Connect with us


[Album Review] Device ‘Device’

Today marks the release of Device’s debut full-length, the self-titled Device. The brainchild of Disturbed frontman David Draiman, Device features Filter guitarist Geno Lenardo and a slew of guest artists, including Lzzy Hale (Halestorm), Serj Tankian (System Of A Down), and more. It is a project that has drawn the interest of countless Disturbed enthusiasts, especially since the announcement of the group’s hiatus in 2011.

With all of these guest artists and one of today’s most recognizable vocalists, is there any way that this debut could fail? Head on below to read my thoughts on the album!

Within the first 10 seconds of the opening track, “You Think You Know”, I felt a sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach. While the guitar had a thick, interesting sound, the riff itself was disappointing and sounded like something from a Disturbed B-side. As the song continued, I was hit with an awkwardly placed pre-chorus and a chorus that sounded like it could’ve been picked from any hard rock radio station fare.

As the album continued, this sinking feeling became an anchor, continuously plummeting further and further down. The band’s first single “Vilify”, which did absolutely nothing for me upon release, still rang hollow while “Penance” took absolutely no chances creating its own sound and ended up as yet another Disturbed castaway.

“Opinion” was the straw that broke the camel’s back for me. The song felt slapped together and the chorus was so unpleasant that I could barely finish the track. By the end of the album I had found myself so disinterested that I found myself reaching to turn it off. Only because I wanted to know the full product before writing a review did I continue on.

Even the guest appearances of Lzzy Hale on “Close My Eyes Forever” or Serj Tankian on “Out Of Line” can’t fix the emptiness and plastic feeling that pervades this album.

Perhaps the most disappointing aspect of this album is that David Draiman, who genuinely has a great voice that is unique, forceful, and memorable, didn’t take any chances. There is no growth or expansion.

The Final Word: At the end of the day, Device comes off as nothing more than Disturbed-lite. There is nothing exciting nor thrilling about this debut. Rather, Device is entirely forgettable and, most disappointingly, incredibly generic.

Got any thoughts/questions/concerns for Jonathan Barkan? Shoot him a message on Twitter or on Bloody-Disgusting!



  • K-Dogg

    Kind of what I thought it would be Jonathan, thnx….I liked Disturbed’s 1st 2 discs, then they got worse as they went, as far as I am concerned. After hearing 2 tracks now off this, it sounded like more crap from bad Disturbed, not what he promised, which was more Industrial and unique….so much for that.

    • HorrorFancy

      I was really looking forward to a more Industrial and unique project as well — sad it turned out the way it did.

      Would have been cool IMO if Drainman had teamed up with Skinny Puppy and/or Ohgr.

  • zeropercent1

    i have to respectfully disagree… i love the new album. also a diehard disturbed fan so that could be part of it but i really dig the new sounds. i would still recommend it

    • JonathanBarkan

      Totally cool with me! As my parent’s always told me, “In matters of opinion, there is no right or wrong.” 🙂


    I’m torn on this album, I really enjoy the first half of it then the rest is just okay… Highly recommend Stone Sour’s Part 2 though, which is completely solid from start to finish. The new albums from Ghost B.C. and Rob Zombie are gonna be great too

  • volcompro11

    I would have to agree with your review, but I did enjoy probably four tracks on this album. “Haze”, “Out of Line”, “Through it all” and “Wish” were really good. I’m not a huge Disturbed fan either, but I won’t argue Draiman isn’t one of the best rock singers out there today.

  • MachineDeth

    wow so i guess im the first one, heh?
    havent much to say actually…
    good for me that i just found out about this album/band by reading the bloodstone mh post comments. so there was no reason to be disappointed ^^, disturbed has died for me a long time ago anyways… (best album was the first, “believe” i think).
    a little more sad it is, after all. though there is hope…
    while some bands (eg mh (my very favorite of em all!!!!!!)) are straight walking ahead the cliif of the abyss called mainstream. some others (eg the new work of throwdown, atleast for me its movin somewhere into the pantera far beyond driven path, i even once mistaked the vocalist of throwdown with phil :D) and on a way up there, even some without even making the mistake to fall into it.
    thrash, my as well most endorsed metal genre (you can guess the other one :P), for example is fighting to not extinct. i see so many bands join the good old passioned thrash warheads rising again, some never felt (testament).
    so i ended up writin a whole text. i guess i need to handle somehow the machine head thing…

More in Music