The Beyond

283-poster
release date April 29 1981
studio Grindhouse Releasing
director Lucio Fulci
writer Dardano Sacchetti
starring Catriona MacColl
rating
R
tagline Behind this doorway lie the terrifying and unspeakable secrets of hell. No one who sees it lives to
site grindhousereleasing.com/beyond_joe.html
trailer 1 Trailer #1

34 comments

  1. Avatar of j34ngr4y
    Posted By j34ngr4y on July 18, 2008 @ 7:58 pm

    LUCIO FULCI U R A F-ING HORROR GOD! THE BEYOND is Fulci at his horror best!!! Like many of his other films THE BEYOND is fantastic!!! I don’t want to ruin it for anyone but the blind girl and her dog creepy!!! I love the dead worlock in the celler the fog relm at the end…
    Everything about this movie is great great great!!! I give THE BEYOND 10 blind girls out of 10 blind girls…lol love this movie!!!

  2. Avatar of Scurgar
    Posted By Scurgar on November 5, 2008 @ 2:12 am

    When I first saw this movie, I honestly didn’t think much of it. I watched it when I was first starting to get into horror heavily and I didn’t “get” this film. After realizing the actual point of the film, I came to love it.

    This movie is all about the visuals. Plot? Forget it. Fulci never had much use for a plot and The Beyond is the perfect example. The violence is legendary, the atmosphere is excellent and I especially enjoyed the bleak ending. A brutal horror classic.

  3. Avatar of tonikeen
    Posted By tonikeen on November 17, 2008 @ 7:54 pm

    i really love this movie!! i haven’t seen it in years, then with the re-release i saw it again. you got italian zombies, ghosts, big spiders, cheap but classic grue, & tons of eye scenes.

  4. Avatar of mode7overworld
    Posted By mode7overworld on November 22, 2008 @ 3:18 pm

    This actually had a re-release before. Anchor Bay had a limited run of 20,000 collector’s editions in tin cases filled with lobby card reprints and an art book with production notes. I got it back in like, freshman year of high school when I was starting to get into Fulci and it’s an awesome little collection.

    The movie itself is great. It’s the epitome of Fulci’s desire to create a delirious heightened reality, and it works. There’s just really nothing else like it. It has this almost undefinable mix of roughness and finesse that lends a great feel to the whole thing.

    I’d venture to say that The Beyond is one of horror’s “acid tests”. If you don’t like it, for whatever reason, then you probably just don’t get what makes horror great. And anybody resistin’ can goddamn my ass kissin’.

  5. Avatar of GOREGRINDwp13
    Posted By GOREGRINDwp13 on December 3, 2008 @ 3:16 pm

    Great gore film defintly Fulci’s best.
    its great they put it back in print

  6. Avatar of eric2570
    Posted By eric2570 on January 15, 2009 @ 2:23 am

    A true Fulci masterpiece. Without a doubt one of his top movies. It has terrific scenes of gore and violence. Fulci also has a great way of building the tension to almost a feverish pitch. A definite for any Italian horror fan!

  7. Avatar of Slaser-Maniac
    Posted By Slaser-Maniac on January 29, 2009 @ 11:35 pm

    probably not one of the best Lucio Fulci but a well pleaser. The only thing that disapointed me in the movie was the killing scenes. When someboby got killd it looked fake such as when the man is eaten by triancuals or however you spell it. But I still liked the movie. I didn’t get the end of the movie. But all Lucio Fulci movies are great so this movie was great.

  8. Avatar of IWRS
    Posted By IWRS on February 19, 2009 @ 4:22 pm

    My favorite by Fulci. This is one of those films that actually gives me the jitters watching it. The score goes great with this film, (and I think it is the same in City of the Living Dead?)

    The gore is absolutely fresh and disgusting, very original for the era of this movie. The story is well written and the acting is better than most of Fulcis films, but not grade A.

    Overall, this one should be in every true horror/gore fans top collection, hands down.

  9. Avatar of BKs-Finest
    Posted By BKs-Finest on March 7, 2009 @ 2:25 am

    It was just ok… The killing scenes are cool, but the acting and the dialogue are just terrible…

  10. Avatar of JohnnyHorror30
    Posted By JohnnyHorror30 on March 27, 2009 @ 12:39 am

    He’s Not called the godfather of gore for nothing, Lucio Fulci’s best film in my opinion, I will never forget the carnage that this film leaves behind in your memories. Horror at its best!

  11. Avatar of TXzombieSC
    Posted By TXzombieSC on March 27, 2009 @ 2:05 am

    Yes, like mode7overworld, I too was fortunate enough to get the Anchor Bay tin release (#16019), and proudly display it with my movie collection. It is, along with Zombie, among Fulci’s best. Good gore effects (for it’s time) and dozens of just good ol fashioned creepy moments. A must have for any serious horror film collector.

  12. Avatar of Omar-Ramos
    Posted By Omar-Ramos on March 27, 2009 @ 4:35 am

    This is horror at its best.Long live LUCIO FULCI.The gore is non stop and the terror is relentless.A rare horror movie that effects your mind and soul.Its brutal!!

  13. Avatar of gorypass
    Posted By gorypass on April 1, 2009 @ 8:44 pm

    This movie was strange and the music was just awful to listen too….I love how the plastic dummys melted away….the zombies were a hoot too…I guess for 1981 that would of been gory but in 2009 its kinda of lame anyway it had a weird story line…the dialog is priceless so its a movie to watch but just once is enough.

  14. Avatar of VincenzoPescado
    Posted By VincenzoPescado on April 11, 2009 @ 9:12 pm

    An artfully rendered, mysterious, and completely over-the-top supernatural thriller… with zombies.

  15. Avatar of Googopqp
    Posted By Googopqp on April 29, 2009 @ 10:15 pm

    The Beyond, in my opinion, is Fulci’s best work to date, that i’ve seen. It is also the goriest of his that i’ve seen, except for maybe Cat in the Brain, and it is just an excellent supernatural zombie gore film.

    The movie is kind of hard to explain but if you follow the story it is pretty good, and the opening scene is pretty hard to watch in alittle way.

    I would recommend this movie to hard core gore fans, Fulci fans, or fans of classic horror films in general, but not the weak of heart, this movie is pretty intense for some people. I give this a 9/10!

  16. Avatar of MartyrsNo1Fan
    Posted By MartyrsNo1Fan on August 3, 2009 @ 7:19 pm

    At times sloppy it remains a movie filled iconic imagery, a bone-chilling score, and a constant sense of eeriness is the best way I can describe.

  17. Avatar of Asa-Jones
    Posted By Asa-Jones on January 2, 2010 @ 4:03 pm

    This maybe an old film but it’s one of Fulci’s best. Considered as the director’s Masterpiece The Beyond is a classic Zombie Film. In my opinion, Along with George A. Romero’s Diary Of The Dead and Dawn of The Dead, The Beyond is a brilliant Zombie film. I think that Fulci films like ‘Zombie Flesh Eaters (Zombi 2)’ and ‘House By The Cemetery’ should be recognised as Classic Zombie Films. Although Fulci maybe dead his spirit in film making is not. This is truly a Masterpiece!!!

  18. Avatar of ThingFreak82
    Posted By ThingFreak82 on March 16, 2010 @ 11:22 pm

    My favorite Fulci film! From begining to end, just a great flick!!

  19. Avatar of LuJr81
    Posted By LuJr81 on July 18, 2010 @ 10:15 am

    WOW!!!Fuck Zombi, this is Fulci’s true gem. Great story, great gore, and its definitely not as slow as Zombi was. I don’t see why this doesn’t get recognized as much as Zombi. Zombi was a disappointment, but this film surpassed my expectations. The eye gauges were insane! Sometimes the music doesn’t fit whats going on on-screen, but that does not ruin the movie for me.A definite must see for all horror fans!

  20. Avatar of Eddie-Vorhees
    Posted By Eddie-Vorhees on August 16, 2010 @ 2:46 pm

    A strange, weird, disgusting, and sometimes funny masterpiece. This movie is full of scenes that will either make your skin crawl, or laugh at the somewhat weird dialogue. Even the actors are rather bad, but that is what you may call the movie’s charm.

    A great movie, but watch it with an open mind, and don’t judge it by it’s story or actors.

  21. Avatar of nightmareslayer
    Posted By nightmareslayer on August 16, 2010 @ 3:44 pm

    Not bad! Waaaaaaaayyyyyyyy overated though!!!!! a one time watch ONLY!

  22. Avatar of Midnitekrawlr
    Posted By Midnitekrawlr on August 25, 2010 @ 1:53 am

    Ever since I saw Seven Doors of Death on vhs years ago the images have been stained in my brain. Now years later enjoying this remastered dvd not only took me back to those good old days but reminded me why Lucio Fulci will always be one of the greatest horror directors ever. A must see for any zombie lover!

  23. Avatar of Rusted
    Posted By Rusted on March 17, 2011 @ 10:20 pm

    This is by far the craziest of Lucis “big 4″ horror movies. Once again, logic goes straight out the window but when the gory set pieces are this good, who cares? The trademark eyeball trauma is here along with nasty spider and dog attacks, acid baths,shuffling zombies and one of the best headshot explosions ever seen on film. The gates of Hell are wide open in this film and Lucio just goes for broke. This is one of Fulcis more refined films as it has slightly better acting and the film, like his others, just drips with atmosphere and menace. Evil lurks around every corner and in this the bad vibes are truly cranked up to eleven. The bleak as hell ending again offers no hope. Everyone must suffer. Well, it is Fulci after all. A must have for any horror collection.

  24. Avatar of angelus_04
    Posted By angelus_04 on July 8, 2011 @ 10:45 am

    Not truly a zombie film the zombies don’t really show up till like the last 10 or 15 minutes but there’s plenty of gory set pieces and weirdness going on for you not to care. Fulci (RIP man you rock) was a genius.

  25. Avatar of Bytor
    Posted By Bytor on July 8, 2011 @ 8:11 pm

    Creepy, macabre, nightmarish flick with a psychadelic artsy feel. Plenty of disturbing and graphic scenes that burn into the memory. Loved the ending – not a shred of hope remains.

  26. Avatar of ogdredvonweary
    Posted By ogdredvonweary on September 1, 2011 @ 7:15 pm

    Other than the outdated soundtrack, this movie is nearly flawless. I always thought Zombi and City of the Dead were Fulci’s best films, but that has changed after seeing The Beyond. Surreal, gory, disturbing and memorable. One of the all time greats!!

  27. Avatar of TheGonzoJoint
    Posted By TheGonzoJoint on September 17, 2011 @ 6:33 pm

    Lucio Fulci’s “The Beyond” was not released in the US until 1998, where Quentin Tarantino went out of his way to restore and release it into cinemas. Eventually, it got a nice DVD release too. This is all for the fans; and there are many of them. The film is an imagery-fest that has, since its initial US re-release, garnered some sort of cultish audience. Few outside of that audience will actually enjoy it; in fact, most very critical movie-goers will dislike it with a passion. I’m going to try to be as fair as possible, and say that, while I don’t think this is a “good horror film”, I wouldn’t tell you it’s one to miss either.

    Who am I to say whether it’s bad or not? Lucio Fulci intended it to be a whole different kind of movie. There were no zombies involved at first, but the studio he was working with wanted the undead, and if Fulci had any sense, they were going to GET the undead. I wish that Fulci hadn’t died; so maybe…just maybe…he would remake his film and make it how he originally intended. There were no zombies; and that’s the film I want to see. But at this point, I never shall; and neither will anyone else. I guess you can’t always win.

    The plot, as Fulci re-wrote it, is absolutely preposterous to the point of distraction. It involves a woman (Catriona MacColl) who moves from New York to a hotel which she inherits, which was also the scene of the slaughter of a village outsider. It is said that underneath the hotel lied one of the seven portals into hell; and the death of the artist/outlandish misfit was only the beginning.

    Soon, the woman is seeing a blind lady and her local dog, spiders are eating librarians, zombies are walking the earth, and kids are being possessed by evil spirits. This can all be solved by reading the Book of Eibon, which might answer some questions regarding the things at hand.

    There’s a big zombie-gunfight-shootout at the end of the film, which comes off as both bad-ass and absurd. Some people will enjoy the imagery that Fulci presents, and I’m one of those people. The film sometimes gets that surrealistic feel that it’s going for; but poor dialogue and storytelling certainly distracts. Another thing; the film isn’t scary. Nor is it particularly fun. It doesn’t have a good enough atmosphere or plot to be engaging, and it just isn’t memorable…at all. Again; the images are inspired, but Fulci can do so much better.

    Thankfully for me, I watched the film on DVD; where there was the “original Italian audio” with English Subtitles to help me not feel epically pissed off throughout the experience. However, reading the dialogue isn’t much better than hearing it. Most of it still sucks; or at least some of it does. The rest is, luckily, forgettable; but is that an excuse for it to be so damn bland?

    Fans believe that Fulci’s film is an expression of his atheism and such. It very well might be. Some people even consider it to be a “great Fulci film” overall. But is there really a “great Fulci film”? Is Lucio Fulci a “great director”? To some he might be. But to me, he’s just another guy who likes to fool around with complex make-up. He does a lot of that here, which is good to see. He probably enjoyed making “The Beyond”, and his new zombies look cool (or at least one of them does). But seriously, there’s nothing more to the film beyond (no pun intended) its style, its visuals, and its music (which is also good). The gore is still in-tact, but if this is a mind-trip, then it’s a weak one. Considering how many people promised me this thing was going to be good, and surreal; it’s disappointing, to me personally, that the film turns out to be neither of those things. “The Beyond” is respected as good Midnight Movie entertainment, but I say if you want to do better; watch Fulci’s “Zombie” instead. And yes, I don’t care what you say about that film; I enjoyed it for being simple, unlike “The Beyond”, and entertaining, (sort of) unlike “The Beyond”.

  28. Avatar of Drittsekk
    Posted By Drittsekk on September 20, 2011 @ 10:17 pm

    Fulci’s best horror film. And it only gets better with repeated viewings.

  29. Avatar of TheGonzoJoint
    Posted By TheGonzoJoint on May 5, 2012 @ 1:05 pm

    How can something as violent, gruesome, disgusting, and relentlessly grotesque as “The Beyond” also be so mysteriously beautiful? As a film directed by Lucio Fulci – one of the Godfathers of Gore – whimsical qualities are what we least expect. But then…as you may know, I’ve enjoyed a few Lucio Fulci films before this one. I liked “Zombie”. I liked “City of the Living Dead”. I even liked “Don’t Torture a Duckling”. There were moments when the director had his time to shine; he was creative without-a-doubt, but sometimes, his typical style (which included surrealism, plots that refused to conform to traditional narrative structures, and complex make-up/gore effects) worked; while other times it didn’t. Some of you might not like any of Fulci’s films at all; which is perfectly understandable, since most of his films qualify for trash – if not entertaining and dream-like trash. Either way, there’s no denying that there are few films out there like the ones I have listed; especially this one, which has quite the cult following. The critics are divided, some hate it, some love it; I embraced it with an open mind and found myself happily lost in its depths. It’s absurd, disturbing, bloody, silly, but surprisingly, it works.

    Fulci wanted to make a film that was pure imagery and well, that’s the movie that he’s made. He attempts to string together events with what many – including myself – would perceive as a sorry excuse for a plot. Of course, it’s possible to ignore such flaws as the lack of deep characters or storytelling, especially when so much spectacle is on display. It takes a certain person and a certain state-of-mind to watch “The Beyond” and truly appreciate it; and I find it highly respectable if one can see why I – along with a good number of other devoted horror fanatics – obsess over this film as if it were an object of cultish worship. In my honest opinion, it’s that good.

    Let’s get this over with. We open on a 1927 Louisiana village; where the Seven Doors Hotel lies. There has been talk of disturbances and diabolical activity going on within the hotel walls; and some angry villagers are ready to put an end to such suspicions. The target of their primitive rage is an artist named Schweick, whom they believe to be a warlock, if only for his bizarre paintings that he claims to be portraits of Hell’s landscape. In what makes up the film’s entire opening sequence – which is very retro in style and surreal in atmosphere indeed – Schweick is whipped by chains, crucified on the basement wall, and doused with hot, boiling quicklime. He dies a slow, painful death; and his corpse is left to rot.

    Several decades later, the same hotel has been inherited by a woman named Liza (Catriona MacColl). She begins to repair and renovate the building, although in doing so, she disturbs the supernatural forces that haunt it; the ghost of Schweick included, who has returned from the dead as an indestructible corpse after one of the seven doors of death – which was in the basement where the has-been artist was murdered – is opened yet again by an unsuspecting plumber named Joe.

    And when the doors are opened, the dead shall walk the earth. But Fulci makes a difficult decision; he sacrifices a lot of screen-time for his undead buddies, and instead dedicates most of the film to the events leading up to the grand finale in which they all rise and have a very grand feast indeed. The film doesn’t seem to be a traditional zombie flick in itself, but more-so a film that tackles all things evil, as a whole. As someone who has seen many of Fulci’s films – both good and bad – I appreciated this approach, and while the filmmaker had something slightly different in mind when he wrote the original script, I’m very pleased with the film he has made; and so are many of his die-hard fans.

    Liza sees a creepy blind ghost girl and her helper dog. People start to die in unexpected places, at times equally as unpredictable. It’s all connected; unlike the movie itself, which defies the concoction of events and scenarios as if such a concept was a cliché. We all know it’s not; but this is an artist trying to show us something new, and he goes against the rules of horror movies without recreating them. Those who go to horror films to have a good time, get inspired, be entertained, and absorb talent in the way of surrealism will walk out of “The Beyond” with smiles on their faces. Those who look at it in a more logical way will look at it as a film that is literally nothing more than bunch of random, but admirably repulsive and gory set-pieces put together in a film that just doesn’t work. I respect these people, and I openly accept that this film is not for everyone, but I can’t deny that I loved every minute of it. It contains some of the most highly respected and memorable scenes of horror in the history of the genre; and all who like horror movies should see it just to see it. There will never be another quite like it.

    Library-browsers fall from ladders and get eaten by conveniently-placed spiders. Little girls are possessed by evil spirits. Women are given acid baths. “The Beyond” isn’t a film that one can merely make sense of. It doesn’t care much about whether you like it or not, but that’s what I loved about it. It’s a showcase of what Fulci liked to do; he was very much capable of grossing you out, but there was artistry to his craft, and even though it is very much interested in its gore and its kill scenes over its plot and its characters, this is what I would call art. Nobody makes classic gore scenes quite like Fulci did; and since it was his passion to disgust through hidden beauty (at times), I have to respect his intent. This was his best film. And it’s also one of the best horror films that I’ve seen. The feeling of experiencing it is one that is simply put, unforgettable. It takes us to a place beyond where most films – horror or not – will ever be capable of taking us. Lucio Fulci has made a one-of-a-kind feature. Watch it uncut; watch it late at night. I don’t really care. Just see it to say that you saw it and then make your verdict; whether “The Beyond” rises from the dead, or just stays there in the coffin, is entirely up to you. But…uninspired acting, dialogue, and plotting aside; it does exactly what it wants to do, but in particularly Fulci-esque fashion. How else could I have possibly wanted it?

  30. Avatar of MattSlash
    Posted By MattSlash on January 27, 2013 @ 12:39 pm

    The Beyond is a very overrated Italian/horror film that is incomprehensible. The film is filled with creepy atmospherics, insane gore and is probably one of the most unique zombie films of the past, but different doesn’t always lead to a good film. I just couldn’t take it seriously, whether it was intentional or not, the script was a mess and laughable and the scares weren’t effective enough as they could have been. The soundtrack was also a hit and miss, with some of it being completely out of place. The horror cult classics that came out during the same year like The Evil Dead etcetera were miles better, The Beyond just doest stack up. Definitely one of the most disappointing Italian/horror cult classics out there.

    The characters were pretty illogical, doing most things people should not do in horror movies. For example, not shooting a zombie in the head, what a waste of bullets you fool! The other is hooking a clearly dead person to a heartbeat monitor, really! The acting was mostly just horrid to me, with overreaction to not enough reaction to what is happening around them. Catriona MacColl, who plays Liza Merril, a young woman who inherits an old hotel in Louisiana, is definitely easy on the eyes and carries the film quite well, she makes it bearable. The other standout was Cinzia Moreale (as Sarah Keller) who plays a blind woman pretty effectively, who comes out of nowhere into Liza’s life to warns her about the sinister hotel. Good effort from those two, but the hackneyed script consumed them and everyone else.

    The late Italian/horror director Lucio Fulci definitely made strange, one of a kind horror films. The type of films you don’t see being made anymore, but The Beyond’s plot had major development problems that were a huge distraction from everything else. Lucio goes wild here though, with a hypnotic, nightmarish atmosphere, intense close up shots of ghoulish imagery that will stay with you. The film is out there and beyond, too bad the rest of the film wasn’t as lavish. To me his best and creepiest film is The House By The Cemetery.

    Overall, not the horror extraordinaire people make it out to be, nor is it complete trash. The Beyond goes by its own beat and it’s as clear away from mainstream as one film can get. None of it was clear though and just got lost in its own spiral of wackiness, at the end all I was thinking was WTF did I just watched? 5.5 out of 10