[News Bites] Big Names Know the ‘Secret’; ‘Nemesis’ Adaptation; ‘Tomorrowland’ and “Coven” Casting

secret

Kathryn Hahn, pictured below, has joined the cast of Tomorrowland, Disney’s Brad Bird-directed sci-fi adventure movie, says THR. George Clooney, Hugh Laurie and Britt Robertson are starring in the picture, which is currently shooting in Vancouver. The story, as described by Disney, centers on a “bright, optimistic teen bursting with scientific curiosity and a former boy-genius inventor jaded by disillusionment who embark on a danger-filled mission to unearth the secrets of an enigmatic place somewhere in time and space that exists in their collective memory as Tomorrowland.” Character descriptions are being kept secret, but it can be revealed that Hahn is playing a character named Ursula in what is described as a funny, scene-stealing role.

The same site reports that New Line Cinema has picked up the remake rights to Secret, pictured above, a Korean crime thriller made by CJ Entertainment (The Host, Snowpiercer). Guy Stodel (The Texas Chainsaw Masssacre) will produce the remake along with Jiwon Park of CJ Entertainment. Released in 2009, Secret ostensibly “followed a detective that finds incriminating evidence that may implicate his wife at a murder scene, and he must uncover the mystery before anyone else can.” New Line and the producers are now looking for a writer to adapt the material in the goal to make a thriller tonally in the vein of No Way Out, Usual Suspects and The Departed.

The already sizable cast of “American Horror Story: Coven” (premiering Oct. 9) has added another body to the pile. Says TheWrap, James DuMont, also pictured below, known for his work on HBO’s “Treme,” has been cast in a recurring role on Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk’s FX creepfest. DuMont will play a doctor on the series. “American Horror Story: Coven,” which stars returning cast members such as Evan Peters and Jessica Lange as well as newcomers including Kathy Bates, Angela Bassett and Gabourey Sidibe, centers around a boarding school of sorts for witches in New Orleans, where they’re taught how to survive against those who would have them destroyed.

Lastly, Looks like the high-octane sibling team of Joe and Matthew Michael Carnahan have nailed the script for the screen adaptation of Nemesis, the beloved work by “Wanted” and “Kick-Ass” creator Mark Millar, explains Deadline. The project is set at Fox. “A tale of one man with a plan for vengeance! Who is Nemesis? He is a son of privilege, an inheritor of billions from his deceased parents. He owns a fleet of the finest cars, a hangar full of planes and countless technological gadgets at his command. Donning a mask and long flowing cape, he’s a man in white fighting relentlessly for a cause he believes in…