The Cabin in the Woods

2327-poster
release date April 13 2012
studio Lionsgate
director Drew Goddard
writer Drew Goddard, Joss Whedon
starring Chris Hemsworth, Richard Jenkins, Bradley Whitford, Kristen Connolly, Anna Hutchison, Fran Kranz, Jesse Williams, Brian White
rating
R
tagline You Think You Know The Story.
site thecabininthewoodsmovie.com
trailer 1 Trailer #1

57 comments

  1. Avatar of DeadWetGirl
    Posted By DeadWetGirl on April 9, 2012 @ 2:33 am

    There’s a reason why the review you’re about to read is going to be a little useless. This reason goes back to the film that (if Signs didn’t do it for you) first signalled the several-year-long blunder storm M. Night Shyamalan would inflict upon Cinemaland: The Village. You know, the film that was marketed as the most frightening horror movie you’d ever see, and which turned out to be further removed from the genre than Disney’s Sleeping Beauty?

    I hated The Village. But sometimes I think, maybe if I hadn’t bought into all the marketing, maybe if I didn’t venture into The Village expecting to evacuate my bowels in fear — maybe if I didn’t have such high expectations — I would have liked it. Maybe I would have appreciated its social commentary. But, because I entered the film with a raging horror hard-on, I was pretty sorely disappointed — to put it mildly — when I pulled out.

    I’m not trying to prepare you for a crappy movie — quite the opposite. I’m just trying to explain the reason why, out of respect for The Cabin in the Woods — and I do believe it deserves respect — I am not going to write much about it at all. I’m doing this because I want you to go into it as unknowing as possible, with as little expectations as possible. I’m doing this because I want you to like it. Because I like it.

    So, what can I say about The Cabin in the Woods? The special effects are sweet, the acting is solid, and, if you’re a fan of Joss Whedon, you’re in for a treat. Even if you’re not a Whedon fan, there’s a good chance you’ll still enjoy the film, which is funny and smart (in typical Whedon fashion), and which knows its genre and aims to please.

    That said, I believe The Cabin in the Woods will divide audiences: some of you will hate it, some of you will love it. I could write an essay on why I think the film is great, but like I said, I want you to figure that out for yourself.

    Whether you end up loving it or hating it, I guarantee that, unlike the usual horror fare being slopped onto our plates, The Cabin in the Woods has sustenance. You won’t leave hungry.

    (In case it matters: This review is copied from my blog, so there’s another copy of it on-line, but it’s mine!)

  2. Avatar of Nothing333
    Posted By Nothing333 on April 12, 2012 @ 7:56 pm

    Basically if you are into Whedon and highly original and clever films this movie delivers in spades. Horror fans will eat this up, film students will enjoy, the average film goer, probably not so much. Definitely a love letter for geeks and I accept this letter whole heatedly. Witty dialogue, an intelligent deconstruction of slasher film tropes, affable actors, thrilling twists and turns. I want more like this. The final act killed it. Horror fans, let’s see this multiple times!

  3. Avatar of doomas10
    Posted By doomas10 on April 13, 2012 @ 11:01 am

    Despite a few minor plotholes, the film has witty dialogue that makes fun of all the cliches in horror films along with some clever twists. However while the first half feels like a rehash of “evil dead” (which i deeply love), during the final act all hell breaks loose with such nicely done script turns and surprises that i had a permanent smile on my face till the end credits. It’s hard not to give anything away if i go into detail, thus my generic comments. For me it is a must for horror fans. How can a horror film be a feel-good movie? See this and you will understand.

  4. Avatar of bunnyboiler
    Posted By bunnyboiler on April 13, 2012 @ 6:14 pm

    There is nothing to be said that already has not been said, the movie is probably one of the most enjoyable and fun horror movies of the past ten years, easily. The characters are loveable, the tension is palpable is certain scenes, it packs jump scares and gore as well as updating the typical slasher rules and breaking new ground for horror movies, it is truly a unforgettable film that will be on the shelf of many horror fans out there, I cannot recommend a better movie if you’re looking for one hell of a good time with your friends.

  5. Avatar of Aaron Emery
    Posted By Aaron Emery on April 13, 2012 @ 8:47 pm

    Without spoiling anything, all I want to say is WOW. Cabin In The Woods is as close to perfect as it gets. The characters were great, the writing was fantastic, and the 3rd act was mind blowing. Altogether this is a very fun flick and worth the ticket price. Even the way the title flashed onto the screen was great.

  6. Avatar of Corbin-Bond
    Posted By Corbin-Bond on April 14, 2012 @ 12:48 pm

    We all know the classic tropes of Horror films ever since Scream brought forth its classic rules to survive in this genre. Nowadays, those rules have been reflecting in just about every Horror film being released where there are gratuitous amounts of gore, sex, and drug use. There almost seems to be no hope left in Hollywood either due to their wastes of money with releasing constant remakes and sequels that are just used as money grabbers but have no substance at all. Then, faster than a speeding bullet comes Joss Whedon to rescue the genre for all Horror fans. Whedon has developed a titanic fan base because of his television work with Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, Firefly, Dollhouse, and Dr. Horrible’s Sing-A-Long. He is well known for his combination of horrific violence with slapstick to create perfect self referential stories with much depth and symbolism that calls back to American society. The Cabin in the Woods is the wake up call our generation, and Hollywood, needs. With a perfect cast, sharp and witty writing, clever scares, and a thousand twists, The Cabin in the Woods goes beyond the level of a Horror masterpiece, and is sure to become an instant classic.

    Now, before going any further, I will express some incredibly important pieces of information to all. First, I have a set list of Horror films that I consider the “best of the best,” and the top 10 is reserved for strictly the classics, like Psycho, The Exorcist, A Nightmare on Elm Street, etc. After seeing this movie only once, I can say without a doubt that this film has become my second favorite Horror film of all time! Second, this film is a spectacular Horror film; however, I cannot tell anything about it. This is a special type of film, where you have to see it for yourself. It’s the type of movie you need to go to the theaters to see with a group of friends and then discuss with only those friends afterwards. I’m sure though with the horrible spoilers on the internet that some may learn some things. However, I cannot express enough how important it is that you do not listen to anyone who has seen the movie. You must see it for yourself!

    Now that that is out of the way, I will review the film with no spoilers at all. First, the acting was terrific. Joss Whedon has assembled some of the finest actors for this movie, like Chris Hemsworth, and some are even new actors. They all perform very convincingly, and you feel for each of the characters in the film. Next, there is the cinematography which is fantastic. Joss Whedon is not only a master with a pen, but when partnered with Cloverfield’s Drew Goddard, he is a master of the camera. The camera work was perfect and crisp for each scene. Furthermore, with a great score this film really knows how to revitalize the classic atmospheres of Horror. Whedon knows exactly what to do to bring the classic Horror film back to life. Meanwhile, there is the writing which is sharp, witty, hilarious, and incredibly sinister. There is a huge mouthful of cynicism in every line given in this film that adds to the overall effect. Also, if you think that you know the story from the trailers, then I have two words for you. THINK AGAIN!!! This film knows what you expect, and then kicks you right in between the legs and sucker punches you over and over and over again. You never know where this film is going to go, as each moment twists and turns until you are basically turned into a giant rubix cube (like the house in the poster). Moreover, the film has an extremely high octane entertainment factor because it is the most original Horror film to be released in nearly a decade. To give you a hint, once the end credits started, the theater I was in erupted in cheers and applause. I have never experienced this before.

    Thus, I come to the end of my review for what has to be the best film of 2012 so far. Joss Whedon deserves a round of applause for this work of Horror GENIUS, and Hollywood now needs to learn what it owes Horror fans. The film is a passionate love letter to Horror fans that I will gladly accept, and if you enjoy originality, cleverness, and pure adrenaline-rushing entertainment in your Horror, then look no further. The Cabin in the Woods is everything Horror fans have been waiting for, and people will be talking about this film for many many years to come.

  7. Avatar of Blood-Sicles
    Posted By Blood-Sicles on April 14, 2012 @ 2:00 pm

    Cabin in the Woods is definitely something you’ve never seen before. I wouldn’t call it brilliant, but it does well with the concept and is pure fun. The pace will snap your neck, the humor rarely misses and there is no shortage of blood or scares. The finale itself is enough to warrant a second or third viewing (just to see all of the crazy shit you missed). Again, this isn’t a game-changer for the genre, but that’s not to say it isn’t awesome. 8/10.

  8. Avatar of cwoolboy
    Posted By cwoolboy on April 14, 2012 @ 2:57 pm

    Cabin In The Woods sounds like your typical horror film. A bunch of stereotyped college kids go crash at a cabin in the woods where they are slowly off’d one by one. As the tagline says: “You think you know the story”…but you really don’t. Cabin in the Woods takes the go-to premise of your by-the-numbers horror film and builds upon it in ways you could never imagine. Cabin in the Woods re-defines horror films and how we watch them. It delves deep into its many themes and makes several really bold choices that I highly respect. While most of the film is quite interesting, the real pay off is the ending which is just all kinds of awesome. Overall, Cabin in The Woods is a creative, fun, different and original horror film that is a guaranteed treat for all.

  9. Avatar of twisted
    Posted By twisted on April 14, 2012 @ 6:07 pm

    Different? This movie just takes cliche elements and mixes them in a strange way. Halfway through the movie I realized I had been duped once again by the horror hype machine. What a bunch of nonsensical crap. Scary? Nope. Funny? At moments, but I didn’t pay to see a comedy. There are a number of plot holes and the entire premise is so stupid I’m embarrassed I was so excited to see this in the first place. This movie is like Nickelback. Some people are huge fans, but I can’t for the life of me figure out why.

    • Avatar of suckabagofdicks
      Posted By suckabagofdicks on April 15, 2012 @ 10:19 pm

      i agree with everything you said. i posted my full review a little ways down. it wasn’t bad by any means but i think switching back and forth between two rather large groups of people made it impossible to really care for either. I also was kinda dissapointed in how NOT scary it was. like, it’s not like it FAILED at being scary, it never really tried. So once we know full well that the kids are in this controlled enviornment EVERY SINGLE TIME they tried to build suspence with them i was like….um, BORING, we are SO way ahead of everyone on screen right now i’m loosing interest. interesting to be sure. but for me, the flaws just outweighed the minor pleasures

    • Avatar of Michael_M
      Posted By Michael_M on December 3, 2012 @ 6:07 pm

      I was also very disappointed. The first half of the movie was not inherently interesting, it was just a setup for the scenes taking place in the lab. The cabin/zombie action was very perfunctory. There was nothing scary or original about it. I don’t understand reviews that praise clever dialog. I couldn’t count the number of times characters used the word ‘fuck’. That’s hardly original. I bought the DVD for the special features. Wish I had just rented it on PS3 for half the price.

  10. Avatar of FreddyKrueger13
    Posted By FreddyKrueger13 on April 14, 2012 @ 6:26 pm

    I really liked this movie, it had my attention the entire time leading to an ending that I enjoyed! HIGLY RECOMENDED!

  11. Avatar of Snoogans
    Posted By Snoogans on April 15, 2012 @ 2:44 am

    This is one of the most entertaining and surprising horror films I’ve ever seen. It’s extremely well written and directed. It was a blast of fun, from beginning to end. I have no criticisms at all.

  12. Avatar of nohandtyper
    Posted By nohandtyper on April 15, 2012 @ 7:51 am

    I haven’t had this much fun at the movies in a long time. I was seriously smiling or laughing through the entire thing. It was fast paced, and pretty surprising. I loved what happened toward the end, and I want to re watch it just to see what else was on the white board when the bets were being placed. I’d highly recommend this one!!!

  13. Avatar of WalkingDeadGuy
    Posted By WalkingDeadGuy on April 15, 2012 @ 5:24 pm

    Nothing new can be said about this film, it was original, funny, bloody and fun. I must say I was a little bit underwhelmed, only because of the huge hype surrounding it. The third act was amazing, however, the last scene was a little much. This movie will ask you to suspend believability to the extreme, and touches on ‘Scary Movie’ “Spoof” territory, but I’ll give it a pass because the rest of the film was good. Do yourself a favor and watch this movie, it’s a breath of fresh air.

  14. Avatar of skullz3181
    Posted By skullz3181 on April 15, 2012 @ 6:55 pm

    Basically, I heard about this film a while (Long Time Ago) back and was pretty interested in it once I saw a couple of leaked posters. Once the trailer hit I knew it was going to be awesome, and for my taste, YES! it was a great original modern horror film, and making those today is rare so give it up for Goddard. However, similar to the Paranormal Activity films, if your not a true horror fan or have somewhat of an intelligent mind then you might not like Cabin. I went with a friend to see it opening night and had a great time other than four girls a row down from us just sat there and kept saying how stupid it was the whole time. They were a total buzzkill, so if you can’t handle good fun horror then I’d say you should go watch some Zac Efron garbage instead, but if you were like me and love horror films, more than likely you will love Cabin in the Woods! :)

    • Avatar of skullz3181
      Posted By skullz3181 on April 15, 2012 @ 6:57 pm

      I meant if you don’t have somewhat of an intelligent mind, sorry.

  15. Avatar of HorrorFix
    Posted By HorrorFix on April 15, 2012 @ 7:00 pm

    Some movies are easier to review than others, naturally. Reviewing a bad movie can come effortlessly at times, while reviewing a movie that has disappointed or even left me undecided can be a labor. The Cabin in the Woods is a dificult film to review for many reasons. I’ll start by saying that you probably haven’t seen anything like it. If you think you have, then I would love a ticket to the mythical place that you wake up in each morning where cows milk themselves into chocolate goblets and girlfriends, instead of complaining, shit video games, malt liquor and logic. Quite simply, in a world where very little is new, Cabin manages to be crisp and refreshing while using the same conventions that have characterized the genre industry for decades. Its hard to review something that creates its own categories, and, in essence redefines those that it once might have personified.

    Cabin is metafiction, satire, homage and critique. It is self aware, innocent, smart, cliche and overall very, VERY satisfying. What is also going to come as a surprise after reading this is that Cabin in the Woods represents a horror movie that many will not call a horror movie, yet, if a horror fan were to write a checklist of everything they would love to see in a film, Cabin is going to walk away with a smug grin.

    To start with its premise is to undermine the crux of Cabin’s resourceful inventiveness. To be fair though lets just say that five college students set off on a weekend trip to a remote cabin…and then everything that you think happens does… AND doesn’t. Cabin doesn’t pull the rug out from under you or grab Charlie Brown’s footbal moments before he kicks it. Instead, it grabs the rug and then uses it to beat the hell outta the whole Peanuts gang while you hold on for dear life.

    Highly recommended.

  16. Avatar of suckabagofdicks
    Posted By suckabagofdicks on April 15, 2012 @ 9:44 pm

    I honestly am at a total loss for all the crazy over hyped love for this. It has a good idea. it’s not origional. SCREAM did it first. but where as scream was only interested in the slasher, this film does have broader vision. But whereas scream made fun of slashers WHILE AT THE SAME TIME also being a legit well made slasher, this film is a send up of all kinds of horror, but IS NOT SCARY IN ANY WAY. Although in it’s defense it didn’t seem to try. all the nods to other films. all the inside jokes to cliches, it was all well and good, but where were the well drawn, interesting characters? we had the bland teens on one side, who are SUPPOSED to be, but also never really spend all that much time with the people behind the scenes to really care for them either. i was interested and amused by all the writting, and the directions the movie took, but i never once got into it. Everyone i saw it with HATED it profusly, and the more i tried defending it the more i realised they, to a certain extend, were right. This film would have been that much better if it was told exclusivly from one side or the other, and let the plot slowly reveal itself. the commercials gave the main thrust of the plot away, so for 2/3 i was just kind of waiting around to get to “the suprises everyone keeps talking about” only to be let down. Sorry, everyone talks mad shit about THE THING remake using tons of crappy cgi (which it tots did) THERE WAS A GREAT DEAL OF VERY POOR cgi in the last part of this. i’m sorry, but that giant snake was stupid. Also, the “elder gods” were obvs an analogy to the “horror fan” and as much as i like that, and i get that, this film didn’t seem to offer any solution. so the point of the film is that horror audiences are the ones who’ve ruined horror movies? if we follow the logic everyone online seems to have jumped onto then that means this film REALLY is a big FUCK YOU to the horror fan themselves. It’s interesting and smart and well written thats for sure, and anything that gets people talking is great, so i’m greatful for that. But i don’t think this will last the test of time. I don’t think it’ll be remembered like SCREAM was. I think i would have enjoyed a book version of this where these ideas could have been expanded.

    • Avatar of anezka
      Posted By anezka on December 27, 2012 @ 9:36 pm

      I would say that the “elder gods” might not allude exclusively to horror fans, but to people in general. Horror fans are much more critic for the quality of the horror films, but it’s enough looking at the numbers to see how people enjoy the cliché. And it’s exactly what they do. They give you the cliché, the easiest of the horror films, with the largest financial return. It is actually very clear when they say that while people are accepting their “sacrifices”, they will be fine. And I thought it was also very clever to show the “sacrifices” in other countries failing, showing that the horror waves in these other places have passed.
      I am a big fan of Scream, but I think they are kinda different in the message. While Scream was trying to say “hey, look how things are predictable and cliché in slasher movies!”, Cabin was trying to make us question why. Why they keep making these films, why we want to see horror films…

  17. Avatar of anthonyd1
    Posted By anthonyd1 on April 15, 2012 @ 9:52 pm

    I usually am hard to please when it comes to self aware satire/horror comedies but The Cabin in the Woods is to smart and clever not to love. One word for this movie…..awesome!

  18. Avatar of HorrorFan101
    Posted By HorrorFan101 on April 16, 2012 @ 10:02 pm

    I’ll keep it simple. Go see this movie it was fantastic. Lots of blood and gore. Cabin even had some really good comedic moments. Such a great movie. Yall will love it.

  19. Avatar of timts
    Posted By timts on April 16, 2012 @ 10:19 pm

    Won’t say much other than in a day and age when I usually feel like I wasted my money by going to a theater to watch a movie, I felt happy after this one to give my money in hopes that it does well and movie companies take notice. Not sure it will happen, but I’m glad I went. Great time.

  20. Avatar of turtlenipple
    Posted By turtlenipple on April 17, 2012 @ 7:10 am

    I loved it. This fucking god awful ad for this god fucking awful Val Kilmer bullshit movie is preventing me from even seeing this text field on my fucking phone, but I loved Cabin, it was everything I hoped for and more.. BD, I’m aware ads bring much needed money, but HOLY FUCK this is annoying.. FUCK YOUR GOD DAMN SPAMMY ADS YOU REPEATEDLY PUT ON YOUR SITE! IT WILL EVENTUALLY BE THE REASON I STOP COMING HERE! But anyway, Cabin was fantastic and I plan on seeing it again.. The lore and the fun of it all has endless potential and I’ll be gushing about it to all my friends.. FUUUUUUUUUCK THESE GOD DAMN POP UP ADS FOR SHITTY MOVIES THAT WE AS A COMMUNITY WILL HATE AND YOU AS A SITE WON’T EVEN DIGNIFY WITH A FUCKING REVIEW.

  21. Avatar of evenscarier
    Posted By evenscarier on April 18, 2012 @ 8:05 am

    This is Joss Whedon’s love letter to the horror community, and everyone of us should read it! Fun from beginning to end. Treat yourself to this one on the big screen and you won’t be sorry. (5 skulls in case it’s not working, it keeps telling me zero regardless how many times I click the 5th skull)

  22. Avatar of Bytor
    Posted By Bytor on April 18, 2012 @ 8:55 am

    Best experienced on the big screen with a beer buzz and some friends. I saw this at the advanced screening and laughed my ass off. It was like being at an amusement park for two hours. Great characters, cool kills, groovy monsters and hard to predict. Enjoy in the theater while you can.

  23. Avatar of Mbed
    Posted By Mbed on April 18, 2012 @ 4:07 pm

    I’m seeing this on Friday, and from what I hear it combines elements of the Evil Dead and Scream… I just can’t imagine myself being disappointed!

  24. Avatar of downward_spiral
    Posted By downward_spiral on April 18, 2012 @ 9:52 pm

    This is one of the best horror movies I have ever seen. If you are a fan of horror movies you have to go see this, I saw it twice and it was just as awesome the second time around. The whole story and concept was great and new/refreshing. The first have of the movie is just a pretty soild slasher film with some twists but when you get to the third act it just shoots this movie into god like status. I love everything about this movie. Go see it, you owe it to yourself to this this. Only once in a while a horror movie this good comes out.

  25. Avatar of MouthOfMadness
    Posted By MouthOfMadness on April 19, 2012 @ 1:06 am

    Never seen anything like this… I do not consider this a “horror” film for it deserves it’s own genre! This new genre is called “awesome” :D

  26. Avatar of Gavin Davies
    Posted By Gavin Davies on April 19, 2012 @ 4:35 pm

    MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD

    Wow! Holy Fucking Shit!! If you haven’t seen this movie yet, I seriously have to ask why not. It can’t be that you haven’t heard of it yet – it’s been coming for three years. That delay has been a good thing – new hot property Chris Hemsworth is one of the main stars, and people will go see it to see him.

    The slasher film to end slasher films has been one of the epithets bandied around for it, and whilst that can be accurately applied, it doesn’t begin to cover the pant-shitting insanity that you will experience.

    The wraparound with the technical room and the gambling was superbly done, and most of the comic relief comes from here, with the exception of the stoner/fool (more on him later). It’s made clear that these are not evil people, they are people doing what at first seems like evil things (until you understand that the fate of the world depends on their success). They come over like mid-level bureaucrats who have a certain pride in their work. The rivalry between the departments is written so well, someone on the writing side must have some experience there to draw on. The dialogue flows and is genuinely funny. These interactions also lead to the great smash presentation of the title screen at a completely unexpected time to give us our first scare of the movie.

    My favorite part is when they think they’ve accomplished what they need to, and proceed to have a tequila party. On the monitor in the background, we see ‘final girl’ being beaten to a pulp by the zombie-cannibal-pain-freak bad guy. Your eye is drawn to her, even as they ignore her. You want to save her, want them to stop the party and do something. But you are as captive as her, you tune out their music and fun and zone in. This is filmmaking at it’s best.

    Now, the actual ‘slasher’ characters are all excellently realised. You can tell which is which, but they don’t conform to stereotypes (at least at first). Firstly, the ‘virgin’ – you know within the first sentence she speaks that she has in fact been playing hide the sausage with her teacher, so she’s different. Her best friend (the slut) is (newly) fake blonde and super-hot, but also very smart, loyal to her friend and boyfriend, and caring. The friends boyfriend is the ‘jock’, but he’s kind and caring, maybe even a little sensitive. His best friend is the ‘brainiac’, but he’s an attractive guy who is also good at sport.

    Then, we have the ‘stoner’. Now, he truly is a stoner (with a giant bong (that retracts into a coffee mug)). But, rather than be the hindrance that this character is always made in these films, he is actually the sensible one once shit starts getting real, and has my alltime favorite line (“Ok, I’m drawing a line in the fucking sand here!). He sees that his friends are becoming the stereotypes that they were shown clearly not to be, and he mentions this several times. I can’t remember another film outside of Idle Hands where the stoner is the hero (and where drugs and bongs are actually the weapons of choice). Oh, and I love that when he leaves his car to get into the van with the others, he locks his car and leaves the window down – great touch from the screenplay writer there.

    And they all get along well together – they are good kids, not some obnoxious bunch of fucktards that you want to see wiped out. When you see the jock preparing to leap the motorbike over the ravine to get help, you know, for a fact, he’s going to fail. But they don’t know what you know, and the whole scene has a pathos about it that should seem out of place, but doesn’t.

    The filmmakers take pains to show why for example the jock and his girlfriend (obligatory tit-shot) go to bump uglies in the woods, rather than their comfy beds, why people split up, and countless other of our favorite conventions.

    And the underlying reason for all of this…well, I’m not going to reveal that here, but you will never see it coming!

    One more thing – the third act of the movie is every bit at batshit insane as you have heard and leaves no room for a sequel (not that that will stop Hollywood.)

    Go see this movie, please! You will want to watch it again and again. It’s that fucking good.

  27. Avatar of iszac87
    Posted By iszac87 on April 20, 2012 @ 5:21 am

    THE CABIN IN THE WOODS (2012) – ” Should have win the original screenplay award! ”

    At the surface, it looks just like your another slasher horror, but it definitely not just it!
    This is definitely one of the best horror ideas of the decade, very fresh and indeed success!

    Just to mention, it is a certified 92% fresh tomato on the Rotten Tomatoes site.
    It’s a hard work to bring a horror up to the critic’s table, not just only trying to please them, but the CABIN is now got them hooked!

    Overall, CABIN is a clever and yet, very entertaining horror.
    It didn’t try to twist you, you don’t have a twist ending, but they have already indicate themselves the twist after 10 minutes the movie started. Awesome~!

    DIRECTOR: Drew Goddard
    CAST: Kristen Connolly / Chris Hemsworth / Fran Kranz
    ACTING: Ignore it.
    VISUAL: Awesome! (Especially the last part)
    SOUND: Was okay.

    MY Rating: (8.8/10)

  28. Avatar of horrorking95
    Posted By horrorking95 on April 21, 2012 @ 5:11 am

    I’d like to say that first of all I’d advise you not read any reviews
    or watch any trailers for this film. I wouldn’t even read this one if
    you haven’t seen it yet because although I will really try not to give
    anything away, I can’t be sure because I haven’t yet looked into the
    future. The fact is “The Cabin In The Woods” is like “The Ordeal” in
    the sense that with “The Ordeal” or you need to know before watching it
    is that a singer’s car breaks down in the woods. Similary with this
    film all you need to know is that 5 young adults stay at a cabin in the
    woods. Luckily when I went in I didn’t know too much and so I didn’t
    know what to expect at all, but I certainly didn’t expect to see what I
    did see. Just leave all your logic at the cinema’s car park (or DVD
    case if you’re reading this in the future) and prepare to have your
    mind blown.

    I don’t man to hype this up or anything but it is as good as everyone
    does say and it took me some time after the film had finished to adjust
    to that. I wasn’t expecting “The Cabin In The Woods” to be so insane or
    ‘out there’ that I was shocked, and I didn’t know if it was pleasantly.
    When the film did finish I couldn’t make my mind up if what I just saw
    was completely brilliant or just cr*p, or if I loved it or hated it (to
    be fair I was leaning over to the ‘love’ side just because I had a ball
    watching it). But, once I had time to gather my thoughts, because “The
    Cabin In The Woods” does surprisingly give you a lot to take in, I
    realised that I had just seen a masterpiece. It’s revolutionary and is
    probably the king of all slashers because it manages to explain them so
    well, with it being also marvellously entertaining. It manages to
    dissect the slasher sub genre and almost the whole horror genre itself
    in a even braver way than “Scream” did! “The Cabin In The Wood” has
    been described as this generations “Scream” and I think I have to
    agree, I just hope we don’t get any “Cabin” copy-cats which “Scream”
    created! The film opens up in a unusual way and manages to set the vibe
    you’re about to sit yourself in for. We get some stereotypical
    horror-movie titles with blood dripping down and pictures of old
    sacrifices and then it’s immediately juxtaposed with two technicians
    having an every-day chat in an office-type building, which almost acts
    as a oxymoron for what you were expecting. Then the titles flash up on
    the screen, which I loved because it was unexpected and also not really
    fitting, which is really what describes the film. And then the first 20
    minutes or so show us the stereotypical slasher film, it’s amazingly
    clichéd, but it’s clichéd for a reason. We’ve got our stereotypical
    five friends, one couple and one ‘potential’ couple and then we’ve got
    the drug-taking nut-case who is actually quite likable, unlike most
    druggies in horror films who are so annoying that you can’t wait to see
    them die! And then they go off to the cabin, your stereotypical replica
    of “The Evil Dead” after stopping at a “Wrong Turn” slash “The Hills
    Have Eyes” styled petrol station that’s run by a crazy hill-billy. It’s
    all marvellously done and is basically everyone’s schema of a slasher
    film.

    But once the basement opens it becomes far from your stereotypical
    slasher film. It becomes a non-stop exciting fight for survival and
    that’s all I’ll say about it. The bottom line is that it’s really fun
    and sometimes quite scary. The final 25 minutes or so actually end up
    as being one of the craziest sequences since the big mum ending in
    Peter Jackson’s “Braindead”. It’s bloody, chaotic and also serves a
    purpose. “The Cabin In The Woods” is an extremely intelligent horror
    film as well as being “Breathlessly entertaining” as a quote on the
    poster promises. It’s wonderfully wittedly written by Joss Whedon and
    Drew Goddard who’s work I’ve been impressed with on “Cloverfield” and
    “Let Me In”. “The Cabin In The Woods” really does show their true
    potential though, by presenting something so simple and stupid and then
    turning it into something incredibly complex, intelligent and high-concept. It’s sort
    of like a fun/funny version of “Martyrs” in that when you think it’s
    going one way it goes in a completely different direction and throws
    you off. It’s fabulous. Also, all the characters are actually likable,
    which I always say is the body of a good slasher film.

    I really admire films that are brave and “The Cabin In The Woods”
    could’ve turned into a confused mess. But luckily by not taking itself
    seriously (at all!) and structuring itself carefully, it turns itself
    into an incredibly memorable horror comedy. I know I said that I didn’t
    know what to think of it when the credits rolled up, but one thing I
    did know is that I almost immediately wanted to see it again, which
    surely can’t be a bad thing. It presents a disturbing view of reality
    and the slasher genre, but what’s even more disturbing is that
    something this spectacular was sitting on a shelf for three years
    gathering up dust! And the reason behind that is even more disturbing!
    They were thinking about converting it into 3D. That would be a tragedy
    and would perhaps suck out its substance, by putting its style first.

    It probably doesn’t deserve a perfect 10 but I saw this film almost one
    week ago and it still hasn’t been out of my head (which isn’t the best
    thing when your A-level exams are 3 weeks away) which you can’t say for
    many films. Also it really is so unique that you couldn’t give it any
    less. Oh, and I’ll give you one million pounds if you saw the ending
    coming a mile off.

  29. Avatar of Emily Hurtin
    Posted By Emily Hurtin on April 21, 2012 @ 5:52 pm

    I absolutely loved this movie. It was so awesome to see a movie come out FINALLY that gave me some real hope for the mainstream horror genre. It was funny, creepy, and so much fun. Not surprising, as it came from Joss Whedon, who never let’s me down. I think that this was a great movie. It really impressed me.

  30. Avatar of secretsquirrely
    Posted By secretsquirrely on April 23, 2012 @ 2:50 pm

    It’s a good time to be a horror fan. The Cabin in the Woods offers a special meal for horror nerds and the average film-goer alike. Riddled with many nods and winks to other films in the genre, The Cabin in the Woods plays exactly how Scream 4 should have. The film’s first act sets up the scene with a rather clichà (C) and generic bunch of teens (give or take a few unconventional details for a horror film) and places them in the titled cabin. From that point onward it’s a wonderful thrill ride of jump scares, sex, twists, and amazingly written humor by Joss Whedon. However, it’s the film’s third act that takes the film from a nice thrill ride to a full on rollercoaster adventure of thrills, laughs, and off-the-wall twists. The entire third act doesn’t let up in its relentless action and ‘meta’ storytelling. Toss in a few unexpected cameos and ingenius horror movie references, and you have Whedon’s recipe for a damn good time. The Cabin in the Woods is a great bit of fun that allows Whedon, Goddard, and the cast to show off their love for all things horror and fun. If you like cheering in the cinema, this is definitely the film for you.

  31. Avatar of Thegreatone
    Posted By Thegreatone on April 26, 2012 @ 8:53 pm

    Loved it. Thought it was great. Not gonna give away anything, because it’s best not knowing anything going into it. If you like original horror with homages to some of the greatest horror flicks of all time, then The Cabin In The Woods is for you.

  32. Avatar of MattSlash
    Posted By MattSlash on April 29, 2012 @ 12:08 am

    WTF? That’s what was on my mind, as I walked away when the film was over. What wasn’t I getting? People have to be smoking crack, if they thought that was great horror. The premise, sure it was probably very clever on paper, but on the big screen it was a scrambled mess of ideas that never was executed in an effective manner. I thought that it wasn’t focused strongly enough on the greater picture for audiences, like scares, element of surprise, fear, stalk/chase, the big opener for the title, I mean you call that an opening for a horror movie? They threw suspense out the window in its first several minutes. The Meta humor was funny in some scenes, but not clever enough to appreciate it, or have fun with it. The Cabin In The Woods is the most overrated horror film since Drag Me To Hell.

    The acting, though better than I guess most direct to DVD horror films, was still one dimensional to me. I couldn’t connect with any of the characters, which made me not care what happens to them, because they cared more about the twisted plot than developing the characters fully. They were like Scooby Doo characters, maybe they meant it. They star cameo was just laughable and out of place to me, this film was bloated!

    For the love of God, please stop comparing “new” and “inventive” slashers, to the original Scream! Not one horror/comedy so far has topped it, not even its sequels; this one wasn’t balanced when it came to scares and laughs and on equal parts, failed. Look it has been done and Scream raised the bar so high, that nothing is comparable to that modern horror classic. Hype can make or break a film and in this case it demolished it for me. You can compare the film to movies like Hatchet, Tucker and Dale Vs Evil, Scared (but not even close as good), Scooby Doo, The Cell, 13 Ghosts ECT.

    The bloody kills were not that impressive and happens too fast in a predictable fashion. There was one scene where the blonde, Jules goes on a dare to kiss a stuffed and mounted wolf, what I thought should of happened is when she is kissing it, the wolf comes to life and either bites her tongue off, or half of her face. That would have been a shocking and terrifying moment of surprise, but there were none of the sort.

    The final act is the highlight of the movie for me. There were killers and monsters of all sorts, like a horror fans wet dream, that caused so much bloody chaos, you’ll be grinning from ear to ear. The rest of the film unfortunately fell flat, it’s a bummer because I really did think that I was in for an amazing, thrilling, roller coaster ride of a horror film, but felt nothing for the most part. There is always the horror film, You’re Next, to look forward to and hopefully won’t disappoint like The Cabin In The Woods, if it ever gets released.

    Overall, critics must be smoking crack like Marty in the film, for calling this quality horror/comedy. I love horror movies of all kinds, but this went way too far off the map with its concept, that it got in the way of everything else, like scares and balance, the film is in a tight and complicated knot, it shot itself in the foot. I am probably the only one here, who is not head over heals for this film, but I expect more as a paying and devoted fan of horror films and for that, deserve better than the hype with no payoff.

  33. Avatar of Babyface
    Posted By Babyface on April 29, 2012 @ 2:28 am

    Well, that was less than overwhelming. What kind of new mess is this? Good beginning but too many ideas thrown in and the tone was all over the place. Was this a spoof? Of what? Will someone please tell me why everyone is loving this?

  34. Avatar of Ultrazilla
    Posted By Ultrazilla on April 29, 2012 @ 1:37 pm

    This movie is simply amazing and the most fun I’ve had with “horror” since seeing Slither and Drag Me To Hell! Yes, if you hated those movies, you may not like this one either. I really feel like the people hating on Cabin In The Woods just don’t “get it”. It definitely reeks of Joss Whedon’s musky awesomeness as well, so if you hated Buffy, Angel, Dollhouse, or Firefly…then you may want to pass…but you’d be missing out on some good times! I found this movie to be very original in story, and really don’t see the need to compare it to Scream…apples and oranges. As a Whedon fan, and a horror fan…I went in hopeful. I wasn’t disappointed in the least, either time I saw it!

  35. Avatar of HeavenSentCastiel
    Posted By HeavenSentCastiel on April 30, 2012 @ 8:38 pm

    SPOILERS:
    The Cabin in the Woods is a near perfect film, entertaining from the get-go as we meet the characters (the whore, the virgin, the athlete, the brain, and my personal favorite, the fool). This is one of those rare films that so flawlessly intermixes horror with laughter, as most films that attempt such a feat end up with one or the other. They show you just enough behind the curtain to give you what you need to know, keeping the rest a complete mystery, with an entertaining story. The fact that they rig the game, with little hope for escape and then partied about it, left me angry and wishing those fuckers would get what they deserved. And they did, in spades. Marty, the brilliant stoner who outsmarted them all, was the one thing that took this story to the next level, giving it that little special something. The ending was excellent, one of those gigantic “fuck you” moments that I so dearly love. I saw this film twice, not wishing to wait until it came out, it was so great. I just wish there were more like it.

  36. Avatar of Horror_Reveiwer
    Posted By Horror_Reveiwer on May 14, 2012 @ 11:05 am

    This movie is so original and so bloody fun. I really enjoyed this movie. If you like Evil Dead you will probably love Cabin in the woods great movie.

  37. Avatar of Kaname-Tousen
    Posted By Kaname-Tousen on May 14, 2012 @ 3:14 pm

    It’s got a new wrinkle on an old and Tired genre, with a great third act if you’re a gore hound DO NOT EXPECT TO SEE YOUR TYPICAL SLASHER FLICK

  38. Avatar of fearofthedark
    Posted By fearofthedark on May 17, 2012 @ 11:47 pm

    I absolutely loved this movie. It was so awesome to see a movie come out FINALLY that gave me some real hope for the mainstream horror genre. It was funny, creepy, and so much fun. Not surprising, as it came from Joss Whedon, who never let’s me down. I think that this was a great movie. It really impressed me.

  39. Avatar of dmac
    Posted By dmac on May 20, 2012 @ 8:50 pm

    It sucks you in from the very beginning. It was an original and fun movie, and the twists and turns are great. I would recommend this to any horror fan. It deserves a 4.5, but the site won’t let me give the extra 1/2 skull.

  40. Avatar of Steven Byers
    Posted By Steven Byers on June 2, 2012 @ 10:49 am

    This is a horror movie that gets it right. Funny, smart, game-changing, it hits all the right notes. Don’t buy into the hype too much though. It’s not revolutionary and it won’t win any awards but after all the crap we’ve had to endure, this was a good way to kick off the horror season. Very pleased.

  41. Avatar of The Virgin
    Posted By The Virgin on July 13, 2012 @ 9:04 pm

    This won’t be an extremely long review because I honestly suck at writing these. However, this is DEFINITELY one of the best horror films I have seen in awhile. If some couldn’t guess, this is a sort of a genre spoof. An amazing one, I might add. This is a definite game changer for the horror genre. This movie was made in 2009 if I’m right, and its date kept getting pushed further and further forward due to their distributor going bankrupt. Eventually another distributor picked it up and I am extremely grateful. The end has me so gleeful and excited for *SPOILER* the blood bath that is about to occur. /end of spoiler. The CGI at the end is great, and their “Army of Nightmares” are all created beautifully. I will never stop loving or defending this movie. Too great for words. I’m recommending ALL of my friends to see it.

  42. Avatar of BabyJaneHudson
    Posted By BabyJaneHudson on September 22, 2012 @ 10:38 am

    Loved it. So much fun. I watched the trailers, heard the “you’re not going to expect what happens” comments and thought, yeah, sure, I know what’s going on. I was so delightfully wrong. Very funny, and a real gift to horror fans.

  43. Avatar of freetuga
    Posted By freetuga on September 26, 2012 @ 5:21 pm

    I have only three words, Brilliant, Intelligent and Fun.

  44. Avatar of Scream1210
    Posted By Scream1210 on October 1, 2012 @ 3:27 am

    THIS IS MY FAVORITE MOVIE OF 2012! And one of the best if not the best horror movie in years. Its a wonderful combination of a slasher movie and a dark comedy. The young cast does a wonderful job and surely have a bright future. New comer Kristen Connolly carries the movie wonderfully. The film really steps up to the next level when two of the main characters find an elevator and go underneath the cabin into a large underground lab. Then all hell breaks loose. They used over 500 gallons of blood to make this movie. That should give you an idea. It’s a scary, twisted, wicked, clever, original horror show. Filled with zombies, werewolfs, demons, mermans, giant snakes, and much much more… And if you don’t get the poster you get it after you see the movie.

  45. Avatar of markajacoby
    Posted By markajacoby on October 5, 2012 @ 11:09 pm

    Holy crap! Am I missing something. What the hell is all the love for this utterly worthless piece of crap film about? Even my wife who jumps at a cat meowing was like this is terrible. There were no scares. The CGI was terrible. The acting was cliched. The story was so thin flypaper is thicker. There was nothing even remotely redeeming about this film and yet all I see is “MY GOD! I wet myself because this was the best movie I’ve ever seen.” Really? What? Have you never seen a horror film? Maybe if they stuck with just the oh so stereotypical teens in the woods premise I might have been okay, but then we have this pathetic let’s keep the ancient ones secure by some moronic geeks story line which kept ruining the mood every time it might have got going. And is it just me, or was that the EXACT cabin used in “Evil Dead”? You people need to get out and see some real movies because this was TERRIBLE!!!!!

  46. Avatar of Grime
    Posted By Grime on November 13, 2012 @ 3:14 pm

    This movie sucks so much. I can’t believe so many people enjoyed it.

  47. Avatar of Charistea
    Posted By Charistea on November 16, 2012 @ 2:24 pm

    what a crap ! Tell me how it was original ? I seen it too and i seen no originality in it . All movie was borring, the ending was.. they did copy everything from other horror movies every single caracter was already seen somewhere before . So i haven’t seen anything original there in a movie. Was it scary ? Not a second. Seen and forgotten.

  48. Avatar of Michael_M
    Posted By Michael_M on December 3, 2012 @ 6:11 pm

    The behind-the-scenes features on the DVD are more interesting than the movie itself. Horribly over-hyped.