Ihsahn Reveals Details For 'Das Seelenbrechen' - Bloody Disgusting
Connect with us


Ihsahn Reveals Details For ‘Das Seelenbrechen’



Ex-Emperor vocalist Ihsahn has revealed details for his upcoming fifth studio album Das Seelenbrechen, which will be released October 22nd via Candlelight Records. The album will feature Leprous drummer Tobias Ornes Anderson and will be the follow up to 2011’s Eremita.

Ihsahn states, “Musically, this album is a very deliberate sidestep to what I have been doing; a necessity to reset the creative parameters so not to fall into formula. I think I do my best work slightly outside of my comfort zone and I’ve wanted to do something like this for a long time. Free form and improvisational can be scary for a musician but it is very liberating at the same time.

Head on below for more details.

Ihsahn adds, “Even though my music has changed over the years, I feel there is a source of inspiration at the bottom of it all that is constant. The general idea for this album was to try and dig deep into this raw source and express it without too much refinery and do so within a less familiar musical landscape. It is the reason for several purely improvised songs and parts on this album. I spontaneously performed with just lyrics and the idea of the atmosphere I was wishing to create. While many will feel it sounds different, I don’t think it is necessarily different from my previous album. And in my head, it will fit in perfectly with my plans for the sixth album.

Das Seelenbrechen Track Listing:
1. Hilber
2. Regen
3. NaCl
4. Pulse
5. Tacit 2
6. Tacit
7. Rec
8. M
9. Sub Alter
10. See
11. Entropie (bonus)
12. Hel (bonus)

Got any thoughts/questions/concerns for Jonathan Barkan? Shoot him a message on Twitter or on Bloody-Disgusting!


Click to comment