Return To Earth Release Artwork & Track List for 'Automata' - Bloody Disgusting
Connect with us


Return To Earth Release Artwork & Track List for ‘Automata’



The Jersey-based alternative rock meets metal outfit RETURN TO EARTH are currently gearing up for the band’s upcoming release of Automata, which is due out in stores and online August 17. In honor of the band’s second full-length album and Metal Blade debut, RTE has just released the track listing and artwork for Automata and will be launching a redesign of the MySpace page tonight that includes the addition of the new track ‘Back Of My Hand’ in the music player. RTE’s aesthetic approach to the artwork emulates bands like TOOL and NINE INCH NAILS by creating a visual element that parallels and accentuates the music.


Helping RTE with their vision are Damien Serban and Yann Bertrand from Absinthe Studio in France (; two fans of the band that had reached out to vocalist Ron Scalzo with a short film they had put together. The short film Serban and Bertrand created was computer generated and trippy, and perhaps serendipitous in that it sort of vibed with the musical and lyrical themes of the album and the concept of Automata, itself. Noting the connection between the album’s lyrics and themes and the short film, RTE decided to reach out to the two French filmmakers to create a 60 second trailer for the new album. RTE sent Serban and Bertrand three songs from Automata along with a basic outline of the songs’ themes. Absinthe Studio’s vision – a giant mechanical cube (or polyhedron, for all you intellectuals out there) in the desert which opened up to reveal robotic machinery organically pumping to the rhythm of RTE’s songs, simultaneously meshed with images of distorted flesh and human body parts – was awe-inspiring and pretty much blew the band away. When it came time to put together the artwork with Bald Freak Music’s Head of Design John Bryan (, the band members all agreed that the ‘cube’ concept was “it” – that it best embodied the spirit of the music visually – that the cube and the mysterious power within it could be responsible for the blurry line between humanity and machinery that is a recurring theme of Automata.
Head over to the RTE’s MySpace page HERE to check out the redesign and to listen to the new track, Back Of My Hand.
Automata, in stores and online everywhere August 17th, 2010
Check out the trailers created by Serban and Bertrand from Absinthe Studio below 
Trailer #1 HERE
Trailer #2 (NEW) HERE
Automata track listing:
1. Automata
2. You Will Be Replaced
3. Back Of My Hand
4. 1.0
5. Edge Of Forever
6. Night Of The Exploding Razors
7. Snakeface
8. The Dots Do Not Connect
9. 2.0
10. The Replicas
11. So Close
12. God At The End Of The World
13. 3.0
14. Exit Wound
15. The Altercation Of Man


Click to comment