Connect with us


DJ Muggs (Cypress Hill) And Ill Bill Team Up For ‘Kill Devil Hills’

Acclaimed DJ/producer, DJ Muggs, and Brooklyn’s heavy metal influenced hip-hop artist, Ill Bill, have teamed up for a collaborative full-length record, Kill Devil Hills, to be released on August 24th on Fat Beats Records.  Produced entirely by DJ Muggs, Kill Devil Hills features guest appearances from B-Real, Raekwon, Sean Price, Everlast, Slaine, Chace Infinite, O.C., Q-Unique, Vinnie Paz, Sick Jacken, and more.
Throughout his distinguished career, Muggs has established a precedent for working hand in hand with artists and creating cohesive bodies of work, rather than spreading around beats from project to project.  This rings true once again on Kill Devil Hills.
“I prefer getting in the lab and actually creating projects with people instead of just sending out beat CDs,” explains Muggs.  “I’m a producer in the fullest extent, where I like to not only produce an album, but craft an album.  Being able to start a record from the beginning and following through with it, making sure that all the songs complement each other.  I’ve always come from making albums and producing my records; I’m still into that”

“Production and conceptually, this record plays out like a movie.  All the songs connect,” states Ill Bill.  “It moves like a concept record the way the beats blend with the words even though we didn’t plan it like that.  It’s basically it’s own sound, the Muggs vs. Bill sound.”
Muggs adds, “The chemistry between us was very natural.  Any decisions we had to make, it was easy, like we’d worked together for years.  When we sat back & heard the final product, man, we were both blown away.”
The track list for Kill Devil Hills is…
1.) Cult Assassin 
2.) Trouble Shooters f/Sean Price, O.C. & Sick Jacken
3.) Paul Stanley
4.) Illuminati 666
5.) Amputated Saint f/B-Real
6.) Skull & Guns f/Everlast & Slaine of La Coka Nostra
7.) Giants Stadium f/Q-Unique
8.) The Owl
9.) Millenniums Of Murder
10.) Chase Manhattan f/Raekwon
11.) Luciferian Imperium
13.) Secrets Worth Dying For f/Chace Infinite
14.) 2013
15.) Kill Devil Hills f/B-Real & Vinnie Paz
16.) Narco Corridos f/Sick Jacken & Uncle Howie
(****All Tracks Produced By DJ Muggs)
DJ Muggs is one of the industry’s most talented and well-known producers.  Since Cypress Hill’s formation in 1991, the pioneering rap-rock quartet has come a long way from the streets of South Central LA.  Over the course of its 19-year history, Cypress Hill has sold more than 17 million albums worldwide, including more than 11 million records in the US alone.  The group has garnered 15 multi-platinum, platinum, and gold certifications from the RIAA, headlined Lollapalooza, Woodstock, and the group’s own Smokin’ Grooves tour, appeared on Saturday Night Live, and made the late-night talk show circuit, all the while breaking down the musical and cultural barriers between hip-hop, alternative, metal, rock, reggae, ska and Latin music.  In 2008, DJ Muggs, and Cypress Hill received a VH1 Hip Hop Honors, to celebrate the vision and innovation that the group continues to bring to hip-hop, strengthening its force around the world.  
Yet that only touches on what Muggs has done as a member of Cypress Hill, as he has released highly-influential solo-projects (Soul Assassin Series, Grandmasters with Wu-Tang Clan’s GZA), and produced hits such hits as House of Pain’s “Jump Around”and Ice Cube’s “Check Yo Self” among many others. 
“I’ve always been a huge Muggs fan, and his Vs. series is one of the last places to hear the vibe that made albums by Cypress Hill and Gang Starr so dope,” commends Ill Bill.  “Not too many producers can craft an entire album on their own, let alone an album that’s a classic.  Muggs has done it many times over the past 20 years.  It’s an honor to be part of that legacy.”
Ill Bill was a founding member of Non Phixion, who released their seminal debut, The Future Is Now, in 2002.  He has also released two influential solo LPs.  Bill has also released an LP as a member of the bi-coastal conglomerate La Coka Nostra (which also includes Everlast, Danny Boy and DJ Lethal of House Of Pain and newcomer Slaine).   Ill Bill’s, The Hour Of Reprisal (2008), showed flashes of what the future would hold, as Bill & Muggs collaborated on two tracks (“This Is Who I Am” & “Only Time Will Tell”) for Bill’s most recent solo-LP. 
Ill Bill & DJ Muggs will be performing together as one of the headlining acts on this year’s “Rock The Bells” tour.
2010 Rock The Bells Tour Dates (confirmed as of 6-8-2010):
8-21-2010, Los Angeles, CA-NOS Events Center
8-22-2010, San Francisco, CA-Shoreline Amphitheatre
8-28-2010, New York, NY- Governor’s Island
8-29-2010, Washington, DC- Merriweather Post Pavilion



Click to comment

More in Music