Connect with us


You Can Now Pre-Order Waxwork Records’ ‘The Thing’ Vinyl Soundtrack

Cold. Dark. Minimal. Effective.

John Carpenter’s films are of course known for their incredible scores, often performed by Carpenter himself, but for The Thing, Ennio Morricone handled the music. With his landmark score, Morricone – who recently won the Oscar for The Hateful Eight (which, funny enough, used bits of The Thing score) – pitch-perfectly captured the cold, isolated atmosphere of the story.

Today, Waxwork Records is thrilled to present the deluxe soundtrack re-issue to 1982’s sci-fi horror classic. The company has been working the past two years “to ensure that such a highly anticipated and sought after vinyl soundtrack re-issue would meet and exceed expectations of the biggest fan,” and the vinyl soundtrack is now available for pre-order.

Two different versions were initially available, the “Snow Variant” and “Deluxe Ice Edition,” but the latter has already sold out. So you better act fast on this one.

Here’s everything you need to know:

Features include the complete Ennio Morricone soundtrack re-mastered from the original master tapes, your choice of two different 180 gram colored vinyl variants, all new artwork by Justin Erickson of Phantom City Creative, deluxe heavyweight packaging including satin coated old-style gatefold jackets with UV spot-gloss varnish, an 11” x 22” poster, a custom hand assembled breakaway “ice” slipcase with 100% overall UV gloss coating, and an exclusive interview with director John Carpenter.

Deluxe “Trapped In The Ice” Edition

  • Heavyweight, Hand-Assembled, High-Gloss, Break-Away “Ice” Slipcase
  • 180 Gram “Ice” Vinyl (Deep Blue with White Haze)
  • Satin Coated Old-Style Gatefold Jacket with UV Spot-Gloss
  • 11” x 22” Poster
  • New Artwork By Justin Erickson of Phantom City Creative
  • Booklet Featuring Exclusive Interview with Director John Carpenter

Standard “Snow” Edition

  • 180 Gram “Snow” Vinyl (True White)
  • Satin Coated Old-Style Gatefold Jacket with UV Spot-Gloss
  • 11” x 22” Poster
  • New Artwork By Justin Erickson of Phantom City Creative


  • Humanity (Part 1)
  • Shape
  • Contamination
  • Bestiality
  • Solitude
  • Eternity


  • Wait
  • Humanity (Part 2)
  • Sterilization
  • Despair

Head over to the Waxwork website to place your pre-order!


  • Ima Badlady

    Contamination and Bestiality are my two favorites on the soundtrack.

  • RJ MacReady

    Very cool! May have to invest in a turn table and order this.

  • Mark Nye

    Clicked on link, it’s already sold out 🙁

    • Melissa Sharp

      It’s not sold out anymore for the Deluxe Ice Edition. I just ordered one.

this week in horror

This Week in Horror - August 7, 2017

The hard copy of Friday the 13th: The Game is coming, Sarah Paulson joins M. Night Shyamalan's Glass, and Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark gets a re-release with the original art.

Posted by Bloody Disgusting on Monday, August 7, 2017


More in Music