Let the Right One In (V)

2151-poster
release date March 10 2009
studio Magnolia Pictures/Magnet releasing
director Tomas Alfredson
writer John Ajvide Lindqvist
starring Kare Hedebrant, Lina Leandersson, Per Ragnar, Henrik Dahl, Karin Bergquist, Peter Carlberg, Ika Nord, Mikael Rahm, Karl-Robert Lindgren, Patrik Rydmark
rating
R
site lettherightoneinmovie.com
trailer 1 Trailer #1

152 comments

  1. Avatar of uhakid07
    Posted By uhakid07 on October 25, 2008 @ 6:16 pm

    perfect in every way.. not a horror movie though

  2. Avatar of Morefunthanastick
    Posted By Morefunthanastick on October 27, 2008 @ 11:42 pm

    Going to see it tonight, cant wait! I’m glad we have time to spend at the movies whil we’re out here in California. They aren’t playing it in arizon =/

    Hoping for a 10!

  3. Avatar of gaz46andtwo
    Posted By gaz46andtwo on November 4, 2008 @ 5:03 am

    I really liked this movie!! Very well done!! It was almost refreshing….

  4. Avatar of navyblues
    Posted By navyblues on November 7, 2008 @ 7:48 pm

    i really loved this movie. i saw it last night and it has stuck with me all day. an interesting thought though:

    most reviewers and synopsis writers are calling the ill fated old man/killer Eli’s father. i don’t know that it ever, in fact, identifies him as such.

    *kind of a spoiler*

    Eli says she’s been “12 for a really long time”. i’d me more inclined to think, and i think the films suggests, that this is perhaps another boy who fell in love with Eli a long time ago and, as he protected and provided for her, grew old as she stayed young. that’s just the impression that i got, which really makes the story even sadder. thoughts?

  5. Avatar of ironlung
    Posted By ironlung on November 8, 2008 @ 1:35 pm

    this is a great movie. I don’t want to go into details, just watch it and you will simply enjoy it.

    ***spoiler***

    I agree with navyblues’s opinion concerning the guy who provides blood for Eli. It can be a guy, who fell in love with her. I’ve got to check out the book, maybe it does shed some light on this fact.

    ***end of spoiler***

    all in all, one of the best movies of 2008

  6. Avatar of Ryan Daley
    Posted By Ryan Daley on November 9, 2008 @ 8:33 am

    A brilliant vampire film. It’s exactly the kind of movie that Stephanie Meyers fans would love if Stephanie Meyers fans were ever smart enough to explore intelligent vampire cinema.

  7. Avatar of blackbird
    Posted By blackbird on November 10, 2008 @ 12:26 am

    I absolutely loved this movie. It makes vampires much cooler than anything Stephanie Meyer did with Twatlght.

  8. Avatar of turtlenipple
    Posted By turtlenipple on November 10, 2008 @ 12:12 pm

    Fucking beautiful is all you can really say. This is a bleak and beautiful film.
    The way they portrayed what happens when a vampire walks in uninvited was amazing.
    I usually really dislike child actors but these youngens seemed to just right.

    loved it.

  9. Avatar of downward_spiral
    Posted By downward_spiral on November 10, 2008 @ 11:09 pm

    Great movie. One of the best vampire movies ive ever seen. I never thought little kid actors could give such a great performance. If you dont like reading subtitles then dont bother. Awesome movie. It was like you were watching a moving piece of art.

  10. Avatar of KingOfHorror
    Posted By KingOfHorror on November 12, 2008 @ 1:00 am

    The Best New Vampire Movie I,ve seen in Ages! Eli and Oscar give mindblowing performances! But have to say cat attack scene is my Favorite! Yes its subtitled but it adds to films mysterious feel! Ending seems set up for sequel hopefully makes money on this original! So next one will have bigger budget! Simply Fantastic!

  11. Avatar of CrittersWrangler01
    Posted By CrittersWrangler01 on November 13, 2008 @ 1:43 am

    holy crap!! this is the greatest vampire movie ever. If you haven’t seen this one yet then you need to find it a.s.a.p!! because your missing out!

  12. Avatar of boralyl
    Posted By boralyl on November 15, 2008 @ 3:46 am

    I was a little let down by the film. To be fair I read the novel first, so going into the movie I was expecting a lot, and obviously it wouldn’t be possible to put every detail into the movie. However, I believe there were some key details left out. I don’t want to give out any spoilers but there are some very important items that are never addressed, and even other characters who play a pretty big part in the novel that are never introducded.

    In the novel the “father” figure plays a much more crucial role, and I believe that it should have been part of the film, because it adds more tension and suspense near the climax. Since it is never answered in the movie I don’t think this is a spoiler, but Eli’s “father” figure isn’t her dad. He’s actually a pedophile. In return for getting blood, Eli let’s him feel touch her.

    Even though I think it is missing a lot of key elements, I still think the acting was very well down, especially for children. There were also a few pretty cool scenes like the hospital and the cats.

    It’s certainly worth a watch, but if you want a better story with more action and answers read the book.

  13. Avatar of TOMGATT
    Posted By TOMGATT on November 23, 2008 @ 9:37 pm

    The year 2008 can be labeled as the year of the vampire. By far the most popular entry into the genre has been Catherine Hardwicke’s adaption of Stephenie Meyer’s first installment of the Twilight series. Booming on HBO has been the new series True Blood, an adaption of Chatherine Harris’ Southern Vampire series. Even the CW’s underrated Supernatural has had a number of episodes dedicated to the phenomenon that is the vampire genre. Now comes a Swedish import titled Let the Right One In, and low and behold it’s more significant, and more ground breaking than any of the products I have just put forth. It’s a gem in the rough for the horror genre, and just about any movie that has come out this year.

    Let the Right One In, an adaption of the John Ajivide Lindqvist novel of the same name, unfolds as a traditional coming of age story centered around the troubled 12 year old Oskar. Oskar’s life seems as if it’s a living hell. He’s ignored, more or less, by his mother at home, his father doesn’t seem to want him, and he’s bullied at school on a timely basis. Sounds familiar? Here’s where it takes a dramatic turn into the supernatural. Oskar soon befriends Eli, a 12 year old girl who just moved into the apartment next to his. Within a couple of conversations and a unique focal point surrounding a Rubik’s cube, these two become quick best friends. However, little does Oskar know that the new pal he just made is none other than a blood drinking vampire who’s been committing murders all over the town with the help of her loyal, but seemingly helpless father.

    Tomas Alfredson does a terrific job of capturing the characterization of Eli and her father. At first, we see Eli sort of yelling and barking orders at her father for his incompetence regarding the collection of human blood. Should we be rooting for or against this character? But little by little we see a close father/daughter relationship unravel, and the film becomes even more thought provoking as it moves along. The horror segments are fast, taking your breath away as you witness this little 12 year old girl do unspeakable acts, breaking the innocence of our young 12 year old lead as he watches with horror and shock. Let the Right One In grounds itself in reality, echoing Del Toro’s fantasy epic Pans Labyrinth which broke the ground for fantasy/fairy tale films for the rest of time. The horror segments are to be taken serious because of this quality trait Alfredson decided to adopt.

    The acting here is top-notch, with Lina Leandersson giving the best performance as the young vampire Eli. Solid performances from the rest of cast bumps the film’s reality trait into the upper stratosphere, exceeding expectations in my book. The cinematography and score is literally chilling, set against the backdrop of a wintry Blackeberg. Their has been a little debate over the film’s ending by some of the few haters behind the film. I believe the ending to be extremely thought provoking, glancing back at the films various themes.

    The sweet childhood relationship put forth echoes back to a fantasy film I love called Bridge to Terabithia. Though Bridge isn’t as adult oriented or ground-breaking, the relationship between the two leads are quite similar. In this vampire film, Oskar is given helpful advice by Eli, making him mature and grow up right before our eyes. Eli, dealing with immense issues of her own, gives Oskar the opportunity of a lifetime..to have a friend. In Bridge, Leslie does the same for Jess, minus the blood sucking and mass genocide of course. I encourage everyone reading this review to visit Bridge to Terabithia or revisit it. They’re of different genres but the relationship between the two films’ leads provides a touching tale of coming of age and haunting life realities.

    On a side note I can’t help but notice how terrific films have been when they center around children dealing with real issues and adult oriented themes. In 2007 we saw Bridge to Terabithia touch screens, displaying natural performances grounded in reality and fantasy. Mean Creek is another film that comes to my mind that deals with adolescent kids coming of age as they try to cope with an unspeakable crime they themselves have committed. And finally, this year’s WALL-E, though not centered around kids but a robot, shoots for a children demographic but to my surprise and to everyone else, excels into masterpiece territory touching delicate themes like consumerism, materialism, and environmentalism. Let the Right One In, shining through a sweet, yet horrifying relationship between a 12 year old boy and a 12 year old vampire girl, is undoubtedly one of the best films of 2008.

  14. Avatar of Angel-of-the-living-dead
    Posted By Angel-of-the-living-dead on December 12, 2008 @ 11:54 pm

    beautiful thats what this movie is, it sucks that there remaking it. every thing about it is awsome =]
    just don’t watch the trailer too much or it’s going to give away alot of good scenes

  15. Avatar of wolves-ate-the-king
    Posted By wolves-ate-the-king on December 13, 2008 @ 10:54 pm

    just saw this movie. very good movie, it is also a quite movie. this movie is well thought out and well crafted. didn’t turn out like i thought but that is okay

  16. Avatar of Evil-Alien
    Posted By Evil-Alien on January 5, 2009 @ 5:00 am

    I really appreciated the ample amount of “gray” moral area in the narrative! Beautifully shot and the two lead actors are amazing (especially considering their age). This is what more horror SHOULD look like…please g-d, don’t let this get remade by Americans as they are just too pansy-assed to do it right. amen. ;-)

  17. Avatar of jula
    Posted By jula on January 5, 2009 @ 5:41 am

    good movie,but boring.

  18. Avatar of randomrick
    Posted By randomrick on March 10, 2009 @ 4:55 pm

    a slow burn but perfection in every way one of the best of 2008 for sure…i was truely amazed!

  19. Avatar of flesheater123
    Posted By flesheater123 on March 11, 2009 @ 4:49 am

    This was one of the best vampire movies along with blade, interview, and 30 days. It’s very slow going, so let that be known. But the scenes with Oskar and Eli are just so beautiful. The gore is placed along very nicely and comes when needed. And believe me when it’s needed it’s insane. I wasn’t expecting some things. And I actually almost cried in some scenes. I hope Drew doesn’t fuck this movie up when he remakes it. And I can’t wait to see the other films in the 6 shooter series. Timecrimes, eden log, big man japan, special, and donkey punch, all look truly amazing too.

    And everything was just so perfect in this movie. I watched the dubbed version because my TV was cutting off the words. It took awhile for me to get use to it, but I did, and it didn’t take away from the movie at all. My only problem was that Oskar looked so much like a freakin girl. It was annoying me. But please see this movie. Even if your not a fan of vampire movies still see it. It has nothing to do with that. It’s more of the love, and how far you’ll go to be with that person.

    All this isn’t really a horror movie at all. It’s more towards the drama field.

  20. Avatar of JohnnyHorror30
    Posted By JohnnyHorror30 on March 11, 2009 @ 5:50 am

    One of the best vampire movies ever made! It is more of a story mixed very well with some vampire horror and gore, the mood of this movie reminded me alot like how carrie was many years ago. Theres not alot out there better then let the right one in, this truly was an epic story of vampires.

  21. Avatar of Barfneck
    Posted By Barfneck on March 11, 2009 @ 8:24 am

    A great original film. Yes, I said original. I typically think vampires are incredibly lame. But this film was great. While watching this I couldn’t see how they’d do an American remake of this film. A lot will be lost in the remake. Much like Rec was light years more effective than the big budget Quarantine disaster. Did anyone else see the resemblance of the villain’s in this film to the bullies in A Christmas Story?

  22. Avatar of showmebloodfers
    Posted By showmebloodfers on March 13, 2009 @ 6:28 pm

    this movie was shot incredibly well and the mood was pretty somber throughout. some scenes were badass (bursting into flames and the pool scene) but i think i was expecting something a bit different from what i got. maybe thats why i didnt enjoy it as much as you guys. i thought it was good but i wouldnt call it the best vampire movie in decades…overall i recommend it but not too enthusiastically.

  23. Avatar of zensign87
    Posted By zensign87 on March 13, 2009 @ 7:49 pm

    great movie, beautifully shot and amazingly acted. but DONT watched it dubbed, the voice over actors are horrible and it really took me out of the movie, i change to subtitles and it was a much better experience.

  24. Avatar of goooore
    Posted By goooore on March 14, 2009 @ 5:47 am

    beautifully shot, beautiful story, great acting, i love it. sure, it may not be as fast-paced as other horrors, but this is a vampire/love story. I really didn’t expect to see a 2-hour bloodbath.

  25. Avatar of Ambushjake
    Posted By Ambushjake on March 16, 2009 @ 5:32 am

    Great movie. I wish there was a sequel just to keep my interest going. If Hollywood insists on doing a remake they better not mess it up. They do it all the time so I am very worried. Watch this movie with an open mind and it will surprise you. Going to buy the book tomorrow!

  26. Avatar of smboylan
    Posted By smboylan on March 16, 2009 @ 5:48 pm

    a remake of this film by hollywood would be tragic! this was an absolutely beautiful film

  27. Avatar of Macabron
    Posted By Macabron on March 17, 2009 @ 5:55 pm

    Atmosphere, story and setting…elements that current Hollywood horror lacks. XLNT movie.

  28. Avatar of Infectedunicorn
    Posted By Infectedunicorn on March 19, 2009 @ 6:11 pm

    I loved the book and when i heard they were going to make a film of it i was thrilled. But i was really disapointed! There are so many important things that you don’t get to know in the film. Things that makes whole story.

    It’s booring and slow and the acters are so bad. Im from sweden so i speak swedish and the way they talk are just embarasing. I wish i had never wasted the time to watch it. I hated it! The only good thing is the enviroment that it’s shot in.

  29. Avatar of mein.herz.ist.wahr
    Posted By mein.herz.ist.wahr on March 19, 2009 @ 7:47 pm

    what a beautiful film.
    i am not looking forward to the american remake whatsoever.

  30. Avatar of Psycho78
    Posted By Psycho78 on March 19, 2009 @ 8:47 pm

    This movie was down right horrible. I was excited to see it and was completely shit on. This movie was soo fucking boring and and lacked anything actually appealing. i want my 2 hrs back! The only thing that was remotely good was the dude falling off the building or the ending scene. I recommend fast forwarding till the end..you’ll save alot of time.

  31. Avatar of gorypass
    Posted By gorypass on March 19, 2009 @ 11:53 pm

    If this movie is remade forget it crap is what it will be, I feel this was a slow movie and I was confused with some areas of it but it wasn’t a typical type of vampire film. I hated how the English voices sounded I think it should of let the subtitles run instead. so if people are expecting gory and fast action this is not the one to see.

  32. Avatar of PaulZombie
    Posted By PaulZombie on March 21, 2009 @ 4:51 am

    I wouldn’t call this movie a horror film; however genre is irrelevant in this case. If you’re a die hard horror buff then be warned, this isn’t horror or a thriller.
    With my little disclaimer out of the way let’s get to this. Let the Right One In is a beautiful film. I viewed the movie with English subtitles. This was the first feature I could actually read, follow and view at the same time. This was possible because the movie is slow. I think the pacing fits the mood and feel of the movie however it dose drag at times. This movie is about two hours long, about 30 minuets longer than it should. I think better editing could have chopped appropriate time from some parts. I understand that this movie was a book and I see the directors need to fit as much of the book in and I commend that. Most directors cut too much plot out, I think this hit the key points. That’s about all you can ask for. Translating pen and paper to audio and video is no small task.
    I really enjoyed this movie. It was very solid from the shooting, effects and acting. All the kids in this film were amazing! I see no need for an American remake, why remake an already amazing flick?
    -Zombie

  33. Avatar of xln10
    Posted By xln10 on March 21, 2009 @ 7:43 pm

    Let The Right One In was an amazing film. I don’t think there should be a Hollywood remake though, it will probably be really bad. This is truely one of the best vampire movies I have ever seen.

  34. Avatar of The-Brazen-Bull
    Posted By The-Brazen-Bull on March 23, 2009 @ 3:30 pm

    Very well told story. Not for someone looking for an action packed film or a gorefest. Definitely for someone looking for an interesting story and a different spin on the vampire films.

  35. Avatar of AvoidTheCheese
    Posted By AvoidTheCheese on March 30, 2009 @ 12:01 am

    Forget “Twilight”! This is what’s going on in the world of vampires! This was a huge breath of nice fresh cold air! I embraced every aspect of this movie. It was cold, sweet, freaky, with odd-ball kid lovers, and left you wanting to see more of this beautiful thing. This is truly, from my twisted and happy heart, the best vampire movie ever made. My guess is that it will be awhile before there’s another movie like this one, so love it, the way I did, and I’m sure you will too.

  36. Avatar of BitterSweet
    Posted By BitterSweet on April 5, 2009 @ 4:34 pm

    This is a fantastic genre defying exercise in the horror genera. With its minimalistic approach and its brilliant pacing this movie offers more than just cheap scares. One of the greatest strengths this movie has is how visceral it feels. The movie offers a breath of fresh air to the horror genera, focusing more on story telling aspect and chilling settings rather than cheap thrills.

    This cinematic gem is definitely a genre masterpiece and should be hailed as one as it is a great achievement. Showing that horror movies do not have to be dumb, gory flicks with not story to them.

    J.A.G

  37. Avatar of noose_and_nail
    Posted By noose_and_nail on April 10, 2009 @ 8:26 pm

    A beautiful, poetic, moving piece of work. I love revenge stories to begin with and this one just took first place.

  38. Avatar of JonnyRotten
    Posted By JonnyRotten on April 14, 2009 @ 2:49 pm

    First off I loved the movie. I have never read the book so i”m not sure if it talks about the man who provides the blood for her. In the movie though it provided an opertunity for you to provide your own opinion. Depending on what you thought about that charachter your views on the whole movie could be completely different. If this was a boy who she met when he was young she sure doesnt seem to have the same affection for him that she shows for oskar. Perhaps she just sees vulnerability in Oskar and is using her friendship to lure him in to a lifetime of servatude. Thats what I saw. Not a sweet love story but a very crafty vampire that used her appearence to lure in an easy target. Great movie!!!!!! The setting of the film really provided an added deminsion too. Since this was a place that is so foreign to me, it made the seem more believable

  39. Avatar of timeca23
    Posted By timeca23 on April 14, 2009 @ 11:05 pm

    Not too bad, but boring at times. Should have had more back story for the main characters. I guess you have to read the book. Too many unanswered questions for a 2 hour long movie.

  40. Avatar of fenderxx
    Posted By fenderxx on April 17, 2009 @ 3:56 am

    Fresh. Exciting. Beautifully shot. Not your average blood and guts but definitely worth the watch

  41. Avatar of sweetestsadist
    Posted By sweetestsadist on April 17, 2009 @ 10:11 am

    This was a pretty good flick. Not as good as the hype, but when your only other option for Vampire movies are “Twilight” and “40 Days of Night” the sangrophage group is going to see this as a breath of fresh air.

    The kid in the film, though not without drama, is a calculated killer. People are just tools for survival to her and that’s the way any vampire who wants to live is going to think. The denouement of the film was an extremely cool scene.

    One thing though, do not watch this film in the dubbed version. The voice acting is the worst I’ve seen since “Hercules goes to New York”.

  42. Avatar of rogue
    Posted By rogue on April 20, 2009 @ 2:21 am

    second best movie ever made.

  43. Avatar of akazandr
    Posted By akazandr on April 20, 2009 @ 5:52 am

    This is a beautiful film. It is slow paced, but there are some great moments in it. It’s the kind of movie that stays with you for a while after watching it. Definitely check it out.

  44. Avatar of civilmaggot
    Posted By civilmaggot on April 20, 2009 @ 10:26 pm

    best vampire flick ive seen in a while. let the right one in is a damn good film.

  45. Avatar of ugapuppy
    Posted By ugapuppy on April 28, 2009 @ 8:17 am

    This is a great film. Interesting characters, interesting story, and interesting themes. Parts of the film made me uncomfortable and that is where the movie gets you. It is not scary per se, but the movie will remain with you long after the end titles come to a close.

  46. Avatar of gutsrgreat
    Posted By gutsrgreat on May 2, 2009 @ 10:33 pm

    The movie does move a tad slow, however i was never bored nor asked myslef, how much longer is this”. The two kids to a great job. Worth watching for sure.

  47. Avatar of getoffyourdamncomputer
    Posted By getoffyourdamncomputer on May 4, 2009 @ 2:39 am

    Horror films should be entertaining, and this film is not entertaning. I’m sure it has it’s moments but I couldn’t get past the first 30 minutes without falling asleep from boredom.

  48. Avatar of Malcolm-T-Grindhouse
    Posted By Malcolm-T-Grindhouse on May 6, 2009 @ 2:09 am

    This movie is freaken brilliant im telling you it is a must have for any movie collector. Brilliant character development. This is a genre breaking movie. This movie is not ment to be a mainstream movie. Yet it is appearently getting remade by the americans who will probably ruin it. This movie is named after a song by Morrisey “Let The Right one slide in”. This is a must have movie that needs to be passed around to everyone. Even the critics on at the movies Lyons and Mankiewicz enjoyed this movie

  49. Avatar of Skratchy
    Posted By Skratchy on May 24, 2009 @ 4:20 pm

    I don’t want to sound ignorant or anything, but this movie didn’t quite deliver for me. Don’t get me wrong, it was well made, written and had real characters that actually felt for, but ultimately left me feeling a little empty. Like there should’ve been more going on or plot points were underdeveloped; just felt like it was missing something to succesfully reel me in.

  50. Avatar of NIKUDARUMAKICHIKU
    Posted By NIKUDARUMAKICHIKU on May 25, 2009 @ 9:07 am

    a MASTERPIECE with all the letters
    this movie is awesome
    great actors (girl and boy)
    and without a doubt one of the best vampire

  51. Avatar of rusmate38
    Posted By rusmate38 on May 25, 2009 @ 11:54 pm

    I’ve been reading a lot of reviews for this movie and I keep wondering why so many people have missed the point- yes, it’s a slow-paced movie because when you’re just an average disenfranchised little boy who is bullied by schoolmates, the world is rather slow. Anyone remember those years? Not a lot of fun for me and it felt like it would never end. And then, from the ether, a friend. A friend who is weird and obviously an outcast, like the boy himself, a friend he can admit to his terrorized existence because she is both terror and terrorized.
    The fact she is more human as a vampire than his classmates, who are real monsters and cowards, is of course brought about best in a slow, arctic crawl. No one moves fast when it’s freezing.

  52. Avatar of Scurgar
    Posted By Scurgar on May 26, 2009 @ 12:53 am

    Excellent, excellent movie. I wasn’t sure I was going to like this particular type of vampire film, but it was fantastic.

    I’d also like to say to the few people claiming this movie was boring… you’re all morons.

    Now I know we all can have our own opinions about films and even I don’t like a few horror movies that I’m suppose to love, but you’d really have to be a simpleton to find this movie boring.

  53. Avatar of Philogelos
    Posted By Philogelos on May 27, 2009 @ 6:30 pm

    I’m a vampire fan since…I know myself! But I was getting quite dissapointed. No Vampire movie would appear that could remember me why I liked vampires. Until this one.
    Brilliantly shot, with an amazing cinematography and great actors. But the story…so tender and yet so gruesome. And, strangely, that relationship made perfect sense! And it doesn’t fall in the error of being lame. It’s just true. Besides, there are some pretty gorey and creepy scenes, if you’d ask me! Another great example of european horror.
    And I must say, it brought me back the bug of the Vampires. As I didn’t had for years
    PS. I’m portuguese and, as film industry in my country is somewhat poor, pratically all the movies I watch are subtitled. And I really don’t see the problem! I see here many people complaining about the fact that they saw this movie with subtitles and it cuts the thrill, yaddayaddayadda…It doesn’t!!! My advise to you, guys, is that you must see more foreign language movies. The world doesn’t spin at the sound of English. Not even the movie’s world.

  54. Avatar of AfterTheAsylum
    Posted By AfterTheAsylum on May 30, 2009 @ 6:46 pm

    There is no point in talking about this movie more than I have to. It was amazing. I am extremely difficult to impress, but this movie did it. Great in every way.

  55. Avatar of brenda24
    Posted By brenda24 on June 2, 2009 @ 3:41 am

    This movie was everything that I hoped it would be. I thought the story and the characters were incredible. I was moved by this film, and it has been a long time since a horror movie made me emotional at the end. Probably one of the best vampire movies that I have seen in a very long time. This movie doesn’t have alot of gore, and it doesn’t need it. There are so many other elements to the film that make it spectacular. Definently a must see for all vampire fans and fans of the horror genre, and for everyone who just wants to watch a great movie.

  56. Avatar of snkcapcom411
    Posted By snkcapcom411 on June 14, 2009 @ 5:20 am

    A film like this comes along once in a lifetime. This is passionate film making at its best. These gifted young actors have a bright future ahead of them. This film doesn’t use gore or cheap tricks to move the story along. It is very atmospheric and even creepy at times. There are no vampires flying around and fangs sticking out in this film. Even if you don’t like vampire films, this is something to behold. I have it on dvd and blu-ray. One of the best films this year and on my all-time favorite list. Watch this film in the original Swedish language with subtitles; much better that way. Beneath the vampiric nature of this film is an awesome story with heart based on love and trust.

  57. Avatar of MartyrsNo1Fan
    Posted By MartyrsNo1Fan on June 18, 2009 @ 12:26 am

    Let the Right One In is like the horror film I dreamed of making or I’ve waited years to see. A masterpiece.

  58. Avatar of maynardmorrissey
    Posted By maynardmorrissey on June 18, 2009 @ 11:34 am

    I never was a big vampire-fan but this is by far the best vampire-movie I’ve ever seen! Brillant story, brillant actors, brillant scenery – fantastic!

  59. Avatar of AuTI_tAkahashi
    Posted By AuTI_tAkahashi on June 24, 2009 @ 8:43 am

    Let the Right One In is the very 1st vampire movie I have seen that I loved. I enjoyed Blade 2, but didn’t love it. This is truly mesmerizing. It’s a real shame this is going to be remade. If you’ve seen this, I belive you know what to do when the remake comes out, right?? NOTHING.

    Best thing about this film is that it proved that TWILIGHT sucks. If you’ve seen Twilight and Let the Right One In, and STILL think that Twilight was better… Then there is something seriously wrong with you.

  60. Avatar of travisbickle
    Posted By travisbickle on June 28, 2009 @ 12:07 am

    Instant classic and one of the best Vampire movies ever made.

    If you call yourself a Horror fan, you must see this.

  61. Avatar of kryptonite_soul
    Posted By kryptonite_soul on June 28, 2009 @ 8:38 pm

    One of the most perfect films i think ive ever seen, with nearlly all movies there is something where i’ll look and go ” well they maybe could of changed this or altered that a bit” there is nothing with this movie everything about the movie is pure cinema perfection.

    as far as the story goes i dont think ive ever been so moved the story was touching and moving and romantic i thought with these two charachters who so desperatly needed each other.

    the direction and cinematography of the movie is just perfect enough said.

    the only MINOR thing and i dont really accept this as a critique of the movie is the pace, yes there is a slow pace but i could not physically care less, i loved it for once i was treated like an adult watching a movie not like a 5 year old with an attention problem, i loved the director has the guts to just hold the shot and let everything unfold and didnt put in a cut every 2 seconds all power to him,

    so to close do yourself a favour by pass twilight on the dvd shelf and head straight for this work of pure genius

  62. Avatar of GRUDGE4life
    Posted By GRUDGE4life on June 30, 2009 @ 7:04 pm

    OMG OMG OMG!!!!!! this was a good horror film! but that being said, i do have to say that it will be nothing more than good in my book….it is an amazing movie and i recommend this movie to anyone i see!

  63. Avatar of WolfQueen
    Posted By WolfQueen on July 2, 2009 @ 1:28 am

    I watched this movie last night and wasn’t sure how it was going to go. It felt draggy for the first few minutes, but once I got into it, I was blown away. I didn’t expect there to be so much emotion in a horror movie. It was fantastic!

  64. Avatar of onscreen
    Posted By onscreen on July 16, 2009 @ 12:45 pm

    I was a little concerned in the begining .. thinking maybe it was heading into depressing teenage angst flick .. but i have to agree with WolfQueen, once it started getting interesting i was hooked ! A cool little gem of a flick !

  65. Avatar of feat747
    Posted By feat747 on July 23, 2009 @ 9:06 pm

    Wow. The best vampire film I’ve seen in a long time. You don’t even have to be a fan of vampires to enjoy this. This Swedish film is definitely a breath of fresh air.

  66. Avatar of rogue
    Posted By rogue on July 27, 2009 @ 3:49 am

    My second Fav. film of all time! Best vampire movie ever made.

  67. Avatar of horrorbuff28
    Posted By horrorbuff28 on August 1, 2009 @ 3:59 pm

    this movie was quite astonishing.
    Eli was incredible. she was so brutal yet so sweet and you dont catch that many times while watching a vampire movie.
    if you are looking for a vapire movie, skip twilight and go for let the right one in because i guarantee you will enjoy watching this way more than twilight.

  68. Avatar of DisturbedPixie
    Posted By DisturbedPixie on August 1, 2009 @ 6:13 pm

    I am proud to be Swedish after enjoying this film. The acting is great, especially by our leading lady.
    I had to watch the climax a few times to fully enjoy it. If anything, you have to see the climax!

  69. Avatar of Montgomery
    Posted By Montgomery on August 5, 2009 @ 3:00 pm

    A little stunning. The great lensing and score give the film a gripping, haunting atmosphere and the performances of the two youths are simply outstanding. One or two little hiccups left it just shy of a ten but it’s as good a film as you’ll see this year.

  70. Avatar of lunakk
    Posted By lunakk on August 9, 2009 @ 4:30 am

    Maybe I’m twisted, but this whole film made me smile. It was like a bloody My Girl. Bleak scenery and a moody score replaced the usual coming-of-age discomfort found in this kind of movie. And the tenderness between Oskar and Eli was so masterfully conveyed juxtaposed with the violence and loneliness of her life.

  71. Avatar of theyalldie
    Posted By theyalldie on August 9, 2009 @ 3:59 pm

    Astonishing and Heartwarming!

    An inspiring story about young love that is truly unique. This film was a masterpiece on so many levels, it took my breath away. This is definitely one of those movies you cant wait to tell your friends and family about.

  72. Avatar of MattSlash
    Posted By MattSlash on August 17, 2009 @ 3:47 am

    An intriguing coming of age, vampire tale/drama with hints of horror thrown in. What I liked the most about this movie was the story and the unbreakable relationship between the young boy and girl, it will definitely draw you in and you won’t want it to end. I thought the acting was believable and the filming was subtle and captured a chilly and grim atmosphere that was perfect for this vampire flick. I thought it was a little slow moving but it never bored me and once when you’re really into the movie it ends, so I think they can possibly do a sequel. Overall it’s a solid vampire tale that might disappoint gorehounds but if you like your movies story and character driven this one is probably for you, I for one liked it and I recommend it! I have to say that I’m not that mad that they are doing a remake of this movie because if they put the right people behind it they can easily improve upon it, lets just hope that they don’t water it down and make it PG-13!

  73. Avatar of Kidra-Risirthid
    Posted By Kidra-Risirthid on September 1, 2009 @ 8:00 pm

    i did not like this movie at all. mostly because of the one scene where they show eli’s privates. she’s a twelve year old girl and i was appalled that they would go that far. it was unnecessary and bordering on child porn. i can enjoy movies without exposing children. it would have been fine had it been two adults, but it is never okay to make children be sexual, even in sweden.

  74. Avatar of Nosferatu_the_vampyre
    Posted By Nosferatu_the_vampyre on September 2, 2009 @ 2:45 am

    Every once in awhile you get a gem of a movie and this is one of them. Of course it won’t appeal to everybody – no film does – but nobody can deny it is an extremely well made movie. Great performances from the cast with a well-written script based off the novel, superb cinematography, excellent sound design, pacing, and brilliantly conceived special effects.

    It’s actually made me want to read the book, which is more than I can say for most movies.

  75. Avatar of JTJ10
    Posted By JTJ10 on September 3, 2009 @ 11:44 pm

    OMG…thats all I can say. It is literally a movie that leaves you speechless. Classic.

  76. Avatar of groundgamer
    Posted By groundgamer on September 4, 2009 @ 9:53 am

    I, before this, never liked Subititled movies from abroad, but, after this, I have hunted out all of them, because Let The Right One In is a great horror movie. The simple plotted, vampire horror flick, with amazing, creepy acting. No one can deny this isn’t a well made movie, because it is. The superb visuals, the gory special effects, the great scripted lines, Let The Right One In is one of my favourite movies of 2009 so far. Make more like this and the horror genre will not stop!

    8/10

  77. Avatar of Razor_Sharp
    Posted By Razor_Sharp on September 8, 2009 @ 9:01 am

    Boring movie. I’ve seen worse ones but still… It’s a waste of time

  78. Avatar of rbk
    Posted By rbk on September 12, 2009 @ 5:57 pm

    For me, Let the Right One In lived up to the hype. And then some. I loved every minute of it!

    But I do agree with the main reviewer here – “…this is a film you are either gonna love or just find kinda boring.” I can see plenty of people put off by the pacing but this was an exquisite experience from beginning to end.

    The fact that this is getting a remake is a bloody travesty. Seriously fucking senseless. But that’s Hollywood for you…

  79. Avatar of gyoung8312
    Posted By gyoung8312 on September 23, 2009 @ 3:21 pm

    This is my first review on here so please bear with me! I watched this movie with my better half not quite sure what to expect. My better half proceeded to fall asleep in the first ten minutes!
    I on the other hand did not, I was very intirgued by the way the story played out, quite surreal at times and not much action but there was something there to keep you watching. Which my wife will testify too after she woke up.
    I cannot really comment on the actual acting skills of the personnel involved as the version I saw was dubbed over in English but the camera work, lighting and background settings were plain but effective. The most entertaining part of the movie in my opinion was the supposed transormation of the Blonde Lady and of course the finale.
    All in all I and my wife enjoyed this movie .

  80. Avatar of nightmareslayer
    Posted By nightmareslayer on September 23, 2009 @ 5:11 pm

    one of my all time favorites! this is how a vampire movie should be. stays true to the formula unlike those sparkling vamps in Twilight. A must see!

  81. Avatar of Ykai
    Posted By Ykai on September 23, 2009 @ 7:42 pm

    I’ve not seen the film as none of the DVDs I’ve found for sale included the preferred theatrical subtitles from Magnolia’s second pressing. Anybody know how to go about getting this w/ the correct (rather than dumbed-down) subtitles?

  82. Avatar of sexyfest79
    Posted By sexyfest79 on October 11, 2009 @ 6:45 am

    This movie sucked. I wouldn’t let my blind sister watch it.

  83. Avatar of VeryEvilDead
    Posted By VeryEvilDead on October 11, 2009 @ 2:12 pm

    Excellent movie. Bleak atmosphere, slow pace with a creepy feel. The violent sequences were simply awesome.

  84. Avatar of xGrapeGanjax
    Posted By xGrapeGanjax on November 1, 2009 @ 2:58 pm

    This is the type of movie you will either love or hate. I loved this movie; I thought the characters were well developed and the cinematography was amazing. This is one of the most successful vampires movies I’ve seen in a long time.

  85. Avatar of joshsnewnightmare
    Posted By joshsnewnightmare on November 2, 2009 @ 2:16 am

    A true masterpiece and a really needed breathe of fresh air in the genre.

  86. Avatar of chadron
    Posted By chadron on November 5, 2009 @ 3:17 pm

    This film could easily be considered the best overall foreign film of 2009 In my opinion, it is the definitely the top horror film of 2009. It is tragic, arresting and disturbing. The setting- dim lit socialist-style Swedish housing projects- is the perfect background for a touching story of a young boy from a troubled background who falls in love with a young girl, who happens to be a vampire. It reminds me of a Gogol short story in its artful and fantastic handling of themes of basic humanity and love.

  87. Avatar of MONSTA
    Posted By MONSTA on November 15, 2009 @ 3:14 pm

    The movie was good, just not what I was expecting after reading and hearing about it. It seems to be like a kind of art film. Not very scary at all and the horror of it is so limited. The title given to this movie”greatest vampire movie ever” I do not agree.

  88. Avatar of Remember-Slithis
    Posted By Remember-Slithis on November 16, 2009 @ 8:57 pm

    Not Scary but very good.This was an innocent romance with a dark side.Brilliantly acted by the two main characters.Great plot, far superior to the lame ass Twilight series.No need for an American remake this was good enough to be left alone.Don’t expect an action pack gore fest,Even though the ending pool scene was great and makes you only imagine how it went down above the water.Once again foreign horror shows an intelligent way to interpret the Vampire genre.

  89. Avatar of Chris from Rockport Review
    Posted By Chris from Rockport Review on November 19, 2009 @ 4:23 pm

    We begin with Oskar, a twelve year old boy living with his mother in a suburb of Stockholm. His parents are divorced and Oskar usually keeps to himself. He is constantly bullied by a group of kids at school and dreams of revenge. He collects newspaper clippings of murders, and violent crimes, while also carrying a knife with him. Although he never acts on these violent urges, it simmers just below the surface. Oskar’s interests are peaked with the arrival of new tenants that move into to an adjoining apartment. Eli is a girl that looks to be about Oskar’s age, while Haken is the older man that accompanies her. Oskar and Eli meet outside at a jungle gym a few nights, both seem interested in one another, but their conversations are short. Eli is always bare foot and underdressed for the weather but is never cold. Haken on the other hand packs up a case of curious objects and goes into the woods. After this scene we begin to see what Hakan does for Eli, he kills people and drains there blood for her consumption. Haken has to abandon his kill at the risk of being found out by some hikers and a very inquisitive dog. Eli is not pleased by this and must take matters into her own hands.

    There is also a secondary storyline that involves a group of locals who are also interested in the new comers. They try talking to Haken in the local café, but he just brushes them off. Later that night as one of the drunken men walks under a bridge; Eli is able to get his attention by pleading for help. She then feeds on him and Haken discards the body. The real heart and soul of this movie is in the relationship between Eli and Oskar. You have to keep in mind throughout the movie that these are really twelve year old kids. Oskar is aware that Eli is different and doesn’t seem bothered by it. It only strengthens his curiosity. This really comes into play after Eli can’t stomach some candy Oskar gives her. As he hugs her she tells him “If I wasn’t a girl would you still like me?” Although he is not sure what she means, he doesn’t make a big deal of it. After another bully attack leaves Oskar with a bandage on his face; he shares his problem with Eli. She tells him to “hit back, hard.” Oskar does such a thing at an ice skating pond, during a school field trip. Oskar is punished, but has renewed self confidence.

    We go back to Haken as he has a teen boy hung upside down in the school locker room. He is interrupted yet again by the boy’s friends. Haken does not want to be found out so he pours acid onto his face scaring him almost beyond recognition. Eli scales the hospital walls (in her Spider-Man scene) to Haken’s room. Feeling that he has failed her, he lets Eli feed on him before jumping to his death. It seems as if Eli has found a new protector and provider in Oskar, but is he really willing and able to do the job? I felt some of the scenes between Oskar and Eli where way above their age, although Eli was in reality over 200 years old. After Haken’s death she visits Oskar at his window and he invites her in. She then undress (off camera) and gets into bed with him. Oskar is surprised that she is so cold. There are no sexual implications with this scene, but it shows Eli’s growing trust and overall need for Oskar. In a further scene in the school basement Oskar makes an effort to become closer to Eli. He purposely cuts his hand in the old “blood brothers” routine. At the site of his blood Eli loses control and ends up licking the blood off the floor. Extremely embarrassed she asks him to leave. Eli then comes to Oskar’s place and lets him know “You have do invite me in” Oskar is defiant and asks “What if I don’t?” Eli takes a few steps inside and begins to bleed all over. Oskar freaks out and “invites her in.” The following scene is one of the more head scratching scenes of the movie. As Eli cleans her self up in the bathroom, Oskar hands her some fresh clothes and takes a peak while she’s charging and it’s revealed that Eli is neither male nor female.

    As the locals start to suspect Eli in the death of their friend, one of the men breaks into her apartment and finds her asleep in the bathtub. Oskar comes over at just the right time and shouts “No”. This gives Eli the time she needs to pounce on the would be assassin. She tells Oskar that she has to leave town. In the mean time the bully from school has recruited his even more ruthless brother to get back at Oskar. In one of the films final scenes at the schools swimming pool; Oskar is told to either hold your breathe for three minutes or lose an eye. The brother grabs Oskar by the hair and holds him underwater. Oskar starts to loose his breathe and panic. There is an intense commotion up above and a severed head fall to the bottom of the pool. Oskar is released as the arm holding him also starts to fall to the bottom. Oskar jumps to the surface to see Eli has rescued him. Thus completing Eli’s full need and devotion.

  90. Avatar of Belasco
    Posted By Belasco on December 31, 2009 @ 1:58 am

    I have no idea why seemingly intelligent people seem to consider this movie anything other then a joke. I was bored after 5 minutes, and the greatest sight was the credits rolling. It reminded me of a slightly more gory version of ‘Buffy’ complete with the caring, ‘not all bad’, vampire. The two little children that the film centres around are unengaging and its hard to have any sympathy for them as they mope around mumbling stuff on-screen. I kept waiting for something, anything, to happen but i was to be sorely disappointed. The film drags and drags to the enivtably predictable ending, and the only moment of relief was when the credits rolled. I wouldn’t recommend anyone to watch this film unless you don’t like horror, in which case you might find this interesting.

  91. Avatar of ghostofhaddonfield78
    Posted By ghostofhaddonfield78 on December 31, 2009 @ 10:45 pm

    well after reading the top movies of the decade and seeing this movie at the top of the list, i thought it was time i finally seen it. Let The Right One In is the story of a boy named Oskar, who is bullied in school and is kind of an awkward kid. one night he meets a girl named Eli, who he forms a bond with and eventually falls in love with….problem is..she is a vampire. what follows is a tragic, cute, quirky coming of age love story which i dont really know how else to describe. i loved eli as a character, she was so interesting and i loved every scene she was in. the acting was top notch and kudos to all involved. there are some pretty gory scenes thrown in as well i guess to fill in the horror aspect of it. i enjoyed this movie alot and i never found it boring, but it will put off people who dont care for slow paced character studies. movie of the decade?? i dont think it is but it sure is a damn good movie that i hope more people will eventually see.. i can only hope that the impending remake can only be half as good as this movie was.

  92. Avatar of patricktullius
    Posted By patricktullius on January 3, 2010 @ 5:20 am

    I was pretty hyped up to see this tonight. The movie was alright. Not something I’d like to see ever again…

    I don’t see how this film had so much hype around it… the actors were good, some scenes were cool… but I really thought it was kinda boring..

  93. Avatar of La-Femme
    Posted By La-Femme on January 4, 2010 @ 6:10 pm

    Great movie. One of the best Vampire flicks ever. Highly reccomended.

  94. Avatar of Hammer-Smashed-Face
    Posted By Hammer-Smashed-Face on January 6, 2010 @ 6:12 am

    An interesting and original vampire movie, if anything. The movie’s centering around children was different, and the actress playing Eli was good as a young vamp. The movie divebombs when adults are center stage, though, because their acting and dialogue are just plain goofy. Liked the ending a lot–wish the rest of the movie was as good.

  95. Avatar of kubrick2001
    Posted By kubrick2001 on January 14, 2010 @ 1:07 am

    Simply the best horror film in decades. The scene in the swimming pool is simply outstanding. Makes most horror made at the moment look dreadful.

    Just fantastic. Beautifully paced, acted and written. It’ll be interesting to see what the New Hammer version will be like.

  96. Avatar of DesTroToLo
    Posted By DesTroToLo on January 14, 2010 @ 4:04 am

    Movie was pretty boring don’t really see where and why all the hype is surrounding the movie. Its not horrible or even bad just BORING! Sure there are a few good scenes but that doesn’t make a movie just a series of clips and some imagery. Story telling was decent but that was the books job I suppose.

  97. Avatar of Marquez
    Posted By Marquez on March 11, 2010 @ 8:48 pm

    So I looked at Bloody Disgusting’s top 20 scariest movies of the decade, saw this one as there top 1, So I decide it to go check it out.
    After I Finnished watching it, it made me think…It made me think of the next genneration after human life form, for them to get there hands on this DVD & think how stupid Vampires are, This movie has got to be the worst vampire movie I had ever seen, it was almost as bad as Twilight. The story line completley sucked, Paranormal activity is scarier than this shit.

    The Descent should of been #1 on the Scariest movie of the decade, The Descent is the reason why I got into horror movies in the first place, If it weren’t for the Descent, I’d probably be Wacking off over some Chinease porno right now, but thats not the point, the point is what the fuck has Horror movies come to. The only good thing that came out of this movie for me is that It gave me the power to tell the future because it was soo predictable.

    Hated this peace of shit, I would love to go back in time,& meet the directors father & just shoot him right in his nuts so the director wouldnt ever be born, then I’ll buried him in a corn field far away, next to hitler, Take a truck of Waste dump & just dump it right there, Then I’ll freaking do the Jerk dance right in his Grave.
    This Movie is Soooo Overrated, The Descent should of been #1

    The only thing stopping me from giving me this movie a 1, is that the stupid Drope box doesnt have a one on it

  98. Avatar of horrorking95
    Posted By horrorking95 on March 14, 2010 @ 1:02 pm

    Now, I’ve been wanting to see this for quite some time and yesterday night I decided to watch after buying it recently and I wasn’t disappointed! This is simply one of the best horror films ever made. This is unlike anything I’ve ever seen, it’s not your usual slice and dice. It’s a slowly paced romance tale with a bloody twist!
    What I really liked about this film (which I usually would hate!) is the slow pacing. It added a very dark and tense atmosphere to the film which made me feel uncomfortalble. It held my interest throughout the film, and the swimming pool scene was beautifully shot.
    Please watch this! You won’t be disappointed!

  99. Avatar of ramburgler
    Posted By ramburgler on March 17, 2010 @ 10:56 pm

    GREAT MOVIE!! one of the few vampire movies i enjoy, probably my favorite vamp movie. i love movies that get you on the villain or monsters side and this movie does it and more. beware not a typical vampire movie my any means but a fantastic film with some crazy imagery.

  100. Avatar of Sevenoff
    Posted By Sevenoff on March 20, 2010 @ 8:52 pm

    Amazing job done by these child actors. It’s a slow burner, but such an amazing movie. Just everything about it was top notch. <3

  101. Avatar of dinny
    Posted By dinny on March 30, 2010 @ 11:14 pm

    I’m so glad I decided to rent this! It can be slow but it was a fantastic movie! I was really impressed with it except for the ending which I felt was too vague. However, that is one flaw in an almost flawless film.

  102. Avatar of MattHorror
    Posted By MattHorror on May 4, 2010 @ 2:40 am

    A very beautiful and brilliants piece of work.

  103. Avatar of Mr.ClassicMonster
    Posted By Mr.ClassicMonster on May 17, 2010 @ 4:47 pm

    Seriously, I thought this movie was simply amazing. It was so engaging and heart-breaking that I could watch it overe and over. Normally don’t watch foreign films (except Godzilla) but I really didnn’t care. The acting from the kids was fantastic, great performanaces all around. The only thing I didn’t like was the “Is she a girl/ a boy thing” which was very weird and kinda put me off watching, but once I gt past that I just thought about what a wonderful job had been done. And that ending…

  104. Avatar of zog71
    Posted By zog71 on June 22, 2010 @ 12:44 am

    Thought it was a good film. Maybe a little slow for repeat viewings, but a very good film nonetheless. The scene where he didn’t formally ask her in because I guess he didn’t believe she was a vampire, and she began to bleed, was one of the best vampire scenes that I have seen in a movie. Other movies sometimes say things about it, like in The Lost Boys, but few show what could happen. Give this one a shot, its worth it.

  105. Avatar of unstuckntime
    Posted By unstuckntime on July 5, 2010 @ 5:52 pm

    The best and originally excellent movie aout vampires to date, up there with The Hamiltons, and Thirst, it’s an excellent movie filled with drama and a true story that does not back down.

  106. Avatar of bloody-hand-prints
    Posted By bloody-hand-prints on July 9, 2010 @ 8:27 pm

    Just when you think there is no orignal ideas left they come with a beautiful and well acted horror movie. This is an amazing work of film. A MUST SEE!

  107. Avatar of Josh Grahame
    Posted By Josh Grahame on July 22, 2010 @ 5:33 pm

    ‘Let the Right One In’ is a 2008/2009 Swedish Romantic/Horror Film (foreign film) that is based upon the Novel with the same name that came out to the world in 2004. The film started very quite horror & Romance setting with a weirdo & eerie tone that can freaky you out or scary you, the friendship between the boy that is bullied & a violence/somewhat kind & not liking her life girl is very sweet relationship but can be horrific in a well blend theme for the movie style and I really do like foreign movie lately & I respect how this film keeps their language & not a English voiceover.

  108. Avatar of soul666taker
    Posted By soul666taker on August 4, 2010 @ 1:49 am

    I didnt really see this as a horror movie, but I really loved it.

  109. Avatar of dannymyers
    Posted By dannymyers on August 12, 2010 @ 5:46 am

    This film is or might be ( in my opinion ) one of the best vampire movies ever made. It was very well written, dark, intense, and disturbing at areas( the scene where she is putting on the dress ).
    Let the right one in is a movie that defines the vampire subgenre. Witch can stand with Nosferatuand from dusk till dawn.

  110. Avatar of moviewatcher
    Posted By moviewatcher on August 14, 2010 @ 4:04 pm

    Over hyped but the only horror movie to make me go “AWW”

  111. Avatar of Captain-Pissgums
    Posted By Captain-Pissgums on September 1, 2010 @ 12:14 am

    I don’t know what the big deal is about this movie. It bored the shit out of me. I turned it off about 3/4 of the way through; this movie is f’n GLACIAL. Yecchh. Skip it. Damn foreigners can’t make a descent fright flick.

  112. Avatar of joseph-k.
    Posted By joseph-k. on September 5, 2010 @ 3:49 am

    This movie is elegant and eerie. You need to have some patience with it, but it is very satisfying. If you only like hack and slash or in your face horror, this isn’t for you. If you still have a part of you that hasn’t been desensitized then this movie will grip you and move you.

    Don’t know why anyone would not like the ending. Like the whole movie, it raises just enough questions to keep you guessing.

    And who can review this film without mention the BADASS pool scene? Although my favorite scene was when Eli entered his apartment uninvited. Very creepy.

    If you enjoy horror with an elegant stroke of psycological genius, you will love this movie.

  113. Avatar of msamy
    Posted By msamy on September 5, 2010 @ 6:06 am

    This is great film in so many wonderful ways. When I saw the trailer for the remake I projectile vomited. This movie is so original and made me remember why I liked vampire movies in the first place. I hope at least when some people see the crappy remake they then will view the original and realize what they missed in the first place.

  114. Avatar of InsideTheDescent
    Posted By InsideTheDescent on October 1, 2010 @ 5:30 am

    I completely fell in love with this movie from the moment I saw it. Not your typical horror movie at ALL. One of the more moving horror stories I have ever seen and it quickly became one of my favorite. The only issue I had with the film is the fact that it wasn’t scary enough. Was it creepy? Yes. But not truly scary, but it wasn’t that type of movie, don’t miss it because of that. Witness the masterpiece that is Let The Right One In.

  115. Avatar of Psych0drama
    Posted By Psych0drama on October 7, 2010 @ 5:28 am

    stephenie meyer needs to watch this movie.

    Finally a vampire love story done right. This movie isn’t you’re glittery pale b/s chick flick this is a romance and a horror movie and its beautiful and brutal all at once.

    Some good effects (what little effects are actually used) and an animalistic vampire made me nostalgia for the days of the past when horror movies were not just jump scares and cgi kills.

    The movie delivers on many different levels although somewhat predictable it doesn’t let you down. The vampire hides behind a frail and innocent frame but from the moment she appears on camera an air of dread surrounds her.

    Our “main character” Oscar is mocked picked on and generally treated like a punching bag by the school bullies and we get a nice character progression story as he learns to stand up for himself.

    Our other main character Eli plays the dark mysterious love interest who over time turns Oscar into a man in more ways than one (implied sexual activity?)

    Eli is a vampire plan and simple and the movie follows vampire lore she has to avoid the sun or she will burn and die (hospital scene for the win) she has to drink blood or she gets weak and could die and she has to be invited in or…

    Overall this movie had me from begining to end and I enjoyed every moment of it.

    9.5/10

    Pick up the dvd and watch it then go see Let Me In.

    ps use the subtitles not the dub.

  116. Avatar of leatherface1995
    Posted By leatherface1995 on October 10, 2010 @ 7:02 pm

    probably the best vampire movie ever done
    it is dark,emotional and innocent without being stupid or boring or overrated with gore and disgusting slaughters
    and of course it is scary and violent as it should be but it also shows that vampires can be very sensitive and caring ,if they want to,except from being the devil

  117. Avatar of Midnitekrawlr
    Posted By Midnitekrawlr on October 19, 2010 @ 8:02 am

    A coming of age story that will sink its teeth in you.

  118. Avatar of dementedde
    Posted By dementedde on November 12, 2010 @ 8:15 pm

    Let the Right One in is based on the novel by John Ajvide Lindqvist, an adaptation to the screen as a vampire movie with a difference. It turns the whole genre onto its head effectively by making a character you would least expect to have sympathy for rather than being the typical evil antagonist; a blood thirsty vampire.

    In the early 80′s, set in the bleak winting town of Blackeberg, Stockholm, a meek young boy named Oskar is torn between his estranged parents. But what further regress into him is that it makes him the target of the school bullies. One night he meets a girl who seems to be unaffected by the cold has moved into the building next door to him, named Eli (pronounced Ellie). They start to bond after initially things were frosty between them and slowly become friends. Both seem to have a positive effect on each other as Oskar provides unintentional friendship for the mysterious Eli, while she gives Oskar the confidence to stand up to the bullies. What Oskar soon finds out about Eli, who is hiding a dark secret, is that she’s a vampire and has been connected to the recent murders around that area from when she had arrived.

    The true gender of Eli is open to question with red herrings and subtle hints in the dialogue and a particular scene that’s both brief but shocking poses many more questions as it supplies answers, Eli also acts odd; she needs to be invited into a room otherwise the repercussions are truly disturbing. Oskar has no desire to slay the vampire when she finds out the truth about Eli, he is the antithesis of the human hero, and instead all he wants to do is have her as a friend.

    Director Thomas Alfredson presents a paradoxical film to us superbly: It’s a romance story that revolts and scares its audience whilst it also warms their hearts. It’s about friendship and acceptance against the odds when one does know exactly what the odds are; it’s about bullying and the effects it has on the psyche of the victim; it’s about what is wrong and what is right and how much the strength of the relationship allows one to let their judgment be impaired.

    The pace is restrained and deliberate, unlike other horror films, the events unravel nicely without any real sense of urgency or undue haste. Eli and Oskar’s relationship gradually builds, the growth of which is detailed through the most tender and gentle moments, true concerns are mirroring through underlying subtexts of that first young love that they’re apparently heading towards. Whilst Eli only has her handler Hakan on her side – his job being to find blood for Eli – Oskar has his parents: both of whom provide a different kind of life for him.

    The casting has been done perfectly. The two debutant leads are a natural pairing with amazing chemistry between them. The film belongs completely to Lina Leandersson as Eli. Her cold yet yearning delivery, androgynous yet captivating face and her steely yet pained eyes is simply too good to be true. A promising career beckons for her, I am sure of it, as she consistently delivers a authentic performance of depth and maturity beyond her years that is both clearly defined and nuance. Then there’s this effete looking Okar, played by Kare Hedebrant, sometimes in the film looks more feminine than Eli with his long blonde hair and pale skin. He makes his character someone to care about from the very first frame he appears in and there is something astonishingly honest and natural about his portrayal.

    It’s sad to know that Hollywood has already commissioned a remake of this film, which I have learned from previous remakes; they cannot better the originals. Let the Right One In is so much more than your typical vampire film. It is poetic, artistic, and in many ways a profound film that explores the nature of goodness and evil through the world of a child, which are somewhat discernible. It achieves an array of contrasts by allowing us to see that good and evil coexist side by side, and doing so makes this thought provoking leaving the audience wanting more – or at least to read the book. If you can handle the deep nature of this little gem rather than looking for scares and gore then you definitely need to be buying this on DVD.

  119. Avatar of murdermakesmecum
    Posted By murdermakesmecum on December 16, 2010 @ 5:49 pm

    great movie! this is the best movie that i have seen in a long time! everything about this movie is fucking excellent. the characters are well thought out and acted. the whole story makes sense, but if you read the book, it is much better and explains things more. the cinematography is the best since crouching tiger. everything is eye candy. the whole atmosphere of the movie is total suspense, mainly due to the excellent score. really loved this movie!

  120. Avatar of Louis Cypher
    Posted By Louis Cypher on January 18, 2011 @ 12:15 pm

    Very good horror romance. scary, sweet and poignant in equal measures. blows twilight out of the way. twilight doesnt deserve to be mentioned in the same review as let the right one in. while the movie is slightly slow paced the ending is as good as any i have ever seen. performances are strong too. all in all, an awesome movie.

  121. Avatar of GloryRhyme
    Posted By GloryRhyme on February 14, 2011 @ 5:39 am

    This movie wasn’t that bad. First of all, it’s not horror. The movie is slightly below the line of what I would call horror. It had a good story going and decent characters. I just thought it was TOO quiet and slow in some scenes, and more music would have been nice to add to the atmosphere. I’ve seen “Let Me In”, and it’s not as good as this original. So not bad for a decent vampire flick.

  122. Avatar of Zachary Ray Suarez
    Posted By Zachary Ray Suarez on March 3, 2011 @ 9:58 pm

    A wonderful vampire experience. Let The Right One is a great film, filled with an incredible atmosphere, a beautiful soundtrack, amazing cinematography and the fantastic acting from Eli and Oskar. I love the storyline and the scenes with Eli and Oskar. What kept this film from being a 10, was all the scenes with the adults. To me, those scenes weren’t needed at all, because it just bored me. Other than that, Eli & Oskar are the characters that made the film. I highly recommend it. :)

  123. Avatar of Zombie-Apoc
    Posted By Zombie-Apoc on March 8, 2011 @ 2:07 am

    one of the most touching and violent films ive ever seen

  124. Avatar of Renacimiento
    Posted By Renacimiento on April 28, 2011 @ 12:36 am

    Good film, touching and deeply. It’s really not a movie that’s scary or frightening, the opposite is simple and easy to see, I’m not sure that’s a horror movie, but I liked.

  125. Avatar of Bytor
    Posted By Bytor on June 15, 2011 @ 9:41 pm

    Better than the remake. Leaves an impression.

  126. Avatar of HorrorLoverForLife
    Posted By HorrorLoverForLife on June 27, 2011 @ 4:06 am

    A very unique and wonderful experience. It will never compare the Let Me In.

    Pros:
    The casting of Eli & Oskar: PERFECT
    The scenes with Eli & Oskar.
    The camera work.
    The soundtrack. :D
    The pool scene. ;)
    Eli’s attacks.

    Cons:
    The adults.
    The casting of the bullies. Heh.

    Overall, it’s a great film, but Let Me In is the best movie ever and it always will be. :D

  127. Avatar of fearofthedark
    Posted By fearofthedark on June 29, 2011 @ 5:42 pm

    I’ll never figure out the hype with this film…. never. I want my 2 hours back.

  128. Avatar of Hobo-With-A-Shotgun
    Posted By Hobo-With-A-Shotgun on July 6, 2011 @ 2:08 pm

    I love this movie and I can’t understand how the remake got a higher score…. unbelievable.

    HIGHLY recommended.

    Hobo Approved(TM)

  129. Avatar of SmellyMob
    Posted By SmellyMob on July 21, 2011 @ 3:04 am

    Great flick, slow at parts, but overall worth it.

  130. Avatar of Citrus3000
    Posted By Citrus3000 on August 19, 2011 @ 11:29 am

    A beautiful movie for people who see more in the vampire mythology than just blood and capes.

  131. Avatar of Hourglass
    Posted By Hourglass on August 25, 2011 @ 12:21 am

    It is slow at some parts and the relationship between the characters softens the horror quite a bit. Not a bad film, and there is a fair share of gore.

  132. Posted By T H E _ T H I N G on October 2, 2011 @ 5:37 am

    I did NOT see that ending coming………………………………………………………………………………trippy.

  133. Avatar of I-3-zombies
    Posted By I-3-zombies on October 30, 2011 @ 7:24 pm

    How has the original got a lower score then the cant be bothered to read subtitles pointless remake? Beautiful film and book

  134. Avatar of ArtyomDnB
    Posted By ArtyomDnB on December 24, 2011 @ 6:57 am

    This is another masterpiece of cinema. Everything in this movie from the score to cinematography to writing to the cast was all perfectly done. I really loved how for some of the movie you would just see steady camera shots of snowy trees and soft ice kissed buildings. Maybe I’m being to cheesy or hopelessly being romantic but screw off I loved it! I personally despise the remake >.< But in any case I love watching this film when I want to release clutter from the world or be taken down to a minimalist state. The movie is soft but thats what amazes me. A great film of our time.

  135. Avatar of Antonhorror
    Posted By Antonhorror on March 24, 2012 @ 6:44 pm

    Dont watch twilight watch Let The Right One In