2012 Joe Shuster Award Winners Announced! - Bloody Disgusting
Connect with us


2012 Joe Shuster Award Winners Announced!



This past weekend, Montreal Comiccon was the platform for the 2012 Joe Shuster Awards, honoring excellence from Canadian cartoonists and comic books creators (there are more than you might think). The show took place on Saturday evening at the con, bringing together Canadian comic book creators, cartoonists, and web comic creators. Among those present were Ty Templeton, Yanick Paquette, Salgood Sam, Marco Rudy, Kelly Tindall, and plenty others. Both Jeff Lemire and Yanick Paquette were nominated for a handful of awards but surprisingly left empty handed. For the full list of nominees check out the Joe Shuster Award website. Below you will find the list of winners and their respective categories.

Outstanding Comic Book Cover Artist
Francois Lapierre for Chroniques Sauvages

The Gene Day Award for Self-Publishers
Dakota McFadzean for Ghost Rabbit

The Dragon Award – Comics for Kids
Ariane et Nicolas for Tome 6: Les Toiles Mysterieuses

Outstanding Web Comics Creator
Emily Carroll for Margot’s Room

Outstanding Comic Book Writer
Kurtis J. Wiebe for Green Wake, The Intrepids, and Marvel Holiday Special 2011

Outstanding Comic Book Artist
Stuart Immonen for Fear Itself #1-7, X-Men: To Serve and Protect 4, Outlaw Territory Vol.2

Outstanding Comic Book Cartoonist
Ramón K Pérez for Tale of Sand

The Harry Kremer Award for Outstanding Comic Book Retailer
Silver Snail from Toronto

Congratulations to all the winners!


Click to comment