COMICS TO FEAST ON: January 25th 2011

Get out your knives and forks folks; we’ve got a full plate coming your way! This is a massive week for you horror-heads, so bring a change of pants when you hit up your comic shop this week because you might just take a crap right then and there. Flying your way this last week in January: the seventh installment of CREEPY anthology, the last issue of Claudio Sanchez’ KEY OF Z, plus Fialkov’s hit vamp book I VAMPIRE. Read on for the skinny…

ivampire5 JLD5

With the ever-increasing number of books coming out between the tie-ins, the crossovers, and the new series, we’ve got to limit our lists for the week somehow. We present you with our ten most anticipated books of the week. So feast your eyes on these! Whether you’ve been into comics since you were a young’un, or you’re new to the game, we’re here to help you decide which books to pick up. If I’ve missed something you’re stoked about, list it in the comments.

I, Vampire #5

ivampire5

WRITTEN BY: Josh Fialkov
ILLUSTRATED BY: Andrea Sorrentino
PUBLISHER: DC Comics
PRICE: $2.99

The Low Down: “The war of the vampires comes to Batman’s doorstep! The Queen of Blood has deadly plans for the citizens of Gotham City, but before Andrew can stop her, he must face The Dark Knight!”

The Feast: Hale finally gave us a peak at how I, Vampire will tie into the rest of the DC Universe by bringing fan-favorite Constantine into the mix. This week brings the vamps into Gotham, and seeing Batman deal with the paranormal is always a treat. I, Vampire doesn’t really read like a vampire book, it’s simply a great comic and we’re excited to see where the team will lead us.

Key of Z #4

keyofz

WRITTEN BY: Claudio Sanchez Chondra Echert
ILLUSTRATED BY: Aaron Kuder
PUBLISHER: BOOM!
PRICE: $3.99

The Low Down: “Final issue! An epic, jaw-dropping finale you can’t miss from Coheed and Cambria’s Claudio Sanchez (The Amory Wars) and Chondra Echert (Kill Audio)! With the one man holding the key buried in chains, the two remaining human factions in zombie-filled New York City are ready for war. Will Ewing be able to escape his shackles and exact his revenge – or will a triumphant Lavoe finish what he started? All this in the pulse-pounding conclusion that redefines the zombie genre!”

The Feast: Fans of Coheed and Cambria need no introduction to this book, but for those of you who could care less, it’s a great zombie story that works in some interesting social criticism. This is the final issue, but considering it’s only four issues in all, it’s worth picking up the rest.

Nancy In Hell On Earth #1

nancyinhell1

WRITTEN BY: El Torres
ILLUSTRATED BY: Enrique Lopez Lorenzana
PUBLISHER: Image
PRICE: $3.99

The Low Down: “The unlikely couple of Nancy and Lucifer are back! After escaping from Hell, the chainsaw-wielding hottie finds that the Gates of Hades remained open, and all kind of demons are pouring out on Earth. Our world is the newest infernal region, and nobody will help the humans…not even the angels from Heaven!”

The Feast: Dat Ass! To bet honest I never read the original Nancy series so I don’t know much about it. But from what I hear it’s the perfect trashy, grindhouse-style comic. So if you’re into some good old T and A, chainsaws, and blood then check out Nancy and her bum hugging shorts.

Green Wake #9

greenwake9

WRITTEN BY: Kurtis Wiebe
ILLUSTRATED BY: Riley Rossmo
PUBLISHER: Image
PRICE: $3.99

The Low Down: “”LOST CHILDREN” Part Four Morley starts to understand the path laid before him as Green Wake begins to change after the rebellion settles, but the murders that happen behind the scenes are growing more mysterious. The heinous acts of violence hint at a growing thirst for blood.”

The Feast: Sadly, this is the second to last issue of Green Wake, and what a ride it has been. This arc has been every bit as good as the initial mini-series and it’s a shame to see it go so soon. Don’t be the sucker than misses out on this incredibly dark and dreary mystery. Thankfully both of these guys have some other projects in the works.

The Immortal: Demon in the Blood #2

immortal2

WRITTEN BY: Ian Edginton
ILLUSTRATED BY: Vicenc Villagrasa
PUBLISHER: Dark Horse
PRICE: $3.50

The Low Down: “Years have passed for the immortal samurai, now called Enma. He has embraced the demon within him and his new life as a tattoo artist, and has learned more secrets about his own master’s former apprentice, who is also possessed by an immortal demon . . . And, when the daughter of an old friend comes to Enma for help, the immortal has a chance to repay a life debt.”

The Feast: Leaping ahead a few years after the last issue, Enma now finds himself in an entirely new environment. Rather than sticking in the same era, the creators really utilize his immortality to the fullest, giving readers something completely different by jumping to a new era. If you’re into samurai’s, demons, tattoo art, and loads of action, it doesn’t get much better than this.

American Vampire #23

avamp23

WRITTEN BY: Scott Snyder
ILLUSTRATED BY: Rafael Albuquerque
PUBLISHER: Vertigo
PRICE: $2.99

The Low Down: “It’s 1955 and AMERICAN VAMPIRE is terrorizing the suburbs with hot rods, teenyboppers and fangs! Learn more about the ferocious new vampire hunter Travis Kidd and his connection to Skinner Sweet. Plus: Who is that mysterious”s man Travis is racing? Find out in “Death Race” part 2!

The Feast: Snyder must be having an absolute heyday with American Vampire , exploring all sorts of different chronological settings and characters. Now set in the mid 1950s, Snyder gives Albuquerque free reign to draw greasers, hot rod cars, and chain-smoking teens. But what makes it so fun is that you’d never expect to find vampires in this setting. The contrast is just brilliant, as always with Snyder. So grab an ice cold Cocacola, grease your hair back, and hop in the convertible for a wild ride down memory lane.

Creepy #7

creepy7

WRITTEN BY: Joe R. Lansdale, Keith Lansdale, Bill Morrison, Dan Braun
ILLUSTRATED BY: Sanjulian
PUBLISHER: Dark Horse
PRICE: $4.99

The Low Down: “Hope your New Year’s resolution was to be terrified, because Creepy is back to start 2012 with a scream! Featuring the latest from bone-chilling scribes Joe and Keith Lansdale, Christopher Taylor, and Dan Braun, this installment of the abominable anthology is sure to leave you shivering in the corner until next year.”

The Feast: As far as horror comic anthologies go, this is the best out there. Aside from Dark Horse Presents there is a lack of great anthologies nowadays, and even fewer that focus on horror. Lansdale and company have been killing it with this horror gem every time offering a wide range of spooky tales. Really throwing back to great horror of the past while simultaneously paving the way for the future, Creepy is highly recommended.

Aquaman #5

aqua5

WRITTEN BY: Geoff Johns
ILLUSTRATED BY: Ivan Reis, Joe Prado
PUBLISHER: DC Comics
PRICE: $2.99

The Low Down: “Aquaman has been left for dead in the middle of the desert! But how did the King of Atlantis find himself marooned in such a hellish environment? As Aquaman struggles to survive impossible odds, what extreme measures will he resort to in order to stay alive?”

The Feast: Aquaman is easily the best rebooted characters of the relaunch. Though not strictly a horror title, Johns throws some rather dark (even Lovecraftian) elements into the book, which seems to be a common trend among the best of the New 52. Sure some parts are a bit cheesy, but Johns’ cinematic style brings out Aquaman’s badass side like never before.

Justice League Dark #5

JLD5

WRITTEN BY: Peter Milligan
ILLUSTRATED BY: Mikel Janin
PUBLISHER: DC Comics
PRICE: $2.99

The Low Down: “Enchantress is out of control and more powerful than ever. She has brought a nation to its knees through her arcane powers. Will Madame Xanadu, John Constantine, Shade the Changing Man, Zatanna, Mindwarp, Deadman and June Moon be able to work together to defeat her? One thing is certain: One of these heroes will not make it out alive!”

The Feast: I thought that this book would be way more action packed than it is given the incredible cast Milligan has at his disposal. Though we are yet to see them become a “Justice League” of any sort, the seeds have all been planted and it’s only a matter of time. Hopefully this will be the issue that offers a sign of things to come.

Secret Avengers #21.1

secret211

WRITTEN BY: Rick Remender
ILLUSTRATED BY: Patrick Zircher
PUBLISHER: Marvel
PRICE: $2.99

The Low Down: “Captain America and Hawkeye undertake a mission to the Red Light Nation, a country run by criminals, for criminals!”

The Feast: Remender is finally manning another series. Sure, it’s not horror but it’s going to kick your ass. Remender has yet to lose steam, and putting a team of Avengers in his hands could give Bendis a run for his money.