10 Comics To Feast On: March 14 2012

It’s another hearty week here at Comics To Feast On. It is seriously starting to feel like every week is just getting better. With all the new series popping up just in time for spring, it’s time to revise those pull lists and try out some new books. This week marks the triumphant return of Brian K. Vaughan with his new series, SAGA (buy it, buy it, buy it), the launch of Jimmy Palmiotti’s strange OGN CRAB QUEEN, plus the beginning of Ennis’ new CROSSED storyline. Like I said, it’s a big week so get stoked. Read on for the skinny…

With the ever-increasing number of books coming out between the tie-ins, the crossovers, and the new series, we’ve got to limit our lists for the week somehow. We present you with our ten most anticipated books of the week. So feast your eyes on these! Whether you’ve been into comics since you were a young’un, or you’re new to the game, we’re here to help you decide which books to pick up. If I’ve missed something you’re stoked about, list it in the comments.

saga1cover badlands1cc

Saga #1

saga1cover

WRITTEN BY: Brian K. Vaughan
ART BY: Fiona Staples
PUBLISHER: Image
PRICE: $2.99

The Low Down: “Y: THE LAST MAN writer BRIAN K. VAUGHAN returns to comics with red-hot artist FIONA STAPLES for an all-new ONGOING SERIES! Star Wars-style action collides with Game of Thrones-esque drama in this original sci-fi/fantasy epic for mature readers, as new parents Marko and Alana risk everything to raise their child amidst a never-ending galactic war. The adventure begins in a spectacular DOUBLE-SIZED FIRST ISSUE, with forty-four pages of story with no ads for the regular price of just $2.99!”

The Feast: If you buy one book, and only one book this week, you better make sure that book is Saga. Brian K. Vaughan is an absolute beast (the mind behind Y: The Last Man and Ex Machina). Now he brings you an all-new space epic like no other. Forget Star Wars, forget Firefly, and make way for the new kid on the block, Saga.

Crossed: Badlands #1

badlands1cc

WRITTEN BY: Garth Ennis
ART BY: Jacen Burrows
PUBLISHER: Avatar
PRICE: $3.99

The Low Down: “The year of the Crossed begins this March 14th on ‘C-Day’, the date the infection spreads and this new ongoing series launches! Since its inception, Garth Ennis’ Crossed has captured the imagination of horror fans. The vicious and merciless world of the Crossed has pushed hardcore horror storytelling to the brink and now with the release of Crossed: Badlands, it goes beyond. Join us as the original Crossed creative team returns! Garth Ennis launches the all-new ongoing BI-WEEKLY series with the fellow horror luminary, artist Jacen Burrows. What is to follow is nothing short of ground breaking survival horror at its best and most frightening. Even better, a new issue will be coming out every 2 weeks! Picture the cruelest affronts to decency. Conjure your darkest nightmares… and then realize it could all be so much worse. When civilization crumbles in one terrifying moment; when people are gleefully breaking into unthinkable acts of violence all around you; when everyone you love has died screaming in agony: What do you do? There is no help. There is no hope. There is no escape. There is only the Crossed. Available with a Regular, Wraparound, Torture, and special Red Crossed Incentive cover by series artist Jacen Burrows.”

The Feast: Ennis’s Crossed is one of the most f#cked up books out there. It’s vile, disgusting, grotesque, and completely insane. What’s not to love? With every chapter, this title just keeps getting better and we’re excited to see just how messed up the new Badlands arc will be.

Saucer Country #1

saucercountry1cov

WRITTEN BY: Paul Cornell
ART BY: Ryan Kelly
PUBLISHER: Vertigo
PRICE: $2.99

The Low Down: “Arcadia Alvarado, the leading Democratic candidate for President of the United States, says she was “abducted by aliens.”
As the Mexican-American Governor of New Mexico, she’s dealing with immigration, budget cuts and an alcoholic ex. She’s about to toss her hat into the ring as a candidate for President in the most volatile political climate ever.
But then…a lonely road and a nightmarish encounter have left her with terrible, half-glimpsed memories. And now she has to become President. To expose the truth– and maybe, to save the world.

Arcadia’s quest is at the heart of this new monthly series from writer Paul Cornell (DEMON KNIGHTS, ACTION COMICS, Doctor Who) and artist Ryan Kelly (NEW YORK FIVE, NORTHLANDERS). With the help of her quirky staff, Arcadia will pursue the truth of her abduction into danger, mystery and awe. SAUCER COUNTRY is a dark thriller that blends UFO lore and alien abduction with political intrigue, all set in the hauntingly beautiful Southwest.”

The Feast: I’ve always felt like there’s been a severe lack of great alien/conspiracy theory comics, and finally Vertigo is addressing that need. Paul Cornell and Ryan Kelly are teaming up to deliver a new political sci-fi thriller that crosses Ex Machina with The X-Files. If you miss agent Mulder half as much as I do, you’ll be beaming when you read Saucer Country

Queen Crab HC

queencrab1

WRITTEN BY: Jimmy Palmiotti
ART BY: Artiz Eiguren and Sas Christian
PUBLISHER: Image
PRICE: $12.99

The Low Down: “In the tradition of David Lynch and Stephen King comes the story of a young woman dealing with the insanity of the world around her. Meet Ginger, a twenty-something office girl that lives her life one boring day at a time until on her wedding night, her new husband tries to kill her…and it goes horribly wrong. This is a story of revenge, lust, violence and insanity brought to you by JIMMY PALMIOTTI (Jonah Hex, Painkiller Jane) and featuring the art of ARTIZ EIGUREN, as well as a cover by award winning illustrator SAS CHRISTIAN.”

The Feast: Any book that is described as being “in the tradition of David Lynch and Stephen King” is worth a look. Expect this original graphic novel to be weird, wild, and uncomfortable at times. Following the story of a girl, her crab hands, and her quest for vengeance, Queen Crab will undoubtedly be an absurdist dream.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 9 #7

buffy971

WRITTEN BY: Andrew Chambliss
ART BY: Georges Jeanty and Michelle Madsen
PUBLISHER: Dark Horse
PRICE: $2.99

The Low Down: “Still seeking normalcy in the midst of zompire-stricken San Francisco, Buffy contemplates a life-changing decision the likes of which few Slayers have ever faced. Meanwhile Spike rushes to the aid of Detective Dowling, who’s in over his head with his recent investigation into the undead bloodsuckers plaguing the city.”

The Feast: Buffy is still in the midst of the biggest drama of her young life this issue, and things aren’t looking good for the slayer. As she sits in a stupor, pondering away, the world is going to hell, and fast. The dramatic twist has introduced a nice slow in pace for the series, but it’s only a matter of time before Buffy will have to pick up the stake again.

The Strain #4

strain4cover

WRITTEN BY: David Lapham
ART BY: Mike Huddleston
PUBLISHER: Dark Horse
PRICE: $3.50

The Low Down: “The first night has fallen, and pale creatures roam the streets as a dark shadow creeps over New York City. Dr. Ephraim Goodweather is no closer to solving the mystery behind these strange incidents, and-though he doesn’t know it-a new visitor to the city has arrived with plans to thwart his efforts even further!”

The Feast: I’m starting to wonder how Lapham is writing as many books as he is right now. Not only is he pumping out story after story, but he’s doing a heck-of-a job. Ephraim and the gang finally come face to face with the tongue suckers this week, and we’re betting it’ll up the action, really changing the pace of the story.

Batwoman #7

batwoman7

WRITTEN BY: J.H. Williams III and W. Haden Blackman
ART BY: Amy Reeder
PUBLISHER: DC
PRICE: $2.99

The Low Down: “Six lives on converging courses that will change them forever…Batwoman, in a hidden lair beneath Gotham Harbor, faces a horde of monsters inspired by urban legends led by Falchion, an evil mastermind. Jacob Kane waits in agony for some sign of life. Kate Kane tries to enjoy new romance as the werebeast Abbot begs for her help. Maro, an enigmatic wizard, evokes an evil that all children fear: their own reflections in a darkened mirror. Detective Maggie Sawyer is caught in a turf war between The Werebeast Cult and The Medusa Syndicate.DEO Agent Cameron Chase struggles with a new operative who refuses to be controlled.”

The Feast: As many of you heard, Williams III and Amy Reeder had a bit of a falling out this past week, and after issue #8, Reeder will no longer be on art duties. Putting that behind us for now, Batwoman is still an insanely good read. Beautiful art, a strong female lead, and a creepy storyline to boot.

Flashpoint: The World of Flashpoint featuring Batman TP

flashbat

WRITTEN BY: Various
ART BY: Various
PUBLISHER: DC
PRICE: $17.99

The Low Down: “Don’t miss this Batman volume collecting BATMAN: KNIGHT OF VENGEANCE #1-3, DEADMAN AND THE FLYING GRAYSONS #1- 3, DEATHSTROKE AND THE CURSE OF THE RAVAGER #1-3 and SECRET SEVEN #1-3.

Not a dream, not an imaginary story, not an elseworld. This is Flash Fact: When Barry Allen wakes at his desk, he discovers the world has changed. Family is alive, loved ones are strangers, and close friends are different, gone or worse. It’s a world on the brink of a cataclysmic war – but where are Earth’s Greatest Heroes to stop it?”

The Feast: Although Flashpoint was not the event everyone hoped it would be, there were still some hidden gems to be found amidst the rubble. Batman: Knight of Vengeance being one of those gems. Whether you’re new to DC or a long time fan, this alternate Batman history is a must-read. The Deadman/Dick Grayson mini-series wasn’t too shabby either.

Nancy In Hell On Earth #2 (of 4)

nancyinhell2

WRITTEN BY: El Torres
ART BY: Enrique Lorenzana
PUBLISHER: Image
PRICE: $3.99

The Low Down: “Sheltered in a jail, San Diego evacuees are visited by Angels. Lucifer has an strange relationship with the jail inmates. Nancy doesn’t like the words coming from Gabrielle the Archangel… is God really dead? Strange alliances are being sealed in the city tainted by the opened Gates of Hell!”

The Feast: She’s sexy and she slays demons in Daisy Duke’s. Fans of the Grindhouse films will really dig this book, and it’s only on issue #2, so it’s not too late to jump in (you may also want to pick up the first chapter of the series in trade form).

Punisher #9

punisher9

WRITTEN BY: Greg Rucka
ART BY: Marco Checchetto
PUBLISHER: Marvel
PRICE: $2.99

The Low Down: “The impenetrable tank of the Hijacker lays waste to New York. Frank Castle uncovers the history of his new assistant, Henry, (an origin guaranteed to astonish). Meanwhile, someone digs up the caskets of Castle’s family (that’s got to end badly).”

The Feast: Let me just say that the Punisher with a beard is awesome. Greg Rucka’s run has been fantastic so far, constantly pushing Frank Castle to his limits. If you’re planning on checking out the Daredevil/Spidey/Punisher crossover that is coming soon, you may as well start reading now.

Something I missed? Sound off in the comments or let me know on twitter: