Connect with us


The 2011 Ghastly Awards – Outstanding Achievements In Horror Comics

It is with great honour and pleasure that I announce the first annual Ghastly Awards for outstanding achievements in the horror comics industry. The Ghastly Awards have been created as a means for horror comic creators to nominate their peers for industry wide recognition. The organizing team of judges is currently seeking nominations for the various categories. Though this is only the year of inception, we could not be more excited to bring this to both the fans and the creators. Check out the official press release, more details on nominations, and links after the jump. Read on for the skinny…

The official Ghastly Awards 2011 press release is as follows:

We are pleased to tell you that the Ghastly Awards are coming!

Founded in 2011 by Decapitated Dan with the help of Steve Banes, Mike Howlett, Lonnie Nadler and Mykal Banta, The Ghastly Awards have been created for horror comic creators to nominate their peers for industry wide recognition. But the only way for them to know how to vote is to get the word out there to them.

Nominating works like this:
• Creators (Artists, Writers, Inkers, Colorists, Letterers, Editors and Web Comic Creators) have one year to nominate, and are allowed to nominate up to 5 times during that year. You can not nominate yourself and you can not nominate someone/something more than once.
• At the end of the year nominations will be counted and the top 5 in each category will be the nominees.
• That list of nominees will be voted on by a panel of 5 judges. These judges will be members of the horror comics community who do not have any part in making comics; Reviewers, Journalists and Historians.

Now we know that this is the end of the year, so we need your help in getting the word out there to creators so we can get nominations in for 2011. Please visit to nominate. Nominating will be open for 2011 comic books until Feb. 29, 2012.

Thank you,

The Ghastly Award Judges
Decapitated Dan, Steve Banes, Mike Howlett, Lonnie Nadler & Mykal Banta

The categories for the awards are:
– Best Ongoing Title
– Best Mini Series
– Best One-Shot
– Best New Series
– Best Anthology
– Best Original Graphic Novel
– Best Archival Collection
– Best Horror Comic Related Book
– Best Writer
– Best Artist
– Best Inker
– Best Letterer
– Best Colorist
– Best Web Comic
– Hall of Fame Candidates



Click to comment

this week in horror

This Week in Horror - September 11, 2017 - It, Gerald's Game, ...

It made a killing during its first weekend, a new trailer for the Netflix adaptation of Stephen King's Gerald's Game, and a first look at Insidious: The Last Key. It's THIS WEEK IN HORROR with Whitney Moore!

Posted by Bloody Disgusting on Tuesday, September 12, 2017

More in Comics