Exclusive Look at Arrow's 'The Slayer' Needs a Companion - Bloody Disgusting
Connect with us


Exclusive Look at Arrow’s ‘The Slayer’ Needs a Companion



In about a week and a half Arrow Video will release The Slayer, an early 80’s slasher that genre fans have been dying to get their hands on. After wasting away in obscurity for a number of years slasher fans will now be able to enjoy the classic from director J.S. Cardone in a brand new 4k transfer.

To help whet your appetite and hold you over until the official August 29th release date we’ve got an exclusive clip from the new release courtesy of Arrow. Here a lonely fisherman looking for a companion gets a little more than he bargained for!

IS IT A NIGHTMARE? OR IS IT… THE SLAYER? One of the most sought-after titles for slasher fans everywhere, The Slayer finally rises from the ashes of obscurity in a brand new 4K transfer courtesy of Arrow Video. Two young couples set off to a secluded island for what promises to be a restful retreat. But the peace is short-lived: as a storm batters the island, troubled artist Kay begins to sense that a malevolent presence is here with them, stalking them at every turn. Is she losing her mind, or are her childhood nightmares of a demonic assailant coming to terrifying life? Previously only available on home video in truncated or fullscreen versions, The Slayer – whose nightmares-seeping-into-reality theme predates a certain Wes Craven classic by several years – comes lovingly restored from the original negative in a stunning transfer that will be a revelation to fans both old and new.

Bonus Material:
-Brand new restoration from a 4K scan of the original negative
-High Definition Blu-ray (1080p) and Standard Definition DVD presentations
-Original Uncompressed Mono Audio
-Optional English subtitles for the deaf and hard of hearing
-Brand new interviews with cast and crew
-Original Theatrical Trailer
-Reversible sleeve featuring original and newly commissioned artwork by Justin Osbourn
-FIRST PRESSING ONLY: Collector’s booklet featuring new liner notes by writer Lee Gambin