Advertisement

Darren Lynn Bousman Sells Untitled Conspiracy Pitch

After getting behind the camera for Saw II-IV, Repo! The Genetic Opera, Mother’s Day and 11-11-11, director Darren Lynn Bousman is taking his talents into the “thriller” genre selling an untitled pitch for a cerebral thriller to Andrew Adamson and Aron Warner’s Strange Weather Films shingle that is said to be “quite violent.”

Bousman also plans to produce and direct the project, a thriller in the vein of The Parallax View and The Firm involving flash mobs.

It’s exciting getting more back into creating my own material,” Bousman told BD. “This year I sold a monster script I wrote, ’11-11-11,’ and now this new project. I can’t say a lot about it – it’s not ‘horror’ per se – but more of a dark thriller.

He continues comparing it to classic conspiracy thrillers: “I love movies like ‘The Game, ‘ ‘The Firm,’ ‘The Star Chamber’, etc – films that live in paranoia and conspiracy. I have always been fascinated in what ‘evil’ people and corporations are capable of…” Juicy!

Bousman’s Mother’s Day is awaiting release. He currently is in post on 11-11-11, a religious horror that will take on the idea of 11 gates of Heaven and how on 11:11 on the 11th day of the 11th month, the 11th gate will open up and something from another world will enter the earthly realm for 49 minutes.