Sony Pictures Acquires ‘The Ring’-Inspired ‘The Caller’

Sony Pictures Worldwide Acquisitions has nabbed North American rights to Matthew Parkhill’s supernatural ghost story The Caller, which was scripted by Sergio Casci and stars Rachelle Lefevre (“Twilight,” “New Moon”), Stephen Moyer (“True Blood”), Lorna Raver (“Drag Me to Hell”) and Luis Guzman (“The Taking of Pelham 1 2 3″).

When troubled divorcee, Mary Kee, begins to receive mysterious phone calls from an unknown caller she quickly begins to feel haunted in her own home. When she discovers that the person is calling from the past, Mary realises that she will have to kill her in order to survive but how do you kill someone living in the past and what will happen if she fails. From the director of the internationally acclaimed dot the i, Caller is a chilling supernatural thriller in the tradition of ‘The Grudge’ and ‘The Ring.’

Check out a still and art inside.
The Caller

The Caller