Combichrist Releasing 'Making Monsters' Sept. 28th - Bloody Disgusting
Connect with us


Combichrist Releasing ‘Making Monsters’ Sept. 28th



Metropolis recording artists Combichrist are gearing up for the release of Making Monsters on September 28, 2010. Recorded in Totprod Studios in Atlanta, GA and produced by Andy LaPlegua (also the mastermind behind the band), their fifth studio album takes the band beyond the aggressive techno and electro rhythms and propels them into much more primal and raw territory. “It’s beyond my personal demons, and extremely honest,” says LaPlegua.
Kicking off with the ominous and foreboding “Declamation”, Making Monsters is a journey deep within the reaches of the mind of LaPlegua, who spent the last year, deep in introspection, as he toured four full months in Europe with Rammstein in front of hundreds of thousands of people. Diving deep into the darkest corners of his mind, he’s created an album devoid of pretension and conscious thought. Fueled by expressions of lust, anger, pain and hate, Making Monsters is the sound of LaPlegua ripping out his heart and plugging its still-beating deathkicks into his music, rife with hook-heavy choruses, speaker-crushing beats, and dark aggressive vocals. The first single “Never Surrender” is bound to rule the dance floors along with other floor stompers “They” and “Throat Full of Glass”. The baretoothed aggression of “Follow the Trail of Blood” (featuring Brendan Schiepatti of Bleeding Through) will immediately become a crowd favorite while the brooding “Through These Eyes of Pain” takes a much subtler approach and shows us another side of Combichrist, that of the man inside the monster.

Track Listing:
1. Declamation
2. Follow The Trail Of Blood
3. Never Surrender
4. Throat Full of Glass
5. Forgotten
6. Fuck Machine
7. Just Like Me
8. Slave To Machine
9. Through These Eyes Of Pain
10. Monster: Murder: Kill
11. They
12. Reclamation
Starting off in the dark metal and hardcore soul of Norway, Andy LaPlegua led a few seminal bands in the Norwegian underground (including the influential Icon of Coil) before fusing electronics and dance beats and forming Combichrist in 2003 and releasing their incredibly well-respected debut The Joy of Gunz (2003). The two following albums – Everybody Hates You and What The F*&$ Is Wrong With You People? – witnessed the band’s evolution and were described as “a journey through hell and high water, through the eyes of a serial killer, sex, violence and plenty of Jack Daniels on ice.”
Their acclaimed last album Today We Are All Demons witnessed Combichrist expanding their audience and infiltrating the mainstream. Their first single from that album “Sent to Destroy” and its EP debuted on Billboard’s Top Singles Chart at #8 and the Dance Chart at #5 and remained there for over ten weeks. “Never Surrender,” the new single from Making Monsters, will undoubtedly have a similar breakthrough story.
With a tour being planned for the Fall 2010, Combichrist’s much lauded and respected live shows are, as Crypt Magazine describes, “known for tons of energy, blood, and a rock n’ roll attitude.” BlogCritics also warns it’s “not for the faint of heart – you wouldn’t bring your grandmother to this show.”
Making Monsters will be released via Metropolis Records physically on September 28, 2010 (digital release is slated for August 31, 2010). A national tour will be announced shortly.

Managing editor/music guy/social media fella of Bloody-Disgusting


Click to comment