Connect with us


34th Annual Saturn Awards Award Winners Announced

Last night SpookyDan attended the 34th annual Saturn Awards at the Universal Hilton Hotel in Universal City, CA. Coming in the next few weeks is footage from the red carpet of the event, which ended with the movie ENCHANTED taking home multiple awards. How did the horror genre do? Read on for a list of all of the winners.
Disney’s “Enchanted” was the dominant film player Tuesday night at the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror’s 34th annual Saturn Awards, held at the Universal Hilton Hotel in Universal City.

The modern-day fairytale took home three awards: best fantasy film, best actress, which went to its star Amy Adams, and best music, which went to composer Alan Menken.

On the TV side, ABC’s “Lost” was the big winner with four trophies: best network television series, best TV actor Matthew Fox, best TV supporting actor Michael Emerson, and best TV supporting actress, for which “Lost’s” Elizabeth Mitchell tied with Summer Glau of “Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles.”

Director Guillermo del Toro was honored by the organization with its George Pal Memorial Award. Producers Robert Halmi, Sr. and Robert Halmi, Jr. received the Life Career Award. Director Matt Reeves was recognized with the Filmmakers Showcase Award for his directing “Cloverfield”.

Founded in 1972, the academy, currently headed by Robert Holguin, honors genre entertainment.

The winners in other categories were:

Best science fiction film, “Cloverfield”

Best horror film, “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street”

Best action/adventure/thriller film: “300”

Best actor: Will Smith, “I Am Legend”

Best supporting actor: Javier Bardem, “No Country for Old Men”

Best supporting actress: Marcia Gay Harden, “The Mist”

Best performance by a younger actor: Freddie Highmore, “August Rush”

Best direction: Zack Snyder, “300”

Best writing: Brad Bird, “Ratatouille”

Best costume: Colleen Atwood, “Sweeney Todd”

Best make-up: Ve Neill, Martin Samuel, “Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End”

Best special effects: Scott Farrar, Scott Benza, Russell Earl, John Frazier, “Transformers”

Best animated film, “Ratatouille”

Best international film, “Eastern Promises”

Best syndicated/cable TV series, “Dexter”

Best presentation on TV, “Family Guy: Blue Harvest”

Best actress on TV: Jennifer Love Hewitt, “Ghost Whisperer”

Best DVD release: “The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari” (remix)

Best DVD special edition release: “Blade Runner” (5 Disc Ultimate Edition)

Best DVD classic film release: “The Monster Squad”

Best DVD collection: “Mario Brava” (Box Sets 1 & 2)

Best TV series release on DVD: “Heroes”

Best retro TV series release on DVD: “Twin Peaks” (Definitive Gold Box Edition)

The Special Achievement Award: Tim & Donna Lucas

The Service Award: Fred Barton

Founded in 1972, the academy, currently headed by Robert Holguin, honors genre entertainment.



Click to comment

More in Movies