Watch the Winning 'ABCs of Death 2' Short, "M Is For Masticate"! - Bloody Disgusting
Connect with us


Watch the Winning ‘ABCs of Death 2’ Short, “M Is For Masticate”!



Producers Ant Timpson, Tim League, and Magnet Releasing have announced the winner of ABCs of Death 2’s “Search for the 26th Director” – Robert Boocheck’s riotous “M Is For Masticate”, which we’ve embedded below!

The original ABCs of Death, comprised of 26 alphabet-themed ways to die from the biggest names in horror, invited filmmakers from around the world to submit their own T-themed deaths – with one exceptional entry being chosen to appear in the final film. The tradition of selecting the 26th Director proudly continued in the 2014 sequel, this time using the letter “M.”

In addition to winning a $5000 cash prize, Boocheck’s M Is For Masticate will officially become ABCs of Death 2’s “M” segment.

Additionally, the production team has also announced ABCs OF DEATH 1.5: THE 26TH DIRECTOR EDITION, a feature-length anthology showcasing the finest entries in this year’s competition, chosen exclusively by the film’s producers. Drafthouse Films will digitally release the spin-off anthology during first quarter 2014.

ABCs of Death 2’s other attached directors are an eclectic, acclaimed group, consisting of Julian Barratt of The Mighty Boosh; Israel’s Aharon Keshales and Navot Papushado (BIG BAD WOLVES, RABIES); Japan’s arthouse provocateur Sion Sono (COLD FISH, SUICIDE CLUB); Academy Award-nominated animator Bill Plympton; ROOM 237 mastermind Rodney Ascher; Filipino icon – and Director’s Fortnight inductee – Erik Matti (ON THE JOB, MAGIC TEMPLE); Lithuania’s Kristina Buozyte and Bruno Samper (VANISHING WAVES); SPLICE and CUBE’s Vincenzo Natali; indie horror icon Larry Fessenden (THE LAST WINTER, HABIT); THE STATION’s Marvin Kren; Todd Rohal (THE CATECHISM CATALYSM); Canada’s king of lo-fi, Steven Kostanski (MANBORG); Cuba’s Alejandro Brugués (JUAN OF THE DEAD); acclaimed UK commercial director Jim Hosking; Japanese monster-maker Hajime Ohata (HENGE); Canadian short film wizard Chris Nash (SKINFECTIONS); France’s Julien Maury and Alexandre Bustillo (INSIDE, LIVID); E.L. Katz (director of the SXSW breakout hit CHEAP THRILLS); twin auteurs Jen and Sylvia Soska (AMERICAN MARY, DEAD HOOKER IN A TRUNK); A LONELY PLACE TO DIE’s Julian Gilbey; Brazil’s most controversial filmmaker Dennison Ramalho (NINJAS and LOVE FOR MOTHER ONLY); the founder of Nigerian “Nollywood” cinema Lancelot Imasuen; THE LEGEND OF BEAVER DAM and the upcoming STAGEFRIGHT’s Jerome Sable; and animator Robert Morgan – creator of the BAFTA Award nominated short BOBBY YEAH.

Co-founded Bloody Disgusting in 2001. Producer on Southbound, the V/H/S trilogy, SiREN, Under the Bed, and A Horrible Way to Die. Chicago-based. Horror, pizza and basketball connoisseur. Taco Bell daily.