meh, it was okay. Apocalypse is the best.

  7. Avatar of heatherlindsays
    Posted By heatherlindsays on May 2, 2008 @ 6:20 pm

    I didn’t like this movie. I was so bored, I didn’t even finish it. The first was the best to me. This was not a good movie.

  8. Avatar of epo3fold
    Posted By epo3fold on May 4, 2008 @ 9:43 am

    Firstly….I gotta know, is RE4 a reality or more rumors? They have it posted on this site as TBA 2009, so hopefully…Secondly, am I the only one who realizes that Alice is a clone in this movie? Think about it…at the end of part 2, she was in the helicopter when it crashed, the next scene, she is in the same bubble thing as all the clones were in at the end of Extinction!

  9. Avatar of Butterkeuh
    Posted By Butterkeuh on May 20, 2008 @ 10:50 am

    this movie is so stupid, it’s total bullcrap !!!
    not one of the residend evil movies comes close 2 the games (i love the games so much)
    they are no words for such a bad movie
    wasted of money !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. Avatar of Savinis_bitch
    Posted By Savinis_bitch on May 25, 2008 @ 12:38 pm

    I liked this movie, it was more grounded and not so cheesy like the 2nd one. Alice’s character starts to develop her powers which is interesting and cool. Claire Redfiled was quite good. I liked the whole plot, at least there was one unlike number 2. The idea that the earth becomes a waste land was captured really well when they go to Las Vegas. And eventhough their wasn’t much zombie action it still was good because those scenes were well done i thought. It’s a good action film too. I like the way it’s like the new game too, in the daylight most of the time.

    Though I was a bi disapointed with the main villian I didn’t find him scary enough and i thought the make-up was poor on im.

    Also the day of the dead reference with the zombie listening to headphones and being taught was a giggle.

  11. Avatar of TheDeadMayTasteBad
    Posted By TheDeadMayTasteBad on July 13, 2008 @ 3:43 am

    Alas, the third and probably worst in present “Resident Evil” films.
    When going into “Resident Evil: Extinction”, I was hopeful. The trailers appeared to be taking the series in a different direction. At the very least I thought I’d get a chuckle or two out of it as I had with he previous films. Sadly, there were no laughs to be had.

    By this time around, one should expect nothing much from this series. But what audiences probably didn’t expect is how much “Extinction” would hack off of other films, most namely “Day of the Dead” (which it shamelessly copies direct scenes from) and “The Road Warrior” (which it seems to mock). I guess I should have expected as much since right now Anderson is probably at his home in Hollywood, burning the hundreds he’s made off of these films and laughing at his genius to fool audiences yet another time.

    Skip it and thank me later.

  12. Avatar of abe_the_cop
    Posted By abe_the_cop on July 14, 2008 @ 7:32 pm

    >One of the best zombie films ever. Heavily entertaining.

    the resident evil movies are sci/fi action movies not horror and I definitely wouldn’t call them zombie movies(I’d go with mutant).

    This shit doesn’t deserve to be called a zombie movie and its definitely not “one of the best” unless it’s followed by “…movies to make you want to erase your memory up to infancy.” or “… movies to make you want to give yourself a lobotomy with a plastic spoon.”

    R E video games are amazing though, especially 2.

    Ilovepinup, I hate you.

  13. Avatar of gorenguts92
    Posted By gorenguts92 on July 18, 2008 @ 5:55 pm

    the 3rd in the resident evil series. it was good. more fictional. The zombies were good, and more characters, CLAIRE REDFIELD. WOOOOOOO. i heard, that there mite be a 4th one, but its gonna follow Claire Redfield not Alice. But its a rumor. any ways, alice army!

  14. Avatar of spiralfusion
    Posted By spiralfusion on July 18, 2008 @ 9:33 pm

    how to begin…..Resident Evil Extinction starts right after Resident Evil:Apocalypse. The trailers made it look like a pretty awesome addition to the resident evil series but when it’s all said and done……….i was left trying to find an awesome climax which never arrived for me.

  15. Avatar of vegansteve
    Posted By vegansteve on August 1, 2008 @ 10:43 pm

    This was probably the worst Resident Evil yet. First of all when I heard of them makings a Resident Evil movie(2002) I was thinking The Spencer Estate with Barry, Jill, Chris, Brad and Wesker. But no we get alice and some random other people.

    But Alice is starting to control fire and other objects. Is this becoming the matrix?

    Other than cornyness and horrible story line. The action in the movie was really good. I liked Alice with the duel hacking blades. The killing scenes were pretty cool too. 4/10

  16. Avatar of bardock
    Posted By bardock on September 22, 2008 @ 4:21 am

    Believe me dear visitors or fans of this blasfemy that i would pray to the virgin and all the saints that the asshole who he thinked of this utter shit i hope he gets sexually attacked by a donkey on spring.

  17. Avatar of supafox
    Posted By supafox on September 22, 2008 @ 3:38 pm

    In order to enjoy this movie for what it is (in fact, the whole series) you have to be able to separate it from the game series. Otherwise, its a GREAT series. I enjoy them thoroughly.

  18. Avatar of WinterRaven
    Posted By WinterRaven on October 13, 2008 @ 6:52 am

    I loved this movie. It was very different from the first two especially with it being mostly in broad daylight! Milla looked better then ever and I just loved all the action in this one. Even though they killed off my guy I still loved this movie! I’ll be interested in seeing what happens if they get another one of the launch pad!

  19. Avatar of RiKAnSolja1
    Posted By RiKAnSolja1 on October 21, 2008 @ 3:37 am

    I think this movie if really fun. A little to much talking aat times. But for the most part fun to watch.

  20. Avatar of bloodcleansed
    Posted By bloodcleansed on October 21, 2008 @ 5:13 am

    Extinction was a good title for this 3rd installment of the Resident Evil series . . . and let’s just hope it’s a foreshadowing of another Resident Evil movie . . . get it? Extinction . . . it means there will be no more.

    It’s a play on words

  21. Avatar of Whatsamovie
    Posted By Whatsamovie on October 21, 2008 @ 4:03 pm

    It was good in the fact that it was so different compared to the rest of the films. The movie seemed to have more action also. Its something worth buying.

  22. Avatar of suzi
    Posted By suzi on November 11, 2008 @ 9:01 pm

    Let it go !!!! quit while your ahead (kinda)… 3 just didnt make it , and from the end 4 would be a huge disaster ……..

  23. Avatar of Acathla
    Posted By Acathla on November 11, 2008 @ 9:15 pm

    I love the games and the movies. This movie kicks ass! Can’t wait for the 4th.

  24. Avatar of downward_spiral
    Posted By downward_spiral on November 14, 2008 @ 3:18 am

    Man I had high hopes that the franchise was gonna end great but it ended up being a high budget borefest. This is such a shitty sequel.

  25. Avatar of vamplad79
    Posted By vamplad79 on December 11, 2008 @ 12:10 pm

    Great entertainment and some great scenes – loved it !!

  26. Avatar of bdwolfe312
    Posted By bdwolfe312 on December 13, 2008 @ 4:56 am

    Much bette rthan the previous film. This one was a lot more faithful to the games, introducing crow attacks, and my personal favorite, the tyrant.

    I still feel that the biggest wrong turn this series took was firing George Romero from the writer/director position. His script is still floating around online. It’s worth a read to think about what could have been.

    …but, in the end, it is what is, and worth a watch on a rainy day.

  27. Avatar of Kane86
    Posted By Kane86 on December 18, 2008 @ 5:19 pm

    It wasn’t great but it wasn’t terrible it was mediocre. Its good movie its just all been done before oh and in my opinion super powers and zombies don’t mix. The make alice way to powerful and i think that it is just lame and i could care less what happened to any of the characters. Well, actually i wanted ashanti to bite the dust. God her acting was horrible.

  28. Avatar of rterrell24
    Posted By rterrell24 on December 21, 2008 @ 2:14 pm

    I really enjoy this movie for it’s action and MAD MAX vibe. There is not a whole lot of story but sometimes it just cool to set back and watch Milla kick undead ass.

  29. Avatar of AshWilliams95
    Posted By AshWilliams95 on December 24, 2008 @ 9:03 am

    I thought that this movie was a decent zombie action flick, nothing too new or special.

    Storyline: Earth is a barren wasteland and zombies roam around. There is a secret underground chamber where scientists research things. A good plot for some mindless action and violence. 7.5/10

    Acting: Good enough to watch. 6/10

    Special Effects: Some stuff looked realistic (the deaths and zombies) , others didn’t (the final boss guy at the end) 7/10

    Best Scene: When the group of survivors get owned by flesh hungry crows. 8/10

    Ending: Milla jovovich finds all these clones of her self. 5/10

    Overall this movie was pretty good for an action/horror but if your looking for something different then you will be disapointed. I give this movie a 7/10

  30. Avatar of BloodyAnneBoleyn
    Posted By BloodyAnneBoleyn on December 24, 2008 @ 4:28 pm

    Ash pretty much said it like it is. The Crow part was awesome. Like every sequel and after that it seems as if they get a little tired. But i always love a good zombie.

  31. Avatar of LuJr81
    Posted By LuJr81 on February 20, 2009 @ 11:31 am

    There is two problems I had with this movie. WHERE ARE THE ZOMBIES!!!! This was supposedly a zombie movie, but they were like a side story to Alice and her little hide and seek games with that dumbass scientist. Also, the ending just killed it for me, wow…more Alice’s go figure. That was stupid to me.I hope they don’t come out with part 4 cause its really losing its steam.

  32. Avatar of randomrick
    Posted By randomrick on March 10, 2009 @ 6:00 pm

    better than the second one but still not all that great just ok.

  33. Avatar of HisNameWasTravis
    Posted By HisNameWasTravis on March 26, 2009 @ 2:15 am

    Half Decent. Better Then The Two That Came Before. But Still Pretty Bad

  34. Avatar of Sammi
    Posted By Sammi on April 12, 2009 @ 12:29 am

    I wanted to cry it was so bad… this movie was horrible. What happened to the original Resident Evil elements from the game? WHY would they ruin such an amazing title?!

  35. Avatar of KittieZombie
    Posted By KittieZombie on April 26, 2009 @ 7:57 pm

    They really need to stop making these movies. haha

    Silent Hill in my opinion is the only video game based movie that really hit it on the dot. Truly was made for the fans of the franchise who actually played the game.

  36. Avatar of Truhorrur
    Posted By Truhorrur on April 27, 2009 @ 4:38 am

    a so-so movie which had potential.

    This was better than the god awful 2nd but not as good as the first which is sad considering the first came out sooooo long ago.

    Crow scene is cool other than that such a huge let down a the ending. yet another movie where the bad guy gets uber cool then is offed in a retarded manner 30 seconds later. Thats worse than premature ejaculation

  37. Avatar of THE-GOON
    Posted By THE-GOON on April 27, 2009 @ 4:45 am

    I only gave this a two because I had two, this movie deserves nothing, it had no potential, it had nothing but a bunch of stupid wothless fucking scenes played over and over for an hour. There all awful, god damn it stop making bullshit like this and make something grand and origanal, paul w. s. anderson needs to sit down and pull the trigger because besides event horizon this fucker has nothing worth shit.

  38. Avatar of dexdrastan
    Posted By dexdrastan on June 17, 2009 @ 7:59 pm

    ok well.. this movie has nothing to do with the games but thats ok.. its a pretty good movie i geuss. but apocalypse is the best one, the reason is it relates to the game far more then the other 2. i geuss it was pretty good though.

  39. Avatar of GRUDGE4life
    Posted By GRUDGE4life on June 23, 2009 @ 6:44 pm

    a good almost end to the series…broke away from the horror genre, but i can forgive them from that.

  40. Avatar of KlownHUNTER3
    Posted By KlownHUNTER3 on June 23, 2009 @ 7:49 pm

    This movie does have some great things about it, but waiting for the 3rd installment to get this is a little disappointing… Zombie crows I love it and I loved watching them die… See it, but this movie does take a step back

  41. Avatar of zooey
    Posted By zooey on June 23, 2009 @ 11:42 pm

    Since its release in fall of 2007
    and also on dvd the following spring,
    time and time again have I enjoyed this movie.
    Although it was a long wait, (almost 4 years since the awful, badly tweeked Resident Evil 2) I was glad to see they chose to go back to a more simple take on the zombie genre. No heavy artillary, no comical bulls**t, just plain old fashioned zombies and monsters out to get you. I loved the opening scene returning to the mansion it felt like deja vu all over again. I also enjoyed the same characters coming back again and also being realistically killed off b/c as well all know–not everyone should survive past more than two movies, this isn’t Scream. The plot was good in a zombie/sci-fi way and got me worrying for Alice all through the movie and was not disappointed in the least bit. Simply put–a good follow up to the original RESIDENT EVIL. I cannot wait to see what they have in mind for a 4th installment

  42. Avatar of zog71
    Posted By zog71 on June 24, 2009 @ 4:20 am

    Don’t know what it is about these movies, because I feel that I should believe these are cool, yet I really don’t care for any of them. None of the movies jump up at me and say “This is awesome!”. They all have their moments, but as whole films they lack something that grabs my attention. Yes, I have seen them all,except the animated movie, but I just don’t think these films live up to what they could be.

  43. Avatar of Rejace3836
    Posted By Rejace3836 on July 7, 2009 @ 5:03 pm

    With the Screams In The Night Of “Extinction”
    Can It Be True ? In Resident Evil Extinction Brings A Low Budget Plot For A High Budget Film.
    After The Events Of “Apocalypse” Alice Found Herself In A Live Or Be Dead Kind Of Thing Then Years Later Extinction Came Along Now They Fight & Bring Terror To Live In The 3rd Film Was Not So Bad It Keeps Heads Turning And Looking Forawrd To A Fourth INSTALLMENT.

  44. Avatar of ChakorBloodMoon
    Posted By ChakorBloodMoon on August 2, 2009 @ 5:37 pm

    This is definitely my favorite of the three.
    The action was great, the gore effects were amazing and the story plot was actually not that bad.
    I would definitely recomend this movie

  45. Avatar of
    Posted By juankytown on August 13, 2009 @ 8:03 pm

    Better than Apocalype but not as good as Resident Evil.
    My favourite character is played by one of my favourite actress: Ali Larter (Being Clear R. in FD 1 & 2 and Claire R. in RE 3)
    Good ambientation, good prformances, the make-up fails, but not the scipt. I think that back to RE scenes in a third installment hve been worked good. Some of the events on the 3 movies made remind in a lot of classics: Hitchcock movies, ROMERO’S MOVIES and Lewis Caroll’s Alice in Wonderland (the mirror in 1st one, the name of the lead role, the Red Queen, the White Queen…)

    I really enjoy it.

  46. Avatar of toto
    Posted By toto on August 13, 2009 @ 9:42 pm

    AWWW man i just hate it when peaple n movies die for no reason just let da zombie get me or da birds chew me i wont run to fast for u and da setting should be alil better vegas was to gone just nothing but sand it would take years to b dat much of a waste land but good action should had more resident evil classic characters to

  47. Avatar of deadgoon697
    Posted By deadgoon697 on August 23, 2009 @ 7:54 pm

    All of the Paul W.S. Anderson movies are like a huge slap in the face for me. Has absolutely zero tension that the games had. Not to mention the complete disregard for the storylines. He just uses flashy action and over done effects to get people in the seats. If that’s your thing, hey then by all means check this latest bastardized installment of a franchise that could have been really cool out. Heck, even I did in hopes that it might be better than the previous but all I wanted to do was watch my childhood get spat on by a hack director.

  48. Avatar of Razor_Sharp
    Posted By Razor_Sharp on September 8, 2009 @ 9:35 am

    Best resident evil film so far :) One of the greatest movies I’ve seen

  49. Avatar of rogue
    Posted By rogue on September 18, 2009 @ 9:23 pm

    Not the best thing ever, but it was still a really fun action/horror adventure movie.

  50. Avatar of saw-fan
    Posted By saw-fan on September 20, 2009 @ 8:24 pm

    Good movie, but my favorite is still 2.

  51. Avatar of kryptonite_soul
    Posted By kryptonite_soul on November 16, 2009 @ 4:41 pm

    I’m a huge fan of this franchise, i love it but i know its garbage its like junk food you know its bad for you but its just so damn good, i’m a huge Russell Mulcahy fan so was amazing to see him back in the mainstream and how brilliant is Milla Jovovich the only real Female Badass

  52. Avatar of La-Femme
    Posted By La-Femme on January 18, 2010 @ 6:01 pm

    Best RE film. RE1 was very good, RE2 was below average, RE3 (Extinction) is very very good.

  53. Avatar of Lyssa284225
    Posted By Lyssa284225 on January 24, 2010 @ 10:42 pm

    I think this is the best one out of them all

  54. Avatar of dinny
    Posted By dinny on March 23, 2010 @ 9:38 pm

    Better than the second one but still not as good as the first. I cannot wait for the fourth one to pick up where this one left off!

  55. Avatar of Jason4eva
    Posted By Jason4eva on March 24, 2010 @ 1:07 pm

    My favorite thing about this one was Ali Larter, man I love her! But it got a little too whats the word??? idk far fetched i guess.idk still enjoyed watching Milla along with Ali kick ass!

  56. Avatar of Zombie-Apoc
    Posted By Zombie-Apoc on April 20, 2010 @ 1:27 am

    Still pretty solid but was missing a lot. still awesome but not as awesome as the first two. I was reallly expecting a lot form this movie. I hope that the next is good

  57. Avatar of MattHorror
    Posted By MattHorror on May 6, 2010 @ 2:07 am

    Such a let down lets just hope the 4th is better then this was.

  58. Avatar of Seth_Adams
    Posted By Seth_Adams on July 2, 2010 @ 5:47 pm

    One of the worst movies that I have seen…makes me sad they call it a Resident Evil movie…

  59. Avatar of Rambo-Lunchbox
    Posted By Rambo-Lunchbox on July 2, 2010 @ 8:26 pm

    I can’t rate this lower than a 2? Really? Come on, there is a character calling herself K-Mart because that’s where they found her! What the fuck! What if they found her at Blockbuster, or Coldstone… you know what? Both of those would’ve been better than fucking K-Mart. A 2 star rating is fucking generous for this trash.

  60. Avatar of maynardmorrissey
    Posted By maynardmorrissey on July 20, 2010 @ 11:16 pm

    Well, part 3 is about as good as part 2, again no masterpiece but at least one helluva mindless fun flick. Starts with an impressing opening scene, gets a bit tedious in the first half but gladly becomes extremely entertaining in the second half. Terrific gun fights and zombie action, brilliant post-apocalyptic atmosphere, lots of gore, a super-stunning Milla (of course! :-) and a whole lotta fabulous scenes that pay homage to classics like “Day Of The Dead”, “The Birds” and “Planet Of The Apes”. Overall, a highly enjoyable popcorn movie.

  61. Avatar of Psych0drama
    Posted By Psych0drama on October 20, 2010 @ 7:25 pm

    Stop it, just stop it. The entire series has nothing NOTHING to do with the games. They just throw in random name drops, ruin characters and show off naked Milla Jovovich. (not that that would be a bad thing)Alice uses her gameshark in this one and manages to get all sorts of new super powers. No one is intimidated by Wesker and they throw in Claire as a useless throwaway character. A complete betrayal to the game series and an example of why videogame movies may never be good, due to the fact that the people who make them have no understanding of the source material. That being said there were some ok parts.

    Mike Epps getting killed was good and long over due.
    The zombie effects were nice.
    There were 100+ naked Milla Jovovich’s

    but all of these together does not a redeming quality make. Avoid this movie at all costs esp. if you’re a RE fan.

  62. Avatar of Bloodwar
    Posted By Bloodwar on December 21, 2010 @ 10:53 pm

    Resident Evil 3 was an awesome action/horror movie, this movie is actually cool, and awesome. The Resident Evil is awesome!!!

  63. Avatar of OctoberScorpio
    Posted By OctoberScorpio on January 10, 2011 @ 11:22 pm

    This one was good, but wasn’t the best Resident Evil movie.

  64. Avatar of dabulk2
    Posted By dabulk2 on February 6, 2011 @ 9:14 pm

    Good stuff. Watch this one if you enjoy the other Resident Evil films.

  65. Avatar of SirSerling
    Posted By SirSerling on August 30, 2011 @ 10:21 pm

    The more I see this one, the more I appreciate it. I think Extinction had some of the best action out of all the films. Shot mostly in the daylight, which I found to be something new and different. This makes the 3rd installment a stand out from the rest. The zombies were reinvented after Apocalypse dropped the ball, and they were even given a more important part, which I loved. There are so many things to pull from the RE games, that will always make these movies fall just short of greatness.

  66. Avatar of reefer_magic666
    Posted By reefer_magic666 on August 31, 2011 @ 2:30 am

    I just thought it was slow and boring. That’s all. Goodbye.

  67. Posted By T H E _ T H I N G on October 2, 2011 @ 6:49 pm

    I’m done. This is the worst Resident Evil yet. I hate it when a horror series starts off well and scary, and becomes merely an over-dramatized action flick (from Alien to Alien: Resurrection).

    And we’ve COMPLETELY strayed away from the games. It’s dead to me now.

  68. Avatar of crystallakekiller13
    Posted By crystallakekiller13 on October 14, 2011 @ 12:25 am

    This movie is really shitty and feels even less like Resident Evil than the original film did.

  69. Avatar of Marty McFly
    Posted By Marty McFly on February 3, 2012 @ 5:51 am

    I love how if you read the synopsis it says “the third and final Resident Evil film” haha what a joke. They just made another one two years ago, and another one is coming out this year!!! These movies are garbage. Stay away from them. They are nothing like the amazing video games.

  70. Avatar of DefinitelyDazed
    Posted By DefinitelyDazed on June 28, 2012 @ 7:57 pm

    This isn’t the best Resident Evil movie, but it is definitely close too it. Another good action-horror movie that never gets boring.