TIFF: Midnight Madness Gets Argento’s ‘The Mother of Tears’!

Today the Toroto International Film Festival announced the final two films in their special “Midnight Madness” section, two films that are going to make you go wild! Read on to see what they are and cick here to read about the first eight. Dates and screening times for Midnight Madness films can be found now at tiff07.ca. Ticket Passes and Packages now on sale. The Midnight Madness Package is $156.51, and available to students and seniors for $100 (prices do not include GST, Building Fund Fee and service charges). The 32nd Toronto International Film Festival runs September 6 – 15, 2007. For more information, please visit tiff07.ca or call 416-968-FILM or 1-877-968-FILM.


THE MOTHER OF TEARS Dario Argento, Italy/USA

Italian horror fans rejoice! The maestro of cinematic murder, Dario Argento, is back with the long-awaited conclusion of his The Three Mothers trilogy (SUSPIRIA and INFERNO were the first two films) with THE MOTHER OF TEARS. Archaeology student Sarah Mandy (Asia Argento, the director’s daughter) opens an ancient urn that releases the demonic forces of a powerful witch. Havoc explodes in the streets of Rome as waves of suicide and violent crime herald the dark priestess’ rebirth. The Age of Witches is at hand, but Sarah is the only one who can save the world from descending into a hellstorm of supernatural chaos. Also starring Udo Kier and Daria Nicolodi.


Tighten your saddlebags, load your revolvers and pack your chopsticks for cult cinema bad boy Takashi Miike’s audacious wagon ride mash-up into the wild, wild east. A familiar spaghetti western premise that involves a mysterious stranger arriving into the middle of two clans feuding over hidden loot gets sliced and diced into new Americana-Kabuki-baroque fare: Buddhist temples sit alongside saloons, samurai swords hang from gun belts and sake flows with blood. Blue-eyed samurai Quentin Tarantino makes his first Japanese film appearance in Miike’s first English language film. Starring Hideaki Ito, Koichi Sato, Yusuke Iseya, Yoshino Kimura, and Masanobu Ando.

Click here for the other eight films

Source: B-D TIFF Page