The 2013 Ghastly Award Winners Announced! - Bloody Disgusting
Connect with us


The 2013 Ghastly Award Winners Announced!



After a few weeks of fan and creator voting, the winners for the 2013 Ghastly Awards have been announced! “Afterlife with Archie” picked up three awards, including Best Ongoing Title, while “Locke & Key” picked up two, including Best Writer. This is a solid list of fantastic horror titles from the past year, each of which deserve to be recognized for bringing a little more terror into our lives. If you haven’t checked out these titles, you’re missing out. Check out the full list of winners below.

The Ghastly Award Judges are proud to announce the Winners of the 2013 Ghastly Awards. The Ghastly Award Judges chose the nominees from the books submitted by Comic Creators and Publishers throughout 2013. Winners were chosen by the Judges, Comic Book Creators and the Fans. The Ghastly Judicial Panel congratulates all 2013 Winners and Nominees. It is an honor to be recognized by your fellow professionals for such outstanding work in horror comics.

The 2013 Winners are:

Best Ongoing Title:
Afterlife with Archie (Archie Comics)

Best Mini-Series:
Locke & Key: Omega (IDW Publishing)

Best One-Shot:
Edgar Allan Poe: The Raven & The Red Death (Dark Horse)

Best New Series:
(Fan Voting Decided the Winner):
Afterlife with Archie (Archie Comics)

Best Anthology:
Bloke’s Terrible Tomb of Terror (Independent)

Best OGN:
Hellboy: The Midnight Circus (Dark Horse)

Best Archival Collection:
Steve Ditko Monsters Vol. 1: Gorgo (IDW Publishing/Yoe Books)

Best Writer:
Joe Hill (Locke & Key: Omega)

Best Artist:
Richard Corben (Edgar Allan Poe’s: The Raven and the Red Death)

Best Inker:
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)

Best Letterer:
Clem Robins (B.P.R.D., Baltimore, Hellboy in Hell, The Strain)

Best Colorist:
Francesco Francavilla (Afterlife with Archie)

Best Web Comic:
The Last Halloween (

Hall of Fame Inductees:
Gene Colan
Archie Goodwin


Click to comment