Within Temptation Announces Details For New Album 'Hyrda' Including Guess Appearance From Xzibit (No Joke) - Bloody Disgusting
Connect with us


Within Temptation Announces Details For New Album ‘Hyrda’ Including Guess Appearance From Xzibit (No Joke)



Dutch symphonic rockers Within Temptation have unveiled tons of details about their upcoming sixth studio album Hydra, which will be released in early 2014 via Nuclear Blast Entertainment. The album will feature guest appearances from ex-Killswitch Engage singer Howard Jones, ex-Nightwish vocalist Tarja Turunen, rapper Xzibit, and Soul Asylum singer Dave Pirner.

Asked to describe Xzibit’s performance on the song “And We Run”, guitarist Robert Westerholt states, “Xzibit is amazing. This song is about how you’ve got to live your life now. He’s rapping at full force on this song. It’s really heavy.” Singer Sharon den Adel adds, “Xzibit brings a new element to our music that we’ve never had before! It’s a new cross-over and we love it!

Sharon comments on the appearance by Turunen, saying, “The way she delivers those high melody lines left us all speechless. We had a great time, and the fans responded beyond our expectations.

Den Adel adds more about Jones’s appearance on “Dangerous”: “I always loved Howard’s voice. He makes the song even heavier than it already is. That song is one of my favorite songs on the record and one of the fastest we’ve ever written. It has the most bass drums we’ve ever used, too, and a very fast riff which we doubled with synths. It’s not a typical synthesizer, though – it’s distorted like a guitar, and it’s very aggressive.

“Whole World Is Watching” features Soul Asylum’s singer Dave Pirner. The band comments, “When we wrote ‘Whole World Is Watching,’ Dave was at the very top of our list. He has such a captivating voice: it made the song exactly how it needed to be.

Head on below for a teaser trailer, track list, and edition information.

Hydra editions:
· Limited Deluxe Box Set (LP-sized box, 2 CD/18-tracks + bonus tracks, digi-book with foil print cover, 100 page booklet, double gatefold black vinyl LP, instrumental version of the album, collector’s guitar pick, song book + sheet music)
· Digital Premium Album – exclusive iTunes edition (18 tracks with digi-booklet, audio commentary, and Paradise [What About Us?] music video)
· Special Edition 2-CD
· Double-vinyl LP
· Jewel-case CD

Hydra track list:
01 – Let Us Burn
02 – Dangerous featuring Howard Jones
03 – And We Run featuring Xzibit
04 – Paradise (What About Us?) featuring Tarja
05 – Edge Of The World
06 – Silver Moonlight
07 – Covered By Roses
08 – Dog Days
09 – Tell Me Why
10 – Whole World Is Watching featuring Dave Pirner

Got any thoughts/questions/concerns for Jonathan Barkan? Shoot him a message on Twitter or on Bloody-Disgusting!


Click to comment